1982 Yamaha Maxim 650

Summary:

Perfect bike for the new rider to ride, and then go to a bigger bike afterward

Faults:

Would sometimes just die when driving, but could be started right back up by dumping the clutch.

Didn't always start. Had to be push started.

Both issues more than likely due to the fact I did zero repairs on it.

I hated adjusted and lubing the darn chain.

General Comments:

I bought a 1979 Honda 750 Four, and it was OK. I sold that and came across a good deal on the 650 Maxim. This was my first bike that I actually rode around regularly, so it is the bike I learned on really.

This bike was what I considered the perfect starter bike. It wasn't crazy powerful, but was quick enough for a beginner rider to appreciate riding, with good pull all the way to around 85MPH, then it would fall on its nose and pull no more. Like I said, perfect for the beginner.

I did occasionally ride passengers, but I think it is primarily for single riding. It is a good looking scaled down cruiser of the era. Put a shaft drive on this thing, and you virtually eliminate most of the cons about it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2012

27th May 2012, 21:28

You are really selling the Maxim 650 short, labeling it a beginner's bike.

30th May 2012, 23:10

Only reason I say that it is good for beginners, is because of how good it was for ME to learn and take my M endorsement test with. It is small, so it is fairly nimble. It is only 650cc, so it is enough for a beginner rider to have fun with, learn the dynamics of riding, but not kill him/herself. Shoot, I'm glad it was the way it was. A few months into riding and I drove that thing like a man possessed. Like I said, it got to 85 quickly and then just gave no more. THAT was a good thing for me. No no, don't get me wrong. I have nothing but wonderful memories of the 650 Maxim.

23rd Feb 2013, 17:39

May I say you must have had the XS version, as I have the XJ, and to my knowledge all XJ 650s have the shaft drive.

I don't understand yours falling off at 85mph either; mine will do 110mph+ all day long.

13th Mar 2013, 12:45

It's shaft driven. No chain.

Heather

13th Sep 2015, 09:10

I've got a 1982 XJ 650 Maxim and it's shaft drive. I've had it since I was 18, it was my first bike and got my class 6 on it. I still have it, I could never sell it. I've got 2 other big cruisers, but this bike could keep up and blow some Honda 750s away, so I don't under stand your 650 being on its nose at 85mph?

1982 Yamaha Maxim 650

Summary:

Reliable and great looking

Faults:

Head gasket leaked at 29,000 miles.

Fuse holder brackets are brittle.

Seat has some cracks.

General Comments:

A little hard to start if not used after a couple of weeks.

Front air shocks hard to pressurize to specs.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2010

1980 Yamaha Maxim 650

Faults:

Had to replace the brake switch for the front brake.

General Comments:

Have yet to have any problems with the bike, other than the brake issue stated above. It is my first bike, and was very easy to learn on.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2010

1982 Yamaha Maxim 650

Summary:

Great 1st bike

Faults:

Here's a weird one. I put the kick stand down while the bike was running and the bike shut down and the battery died. Does the XJ 650 Maxim have a kickstand shutoff? What the heck?

General Comments:

Really like the bike. Bought it for my daughter and she's loving it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2010

1982 Yamaha Maxim 650

Summary:

This is the best bike I have ever owned

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This is a great bike, I have owned it for 2 years, adding 10000 miles to it. I have changed the fuse box out to blades, added a 750 gas tank for more miles, customized the exhaust, removed the headlight assembly and added a billet chrome headlight, and added an auxiliary driving light. This bike rips.

If you can't keep up with a 750, you have something wrong. I have been to the line with a few, and have not been let down by my old Maxim.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2010