2007 Yamaha FZ1

Summary:

Poetry in motion!

Faults:

None!

General Comments:

Well, I'm about 650 miles and a week into my purchase of a new 07 FZ1, and I have been pleasantly surprised in every way with this bike so far. It has exceeded my expectations in every way.

After putting about 4000 miles on my previous "new" bike purchased 7 months ago, getting on my FZ1 has made me happier in every way. I won't mention the make/model of the other bike to avoid negative perceptions, since that bike was nice too, but after riding the FZ1, I have NO desire to ride the previous bike.

My FZ1 rides smoother, the engine runs smoother than expected, and is very predictable. The bike is easy to ride slow, as strange as that may sound, as well as fast. The engine is smooth and the bike is easy to ride from 10MPH through 140+ (haven't taken it past that yet, and probably shouldn't, but for those that want to, there was plenty left to go after the 140 mark, I just ran out of road at the time, or maybe I just scared myself silly and backed off. Probably a good thing.)

Cornering is very stable, and I feel much more steady and confident in the corners than with my previous bike, and that bike is "known" for its handling ability. I didn't realize how nervous or uncertain I was in the corners with my previous bike until got on my FZ1 and rode my same favorite corners. With my FZ1, those same corners went from occasionally unnerving work to smooth, steady, and FUN!! The way they should be!

If you are "on the fence" about buying this bike, don't be. For me, this bike is tame when I need it to be, a guided missile when I want it to be, and an absolute joy everywhere in between! I've had four other bikes (all bought new) over the years, and this FZ1 is hands down the most satisfying, and fun ride I've ever had on a bike!!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2007

28th Jul 2007, 16:28

I liked your review, since I'm someone who last rode a 400cc bike 8 years ago, and want a bike that will be easy to ride at slow speeds without lurching in busy traffic. I'm still a little scared, though I was a very good rider then. Just rusty. Perhaps I'll get the FZ1 if I feel I can manage to ride it EASILY at 20-40 mph till I get more comfortable.

2004 Yamaha FZ1

Summary:

The FZ1 is fast, fun, and gives the joy of road like no other bike

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong, it is a perfectly reliable bike.

I think it very well made bike, with good compomises in engineering, to make it reliable and fun.

General Comments:

I have owned many bikes bike from many manufacturers, but the FZ1 is the best bike I have ever had.

It handles very well, it is very fast, and very comfortable.

I very much like the flexibility it has.

Most of all, it makes me feel at one with it. I have owned Suzukis, Nortons, Ducatis, and BSAs. This is the best, yet.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2005

2001 Yamaha FZ1

Summary:

Excellent, willing, and able

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This is not a naked R1, BUT, it is an awesome motorcycle. Handles great with an engine that is very ready and very willing. There is not a sportbike out there that can run away from you; you can chew up the big bore twins like the Aprilia or Ducati if you keep it in its powerband; remember this engine is rev happy. Brakes are the same as the R1, awesome.

It is a little heavy, and not as readily flickable as a dedicated sportbike, but once you know this, it is very capable.

This bike tied the BMW 1200 GS as the best all-around street bike!!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2005

2005 Yamaha FZ1

Summary:

Exceptional performance on all counts.

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this motorcycle.

General Comments:

This is a very nice bike.

Smooth operation, handles well, very fast.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2005

2002 Yamaha FZ1

Summary:

I highly recommend this bike

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this bike.

General Comments:

I am very happy with this bike. The upright riding position is comfortable and provides great visibility.

If this bike had any more power it would be unrideable. No need to add parts for performance.

The brakes are incredible, great feel and stopping power.

The bike is stable in corners and during acceleration.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2004