Yamaha XV920J Virago Reviews from Canada

1982 Yamaha XV920J Virago

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2000
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles

Summary:

She is a great ride

Faults:

Oil light LCD dash will not turn off. I have oil pressure at the valve oil line to each cylinder.

General Comments:

This bike handles very well because the center of gravity is low.

I would like it to be a little more reliable.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2008

6th Jul 2008, 18:38

I just purchased a 920 and am doing much on-line research. I read somewhere that the oil sensor is very sensitive and the oil must be maintained between the lines of the add stick or the light will stay on. Maybe check your oil level..?

1982 Yamaha XV920J Virago

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 4 / 10
Handling marks 4 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.9 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance34000 kilometres

Summary:

I like it

Faults:

This bike has been a good solid dependable bike.

General Comments:

I wish it had a six speed transmission, as I feel it revs too high on the highway.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2005

21st Jun 2007, 13:41

I can't agree with you more. Lower revs at high speeds, greater gas mileage. Right now, my bike gives me about 32 to 40mpg, at last estimation. Guess that's OK compared to an average car?

16th Jul 2009, 22:54

I recently switched to premium fuel for my Virago 920.. I figured that with a fuel capacity of less than four gals, it didn't make much difference in fill up price. My mpg went from 38 mpg to almost 45 mpg.

1982 Yamaha XV920J Virago

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 5 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.9 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleYamaha XV920J Virago

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

With this one, believe it or not, nothing other than regular maintainace.

Previously owned 1982 920 Virago was an electronics nightmare. The only way around that is to disconnect all of the safety switches.

Both bikes have the Virago starter noises.

General Comments:

My bike is no longer stock original. So it would be hard for me to rate it as original. It has a ton of low end torque and the shorty pipes make it nicely load.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2005

13th Oct 2005, 02:54

I might be able to help with some of your tech questions. Forgive me if I run on:

1st step, remove gulp valve. It is on the left side of the bike under the gas tank, they go to the right side of the carbs to the forward cylinders. Bypass to each other or plug off. Buy a jet kit, 4-brush starter (buy the new seal, it is worth the eight bucks -- apply permatex or your favorite gasget sealer).

2nd step, buy a K&N air filter, replace the old one. Drill holes in your baffles (2 layers of metal) and remove insulation - a coathanger with a hookbend on the end will do. 2-step use hotter plugs - I suggest 2steps hotter and Iridium.

3rd step, get your carbs sync'd - pay someone, it's worth it.

4th, fill the oil till the idiot light goes off - it won't hurt the bike, it likes oil.

5th, Ignore the starter noise - the on-line fixes may stop it for awhile; but it won't last long - the bike has a sloppy starter system.

6th, replace the vaccuum lines. Watch your air pressure in your struts. Ignore the system scan warning that comes on and ride safe cause this baby will move if you need her to!!! Try a search on olb bike barn for parts, or the star ryders for back-up on info.

7th Aug 2011, 17:07

920j starter drive noise fix. I had it done, it works. Contact drviragopete@att.net

12th Mar 2012, 02:57

I have the same bike, and bought a new starter, and it still makes the grinding noise a lot. How do I fix it?

22nd Aug 2012, 21:28

I also had my starter drive done by drpete. Lasted about 20 starts, then started to make some noise. Not much, then leveled off at that point. Was still worth the money.

Average review marks: 5.1 / 10, based on 3 reviews