2001 Harley-Davidson FLHPI Road King (Police)

Summary:

Almost as good as sex

Faults:

Stator and rotor blew out - replaced at a local independent shop.

General Comments:

Handles great, better than any bike I've ridden. Very sure-footed on winding roads. It is comfortable, although I will eventually get a full-dress in addition to the FLHPI for road trips.

Shakes when idling, but smooths out as it winds up.

I enjoyed my Goldwings, but this bike has better acceleration (like I really need to go faster, quicker). Had to blow the carbs out after storing it for the winter (really?) and my buddy said he was doing 110 and falling behind... I wasn't paying attention to my speedometer anymore.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2009

27th Jan 2010, 18:55

Pretty hard to blow the dust out of the carbs on an 01 FLHPI, cause they were all injected.

2005 Harley-Davidson FLHPI Road King (Police)

Summary:

They don't call it a "Road King" for nothing

Faults:

The compensating sprocket loosened up at approx 3K. The pigtail for the brake light lost contact and left me without brake lights. The battery went at approx 4K and the rear tire got a flat at approx 5K.

General Comments:

This bike has the air adjustable police seat. You can easily sit on this seat for hours and be comfortable. Some people change it. They must be crazy. Just get the passenger P pad if you want to go two up. HD recommends changing the rear tire if you do this since the Dunlop D402 PT is not rated for two up riding.

The clutch is a real beauty and allows you to have pinpoint control. Handles real nice even at slow speeds.

I'm not a fan of the ABS. I'd get rid of it tomorrow if I could.

Easy bike to customize since it comes without any badges.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2008

1997 Harley-Davidson FLHPI Road King (Police)

Summary:

Best bike I've owned

Faults:

Oil temperature gauge replaced, normal wear parts replaced.

General Comments:

This has been a great bike. Ridden it to Sturgis twice, and never had a problem. I replaced the seat with a Corbin and the hard bags with some nice leather bags from a company in Wisconsin.

Handling is good, a bit skiddish in the rain. A bit of a dog off the line, but I've avoided the temptation to put a Stage 1 or 2 kit on the bike.

No leaks, starts every time.

A real pleasure to ride this bike, but air shocks make a huge difference in the ride.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2007

2003 Harley-Davidson FLHPI Road King (Police)

Summary:

Excellent touring and cruiser motorcycle

Faults:

So far nothing.

The brakes squeak a bit on application, but I have found this is seen across most touring models.

General Comments:

This is a great bike. I moved up to the 2003 Anniversary model Road King Police from a 1995 FXD Superglide.

This bike is super smooth on acceleration and roll on.

The police air ride seat is very comfortable, although I will probably swap it out for a stock Road King seat, and get rid of the radio rack.

There was one small ding in the tank, but it's black and barely noticeable.

Stock exhausts, still sound good. My Dyna was deafening. This one is much smoother, although I will add SE slip ons later.

So nice to have saddlebags. Push button latches on top. Hinged with stays for the lids, so they hold open.

Really really nice bike. It was a former police escort bike, and is all black with all of the chrome saddlebag rails. Really sweet!!! I am going to put a couple thousand miles on it 6/07-7/07. Can't wait.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2007

2004 Harley-Davidson FLHPI Road King (Police)

Summary:

Coolest motorcycle I have ever owned

Faults:

The only thing I have had trouble with is the starter solenoid. Wouldn't start when it got real hot. Replaced under extended warranty.

General Comments:

When I first received the bike, used with 4k miles, I was disappointed. The clutch pulled hard & it "clunked" in every gear. The front brakes dragged when it was pushed and had a howl in the primary. I thought "Harley! Is this the best you have?".

I changed the brake fluid in the front and lost the drag, adjusted the clutch, changed the cable routing, lubed everything up & basically went over everything.

Now, I love the bike. Quiet, smooth, responsive, and it really is "The King of the Road"

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2007

2005 Harley-Davidson FLHPI Road King (Police)

Summary:

Road Kings... the best all around Harley

Faults:

The bike was delivered with a small dent/scrape in the rear fender. The dealer does not want to fix it. It is under the passenger pillion, but that is not the point.

The front brakes, while they work very well, seem to squeak.

My 2003 and 2001 both developed small leaks in the rocker box gaskets... maybe this one won't...

General Comments:

This is my fourth Road King. My others have been 2003, 2001, and 1998. Road Kings are a great combination on comfort and style. I've ridden to Sturgis, Daytona Beach, Canada, and Chillicothe Ohio (from Arkansas)... 700 - 800 miles in one day... no problem. They also hold their value better than the other touring bikes.

I have already replaced lots of things on the bike including the wheels, saddlebags, exhaust system, and seat. If you're not going to jack with the engine too much, get the fuel injected version... much smoother running. Gotta love that good old Milwaukee vibrator.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2004