Yamaha Maxim 650 Reviews from United States of America - Page 3 of 3

1982 Yamaha Maxim 650

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17300 miles
Most recent distance17900 miles

Summary:

Overall a great first bike for me; 600 miles on it in 2 weeks proves it

Faults:

My only issues were my own stupidity with this bike.

I tried to start it with clutch held in, in 1st gear.

Oil light came on and I was frantic for about 6 hours.

I changed my oil, oil filter, and my air filter.

Then I popped it in Neutral, and felt very stupid

General Comments:

I bought a 82 XJ650 Maxim used with 17.3k miles. Garage kept for 800, and have had no problems with the bike so far.

The rubber air boot to the carburetors are a bit cracked, so I had a bit of a vacuum issue as far as idling, easily fixed with rubber epoxy.

I also got lucky on a deal for a parts bike. It is an 82 XJ650 Maxim with no title. Engine runs, 17k miles, no front caliper, all for $225. It's gonna be great to have a stock selection of parts in my garage. Can't wait to pick it up!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2009

1982 Yamaha Maxim 650

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.1 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha XV1000/TR1

Summary:

Bullet proof

Faults:

Having a problem now starting the bike...

By the time you start it.. it rolls then dies down.

I adjusted the idle to higher RPM 4-5000 rpm "just to get home cause it won't start in low idle". The next day.. it won't start.. it seems like it not feeding.. need help!?

General Comments:

Can't say enough.. 28 years old and still running.. except now, hopefully a minor issue.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2009

1982 Yamaha Maxim 650

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha Maxim 650

Summary:

Great bike

Faults:

I have an 1982 XJ650 Maxim. The starter or the voltage regulator went out. How do I go about fixing it?

General Comments:

The bike rides great, very dependable.

Please email me at neilpaynejr@yahoo.com thanks.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2009

1982 Yamaha Maxim 650

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired22225 miles
Most recent distance64526 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha VS1400 Intruder

Summary:

For a 27 year old bike, it still will run with the big boys and looks good doing it!

Faults:

Nothing really has gone wrong with it, though the carburetors could use a going over (rough idling); I just change the oil, tires, fluids & go.

It could use a repaint as the paint is looking shabby.

General Comments:

I always thought the 80's style bikes had a "Whole Lot Of Soul" & the "Yamaha Maxims" says it all.

It's so agile & predictable, it's just too much fun for a bike of this vintage.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2009

1982 Yamaha Maxim 650

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16386 miles
Most recent distance16589 miles

Summary:

Awesome bike, I love it!

General Comments:

I love this bike. Excellent buy and it runs great with lots of power.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2008

1981 Yamaha Maxim 650

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired21130 miles
Most recent distance30365 miles

Summary:

This is one dependable, missle proof bike!!!

Faults:

I have just this year started to experience a oil leak that I think is due to an old, worn out, DOHC cover gasket. I am going to replace it this weekend and see if it takes care of my little problem. But I think this sorta thing is to be expected. For cryin out loud, the bike is 27 years old!!! But none the less, still runs GREAT!!!

General Comments:

I own the 1981 650 Maxim. I don't know how many bikes those of you complaining have owned. But I have had a couple. This bike has been the most reliable, and all around Missle Proof bike I've ever owned. The engine is as strong, and dependable as the day is long.

Don't get me wrong, the comfort of the ride has some to be desired. Also, the braking power isn't as strong as I would like, and I wish it had a bigger fuel tank.

But all around this is a great bike for the non-experienced beginner, OR the veteran rider such as myself. I am just ready for a bigger bike. But, I will still be sure to keep this dependable old cruiser regardless.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2008

1982 Yamaha Maxim 650

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Distance when acquired13892 miles
Most recent distance14688 miles

Summary:

I think it's a nice fun ride

Faults:

I haven't had no problems at all; changed 4 plugs.

General Comments:

Yeah they do run pretty strong between 8000 and 10000, and I think it's one of the most comfortable bikes I've ever rode. I'm really love the driveshaft.

Sometimes I catch myself riding it like a motorcross bike, if you know what I mean.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2008

1981 Yamaha Maxim 650

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired571 miles
Most recent distance906 miles

Summary:

Great overall bike

General Comments:

This bike is great in power and reliability. It has plenty of speed and handles great.

This bike was built in the 80,s and should be judged on that level. Don't compare this bike to the new models; it was before their time.

I don't think the new bikes can compete with the toughness of this bike. I bought my Maxim 650 for one hundred bucks about 6 months ago and love it. The bike had been sitting for about 8 years, and I had very little problem getting the bike to run after buying it. I was amazed.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2007

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 17 reviews