Honda VFR750 Reviews from Australia

1990 Honda VFR750

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 kilometres
Most recent distance107000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleHonda CBR1000F

Summary:

A bike with a well earned reputation as an allrounder. Excellent!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I bought this bike to replace my '87 CBR1000F that was getting a little long in the tooth, but still performing well.

While the VFR does not have the huge acceleration and brute power of the CBR, it is a much better all round motorcycle.

Power is more than adequate for sane riding. The low to mid-range power delivery is excellent, and highly usable both in traffic and on the open road. Top end is no match for most litre bikes, but is still good enough to be scary.

Handling is excellent, even by modern standards. In the hands of a reasonably competent rider, the VFR will keep most other bikes in sight, regardless of capacity.

Seat comfort is excellent for both rider and pillion. My wife and I can go considerably longer than we could on the CBR before numbness sets in. Footpeg position is very good. The fairing works very well with no buffeting below 120kph (75mph) and only moderate activity up to 150kph (93mph). I have to confess that at age 50, going faster than this has no attraction, so the VFR copes well in all areas at "normal" speeds.

Fuel economy is average for a 750cc motorcycle.

What mostly attracted me to the VFR was its looks. This is one sexy looking machine, even given that it is sixteen years old. I often find myself just admiring the lines and finish. This is a bike that begs to be ridden and enjoyed.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2006

4th Sep 2006, 16:46

Re. Honda VFR750 FL. I owned one for three happy years. The only problem I ever had was a blown tail light bulb and a loose mirror. Wonderful bike. Shame I ploughed into the back of a van on it, but I can't blame the bike for that.

3rd Feb 2007, 00:23

I owned 1990 VFR750 for 3 years. It is a stunning bike to look at and superbly engineered. I love the gear driven cam shaft v-4 engine.

Mine hated hot weather and really seemed underpowered in summer weather, but ran fantastic in cooler weather. I used Amsoil Synthetic racing oil, but even the best oil in the world didn't solve the hot weather power loss.

It never seemed to handle as well as I wanted. My 86 VFR700 handled much better.

I am too tall for these cafe styled bikes, and my wrists always ached. 45 minutes of city driving and I couldn't wait to get off it. My ultimate VFR would have an upright riding position, footpegs forward handlebars backward.

I don't know why Honda or any other maker didn't use the v-4 for a universal japanese style bike. Yes I had a Venture and know about the ST Hondas, the Suzuki Cavalcade and the cruiser style VFR, but I want a 5 gallon gas tank, upright riding position just like my favorite bike of all time - the Suzuki GS1000EC. What a perfect fit for me...

The Honda VFR 750...well Superb engineering, but not my cup of tea. It is like an English butler. It does every thing well, but not so much personality.

25th Mar 2007, 18:33

Hey. - I now own a VFR FL 750 1990. It is bike no. 14 for me, and far the best of the lot.

I am just sorry, that I didn`t look that direction years ago.

Finn, Randers, Denmark.

2nd Sep 2008, 16:32

I agree, the 1990 VFR750 is a very hot looking machine for an 18 year old bike.

John,

New Zealand.

27th Sep 2009, 18:24

I have an 86 model and agree - for a cheap reliable bike with genuine high performance, this is the one to go for for! Also comfy and far more fun than the lorry like CBR 1000s, early Triumph 900s and FJ 12s you usually get at this price.

2 important tips:

Reg/rec units overheat and make the bike conk out. Solution, cable tie it to the rear footrest bracket to cool in the wind rush.

OE exhaust rots and costs and bomb to replace!! Only consider bikes with an aftermarket S/S replacement already done.

Don't be put off by a high miler, these bikes are fantastically hard wearing. Bung on a Scottoiler & luggage, and the south of France, here we come!

19th Jun 2010, 00:08

I just bought a 1990 VFR, AWESOME!!! For a 20 year old bike, she is still very sexy. I got lucky, mine is mint and was owned by a mechanic. I will say I was convinced to look for a VFR because 4 of my co-workers have them; 1991, 2001, 2003 and a 2006. This bike is everything they told me it would be and more. Long live the VFR/Interceptor :)

1993 Honda VFR750

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 kilometres
Most recent distance82000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GSX400

Summary:

Good, but old

Faults:

Nothing so far. Had the valves checked at 78,000 (just after I bought it) and didn't require adjustment.

General Comments:

For its age and high kms, it really does ride well. I have heard that these things will go to 160,000km without a rebuild. If that is so, then it's only 1/2 way there!

It still looks good, when washed up it gets some looks. Sounds great with the staintune muffler.

I am no racer, so I think I have had it to 130km/h with plenty more to go. It supposedly creates max power at 10,000 rpm, I have only had it to about 8,000 rpm as I don't want to cook such an old engine. But that's plenty enough to get into trouble with the cops.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2005

8th May 2005, 19:17

I had a 1989 VFR 750 and had it up to 130mph (according to the speedo), and it went fine. I never out-rode it and so long as it's looked after, it will go fine. The only headache was the hugely complicated and very expensive to replace exhaust system.

12th Jun 2005, 15:26

I have had my VFR with a reading of 145mph, and have sat at 130 all day long with no problems.

17th Jul 2005, 03:58

I have only had my VFR750 FH for 2 months, but am very impressed with it.

For an 18 year old bike, it handles fantastically and accelerates to 130mph in the blink of an eye.

The brakes are a little spongy, so may benefit from braided hoses.

It returns 40mpg, which equates to a 150 mile tank range, and is comfortable enough to ride for 2 hours without a break.

12th Jan 2007, 11:11

I've had my VFR 750 FG for a year now, and love it! I bought a set of hard panniers and used it for a bit of touring.

It's a great all-round bike, and my first "big" bike asides from a wee xj 600 yamaha which I seized the engine on. Didn't check the oil.. D'oh!

Anyhoo, back to the Viffer. It's a great sports tourer, and doesn't half go well for an old bike. It can easily keep up with some more modern "sports" bikes!

When it's all laden up with the boxes and other stuff, it feels totally solid on the road, and inspires confidence. I went from Cardiff to Kent at almost 100mph all the way very comfortably.

Does benefit from a higher touring "flip" screen if you're planning high miles.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 2 reviews