Yamaha Maxim 650 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1982 Yamaha Maxim 650 from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1981
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance31600 miles

Summary:

Reliable and great looking

Faults:

Head gasket leaked at 29,000 miles.

Fuse holder brackets are brittle.

Seat has some cracks.

General Comments:

A little hard to start if not used after a couple of weeks.

Front air shocks hard to pressurize to specs.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2010

1980 Yamaha Maxim 650 from United States of America

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

Had to replace the brake switch for the front brake.

General Comments:

Have yet to have any problems with the bike, other than the brake issue stated above. It is my first bike, and was very easy to learn on.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2010

1982 Yamaha Maxim 650 from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha 650 Special

Summary:

Great 1st bike

Faults:

Here's a weird one. I put the kick stand down while the bike was running and the bike shut down and the battery died. Does the XJ 650 Maxim have a kickstand shutoff? What the heck?

General Comments:

Really like the bike. Bought it for my daughter and she's loving it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2010

1982 Yamaha Maxim 650 from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance40200 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha TT250R

Summary:

This is the best bike I have ever owned

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This is a great bike, I have owned it for 2 years, adding 10000 miles to it. I have changed the fuse box out to blades, added a 750 gas tank for more miles, customized the exhaust, removed the headlight assembly and added a billet chrome headlight, and added an auxiliary driving light. This bike rips.

If you can't keep up with a 750, you have something wrong. I have been to the line with a few, and have not been let down by my old Maxim.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2010

1981 Yamaha Maxim 650 from United States of America

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 5 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS1100GK

Summary:

Worth owning and riding everyday

Faults:

Tach wire broke.

Signals blow fuses, an electric issue that I am not willing to rewire the bike to fix.

Everything else is great. That's it.

General Comments:

It has a very nice motor. Good pull from a stop all the way to highway speeds. Need to drop a gear to make strong passes at highway speed. It is faster than most people think.

I would not say it handles well. Top end speed of about 110 with over 20,000 miles on it. Speedometer does not go that high, I was riding with another biker when we wanted to get the approx top end speed.

Not good off road. Gets stuck in mud easy, and bottoms out like it was made for on road use only.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th May, 2009

1982 Yamaha Maxim 650 from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17300 miles
Most recent distance17900 miles

Summary:

Overall a great first bike for me; 600 miles on it in 2 weeks proves it

Faults:

My only issues were my own stupidity with this bike.

I tried to start it with clutch held in, in 1st gear.

Oil light came on and I was frantic for about 6 hours.

I changed my oil, oil filter, and my air filter.

Then I popped it in Neutral, and felt very stupid

General Comments:

I bought a 82 XJ650 Maxim used with 17.3k miles. Garage kept for 800, and have had no problems with the bike so far.

The rubber air boot to the carburetors are a bit cracked, so I had a bit of a vacuum issue as far as idling, easily fixed with rubber epoxy.

I also got lucky on a deal for a parts bike. It is an 82 XJ650 Maxim with no title. Engine runs, 17k miles, no front caliper, all for $225. It's gonna be great to have a stock selection of parts in my garage. Can't wait to pick it up!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2009

1982 Yamaha Maxim 650 from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.1 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha XV1000/TR1

Summary:

Bullet proof

Faults:

Having a problem now starting the bike...

By the time you start it.. it rolls then dies down.

I adjusted the idle to higher RPM 4-5000 rpm "just to get home cause it won't start in low idle". The next day.. it won't start.. it seems like it not feeding.. need help!?

General Comments:

Can't say enough.. 28 years old and still running.. except now, hopefully a minor issue.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2009

1982 Yamaha Maxim 650 from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha Maxim 650

Summary:

Great bike

Faults:

I have an 1982 XJ650 Maxim. The starter or the voltage regulator went out. How do I go about fixing it?

General Comments:

The bike rides great, very dependable.

Please email me at neilpaynejr@yahoo.com thanks.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2009

1982 Yamaha Maxim 650 from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired22225 miles
Most recent distance64526 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha VS1400 Intruder

Summary:

For a 27 year old bike, it still will run with the big boys and looks good doing it!

Faults:

Nothing really has gone wrong with it, though the carburetors could use a going over (rough idling); I just change the oil, tires, fluids & go.

It could use a repaint as the paint is looking shabby.

General Comments:

I always thought the 80's style bikes had a "Whole Lot Of Soul" & the "Yamaha Maxims" says it all.

It's so agile & predictable, it's just too much fun for a bike of this vintage.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2009

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 21 reviews