BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited Reviews from United States of America

2013 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited

Year of manufacture2013
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance1800 miles

Summary:

We have had a lot of fun riding, and it is safe

Faults:

One recall for brake master cylinder and fuel canister insulation, and Heim link inspection.

General Comments:

I have had no problems or doubts about its reliability.

With two up, it is a very comfortable and safe ride.

The ABS system is excellent, and has been tried several times with oncoming cars left turning in front of me.

The dash turn signal indicators are very hard to see in bright sunlight.

The motorcycle is hot on the right side, and around the front of the seat where the glove box is.

The glove box can melt soft plastic, so it is not a place for anything too vulnerable to heat; I do not keep my cellphone in there.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2013

2013 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited

Year of manufacture2013
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous motorcycleBRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited

Summary:

Enjoy the safety features, good lights

Faults:

Front latch didn't work.

Loose mirrors.

Turn signals and radio didn't work properly.

Two recalls on the throttle body, and the motor could catch on fire.

Gas mileage isn't good at all.

General Comments:

Seat wasn't comfortable; I put a Corbin on.

Like the automatic and the ride is fine.

Like the windshield going up & down.

Handles good.

Needs a heavier sway bar.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd October, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles

Summary:

The RT Limited Can Am Spyder is by far the best ride for us!

Faults:

Nothing to date has gone wrong with the bike.

We have had a couple of service intervals, and at each of those times we repaired normal things.

First service interval was the oil/transmission fluid needed to be changed.

2nd service interval, the brake failure indicator light came on and the connection needed to be adjusted.

General Comments:

LOVE, LOVE our Can Am Spyder. Until June of 2012 we had never ridden motorcycles - now we go everywhere, even to work, as much as we can!

We have made several mods to the bike, which make it better than ever. An Ultimate Seat with driver back support.

And many more things.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1320 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda Shadow

Summary:

I would recommend the Can-Am Spyder RT to any older person who wishes to stay in the saddle

Faults:

Nothing was wrong with the motorcycle. I have osteoarthritis that made it very difficult for me to balance a two wheeled bike, so the only option to keep riding was to get a trike. The Spyder filled the bill, and was a lot less expensive than any other brand.

General Comments:

My wife and I both love our Spyder, and enjoy the comfort and ease of operation. We go for a hundred mile ride, and enjoy breathing the fresh air and the scenery, no matter where we go.

In the city, the Spyder shifts smoothly and accelerates from light to light with little effort.

On the open road, the Spyder has more than enough power, and the ride is silky smooth.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2013

2013 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited

Model year2013
Year of manufacture2013
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013

Faults:

I could not get a simple key cover that I misplaced through the company, because they did not have a part number for it. This would be a simple fix.

Also the GPS was stolen and will cost me $1,000.00 to replace. It should be theft resistant. Possibly put on so that it cannot be easily removed.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th September, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance2600 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda Gold Wing

Summary:

Great, would buy another one

Faults:

Nothing. I have artificial knees and cannot hold up a 900 lb. bike anymore, so I sold it.

General Comments:

It meets all my touring needs and allows me to ride again in comfort and safety. The steering took a few hours to get used to, but now is no issue.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1404 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous motorcycleBRP Can-Am Spyder RS-S

Summary:

Great

Faults:

This bike has been great. The only thing I've had it in shop for is a bad air pump for the shock.

General Comments:

The handling on this bike is better than the 2011 I had. It is also a lot better in all the electronics; kept having that kind of problem with the 2011.

The seat is good, however it is hard when ridden for extended periods of time.

In general this bike is a great handling machine and very good all around. Gas mileage is not great however.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Limited

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance5700 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB250 Nighthawk

Summary:

A very stable machine, easy to ride and lots of fun!

Faults:

The radio antennae broke off while riding. Replaced by BRP under warranty.

Right side storage compartment latch sticks. Does not open unless I hit the side. Dealer did not have a replacement latch, but will be replaced under warranty.

Right front brake squeals when the brakes are applied.

Gas gauge needle bounces and could be improved.

General Comments:

A heated seat for cold weather riding would be nice.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2013

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 19 reviews