BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2011 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited from United States of America

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha Road Star Silverado 1700

Summary:

Great motorcycle and a lot of fun

Faults:

So far I haven't had any problems with this motorcycle; all my passengers love riding with me.

General Comments:

This motorcycle is awesome, very reliable and comfortable.

I highly recommend this motorcycle for its stability and comfort.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited from United States of America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance2924 miles
Previous motorcycleVespa PX 150

Summary:

I love my ride!

Faults:

I haven't had any real problems with my Spyder. I wish the dealership was closer - almost 2 hours away.

General Comments:

I get a lot of positive comments about my Can-Am.

I feel very safe on my Spyder; it's easy to handle.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th September, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited from United States of America

Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda 50

Summary:

Made just for me

Faults:

I found it is smart to fuel up in every town when traveling; it does not like to run low on fuel.

General Comments:

I cannot say enough good about this motorcycle. I have never owned a real road bike before. But have truly enjoyed my summer riding my own bike, traveling with my husband and traveling by myself.

I first tried one at the Sturgis Rally, and knew it was for me. At 62 I bit the bullet and purchased mine in May of this year. I could only be happier if it had 6 speed transmission. Everything else is great.

After singing Spyder's praises, one of my co-workers also purchased a Spyder.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2013

2013 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited from United States of America

Year of manufacture2013
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Most recent distance1300 miles
Previous motorcycleBRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited

Summary:

Very good

Faults:

ES solenoid failed. Dealer support in the area of breakdown (ND) was minimal.

General Comments:

Handling on the 2013 RT is very good.

The floorboards are a great improvement in rider comfort.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited from United States of America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles

Summary:

First bike, easy to ride

Faults:

Gas gauge needle moves with bike vibrations.

General Comments:

Excellent ride with a comfortable seat for your passenger.

However back support for the driver would help.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2013

27th Sep 2013, 13:26

We love it!! Comfortable ride for the passenger. Recommend a drink holder, high foot pegs for the driver, & a back rest for the driver.

27th Sep 2013, 20:51

This truly is a great ride, but had to replace the fuel gauge because it only had two readings, full or empty.

Accessories are way too expensive.

MPG??

2013 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited from United States of America

Model year2013
Year of manufacture2013
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance3400 miles
Previous motorcycleBRP Can-Am Spyder GS

Summary:

Awesome ride

Faults:

Melting parts due to excessive heat.

Idle and starting problems.

General Comments:

Like the unit, but would like heat issues resolved.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2013

2011 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited from United States of America

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB750

Summary:

Awesome!

Faults:

Fuel gauge - not giving an accurate reading.

Battery not initialized correctly, and failed. Replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

This is my fourth (4th) motorcycle. Had 2 Hondas and one Triumph. This is much better than the others. My wife likes it better also, as it is more stable.

The bike was purchased after retirement. Plan on doing more riding in the future, maybe longer trips.

This 68 year old still has a lot of miles to go on his Spyder, and the Spyder is ready to go. This bike was made for us older riders who need a more stable ride.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2012

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited from United States of America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson FXSTC Softail Custom

Summary:

This motorcycle needs more R&D

Faults:

Electrical problems. Entertainment system got wet and shorted out the radio.

Out of round tires on the front, and BRP said that they had never heard of it before.

Belt vibration at various RPMs. BRP says it's normal. Harley's have a belt drive and they don't vibrate.

General Comments:

Fun to ride, and quick.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th October, 2012

20th Aug 2013, 20:22

I also have a very bad vibration between 68-80 mph in 5th gear on my 2012 Can Am Spyder RT-S. Please advise me of the solution to reduce vibration. The dealer indicated all of the RTS vibrate, but mine vibrates very bad? The dealer doesn't know how to fix the problem? Who'd ever guess?

Please contact me at e-mail: iowaobserve@hotmail.com

Thank You

2011 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited from United States of America

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance5025 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide

Summary:

I do not regret buying it

Faults:

The Cam-Am has only one electrical switch problem.

General Comments:

The Spyder is fun to ride.

When it rains hard, I can see good and have the traction to do 65 on interstate roads.

I try to get around tractor trailers quick, because the wind turbulence is difficult.

The Spyder is great on mountain curves and back roads.

Storage area is enough for two people for one week.

I wish it had forward foot rest pegs!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2012

2011 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited from United States of America

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles

Summary:

Love it. 8,000 miles in it 1st year; July to July

Faults:

My plug for communication broke, and the seat wore in front.

General Comments:

Absolutely love this bike. It's fast, comfortable, and passenger doesn't have to be motorcycle savvy.

It's also very sharp looking.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2012

2011 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited from United States of America

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda GL1100 Interstate

Summary:

I love it!

Faults:

Runs perfectly. I had knee surgery and had to get 3 wheels.

General Comments:

Excellent and safest motorcycle I've had. Very comfortable. Somewhat pricey to maintain, however.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2012

27th Sep 2013, 10:48

Summer engine heat is excessive.

Needs the saddle area extended to reduce crimping of the leg/knee.

Needs a separate speaker/headset switch for instantaneous change to allow full attention when using.

The cycle is over responsive to gusty crosswinds, creating unsafe riding conditions.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 19 reviews