Yamaha Scorpio Review from Indonesia

2001 Yamaha Scorpio

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance55000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleYamaha RX-Z

Summary:

This is the best bike I ever had

Faults:

The rear suspension bushes worn out after 20,000 km.

The engine stationary chain was badly loose after 50,000 km.

General Comments:

This motorcycle handles extremely good on dry and wet roads.

This is the fastest Knock-Down-Built 4-stroke bike in my country.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2007

10th Aug 2007, 01:27

That's real biker comment. I have 2002 Yamaha Scorpio too, and my problem as same as the writer, how to solve it? Where I can buy rear suspension bushes and engine chain in Indonesia?

12th Oct 2007, 11:43

The 2007 model is named as the "new Scorpio Z" in Indonesia. It has air ignition system (AIS) for euro II standard. The fuel tank model is different from the 2002. It looks more sporty. And as September 2007, it comes with cast wheels upgrade.

13th Oct 2007, 08:00

As of August 2007, it also sells out in New Zealand and Australia for $3795 NZD & $4500 AUD. Instead the price in Indonesia is about Rp21 million ($2100 USD). The max speed I've reach on this bike is 150km/h (on 19hp), with high compression piston replacement (by Federal Izumi Manufacturing/FIM - aftermarket part), the power gets more up to 22hp, means it can reach 170km/h as easy. (The Yamaha Fazer 250cc also has 22hp). But for a small modified option, 85% of the owners prefer just to porting the original exhaust & main jet to gain more extra power, and also get a bit wider rear tire. Since 2002 until 2007, more than 15 Scorpio clubs have opened in Indonesia, with average 100 members each per club.

Submitted by Danny Aditya, Tangerang - Indonesia.

6th Nov 2007, 07:52

Can anyone tell me if any of the big four Japanese companies make a 125 or bigger trail bike in Malaysia or Indonesia, thanks.

21st Jan 2008, 18:05

I have owned a 2007 Scorpio Z for around two months now, and have found it to be great fun. So far I have pushed it to 160kmh, but it took a while to get there, and I am hoping to modify it for a greater top speed.

22nd Jun 2008, 17:28

Hi I own a new Scorpio Z. Can anyone tell me of a few websites that I can buy aftermarket performance parts for my bike? eg. piston kit, air kit, and larger front sprocket or smaller rear sprocket. Looking forward to your replies.

Thanks

Steven.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 1 review