2001 Yamaha V-Star 1100

Summary:

It's my baby... took it everywhere, it let me down only once in 9 years... stater..

Faults:

Stater went at 72 000 KM approx.

Initially had carburation problems because dealer did not adjust properly when DG Hardchrome was added...

General Comments:

I like it. It's my baby. It sounds and looks great with the DG Hardchrome. Best thing I did was to get these exhausts on from day one. She is a spoiled baby... I installed a lot of chrome... Lots to choose from. Looks great great on her...

Good torque at low RPM... sound like a Harley... up to 80Km/h, then it runs a little higher than I would like... This is the reason I changed from the 650 to the 1100... Next bike may be a Harley after all... but I am scared to lose the great feeling my baby gives me right now.

I celebrated its 80 000 Km anniversary last week... with her friend Suzuki 1500 Intruder... She likes to leave the 'bigger' bike behind as she is faster... because she runs higher RPM after 80Km/h, likely... it was fun.. another successful 200km ride after work...

Consumption: Average 5 liters for 100Km.

Con: The valve adjustments schedule required (every 6000K, are you kidding me!) and the oil filter that requires the pipe to be removed... (Are you kidding me take 2!)... would I have known, I would not have bought this Yamaha... but I'm glad I did...

I went to lots of places, remote places... it never let me down.

Next bike: most likely a bigger V engine, 6th speed and fuel injection... But the problem is: I'm still in love with my Black V-Star 1100 Classic.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2010

28th Apr 2012, 05:11

MY BRAND NEW V-STAR 2011, CLASSIC 1100.

I rode my friends '08 1100 Custom, and loved it, and this year bought my first Yamaha. Usually I have ridden Honda's in the past, but this bike, with its hard tail looks, is so sexy I couldn't resist. I'm buying it brand new and getting some accessories:

1. Engine guard and highway pegs.

2. Oil filter relocation kit.

3. Yamaha tall windshield.

4. Fender rack.

I bought it on 04/25/12, and they said it would take a week to 10 days. When I get it, I'll going on a trip and I'm headed south. When I get back, I'll update you guys on my trip and how much I love my new ride. God Bless and keep the rubber side down. Special thanks to Greg and Dustin and all the “GUYS” at Riverside Yamaha/Suzuki in St. Albert Alberta.

P.S.

It sounds like she's been good to you. I am so looking forward to putting on the first kilometer mine has ever seen, and then about 10,000 more this year.

I know what you mean, was behind the exhaust the only place they could think to put the oil filter?

2003 Yamaha V-Star 1100

Summary:

I had it for only 2 1/2 months - So far so good!

Faults:

The only problem so far is the backfiring and popping, and an occasion stall, usually just as I come to a stop upon down shifting.

General Comments:

My 2003 V-Star handles quite well considering the weight and length.

The factory drivers seat is relatively comfortable.

I have absolutely no use for the "heel" shifter, and pretty much ignore it.

Fuel mileage is great at around 53 mpg. Last tank full of gas lasted 254 kl (158 miles) before switching to reserve. Now if I could just get rid of that backfiring, popping and stalling!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2008

2008 Yamaha V-Star 1100

Summary:

Love it and only regret is I should have bought it sooner

Faults:

Seat very uncomfortable. There were times my backside said "STOP". A new Ultimate Seat is ready to go on it.

Oil filter is in a very awkward location, and requires a lot of work, and there's a potential for damage to other parts.

About 75% of the time, the transmission is noisy & clunky when shifting.

General Comments:

For me, who is 55 years young, I am comfortable with the speed and power.

Seating position is comfortable except for the seat. I seldom use the highway pegs.

Handling is great, and the only problem with it is between the handlebars and seat.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th July, 2008

23rd Jan 2009, 21:19

Buy the oil filter relocator kit. It is worth the money. It makes oil changes a snap.

2000 Yamaha V-Star 1100

Summary:

Awesome ride that can't be explained. Comfort, performance and attitude rolled into one

Faults:

I have had zero problems with this bike.

General Comments:

This bike is awesome!!!

I've put a few upgrades on it like the seat. The original seat is too soft and a bit uncomfortable on long trips.

The bike can take off if you want it to, using all the 1100cc's, but don't expect it to perform and stop like a sports bike.

The length of the wheelbase makes it a bit tricky to move around when parking or going slow, but on the highway it will move like any other bike, even crotch rockets.

I rode this bike from Toronto to Chicago with no problems and the biggest smile on my face. The only fault I find for my bike is that it can't be stock, I've been buying too many chrome replacement parts. Chrome bling ain't cheap!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2004

17th Jun 2008, 16:20

I just traded in my V-star 1100 on a FJR. She was one splendid looking lady, all decked out in a couple thousand dollars worth of glittering chrome and such. Unfortunately, chrome is like jewelery; don't expect the jeweller or dealer to buy it back at more than 10 cents on the dollar.

It will also makes it harder to part ways when the love affair ends.