2011 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUTG Tri Glide Ultra Classic Reviews from United States of America

2011 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUTG Tri Glide Ultra Classic

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2013
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance29649 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson Sportster

Summary:

A good ride

Faults:

I added a 255 cam to get better performance... This improved pulling power at 55-65 mph.

The rear end axle bearings had to be replaced and the sway bar replaced. The bike had started to act squirrely with rear end sway and poor tracking.

The engine runs hot in traffic and goes into single cylinder operation. I added a 4" fan where the horn was. This works perfectly to keep the engine cool.

The plastic heat shield under the seat holds heat in and makes the engine run hotter. I added a rear end lift kit for better clearance of the mufflers.

Riding the bike on twisties requires slowing down, and do not charge the turn.

General Comments:

A good trike for an old man with metal knees.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2013

2011 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUTG Tri Glide Ultra Classic

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance24800 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide

Summary:

I am overall pleased with my Harley Tri-Glide

Faults:

Stress crack in windshield, oil coolant gasket leak -- fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

Handles very well on curves.

Ideal for touring.

Plenty of storage.

Reverse feature is very handy.

Lower fairing compartments also offer storage.

Basic complaint is, heat off the engine, is very uncomfortable for the passenger.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2012

2011 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUTG Tri Glide Ultra Classic

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson Sportster XL 1200C

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Trunk lock broke when trying to lock in cold weather.

General Comments:

This motorcycle is very nice ride.

It could use more pulling power on hills.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2012

2011 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUTG Tri Glide Ultra Classic

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 5 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson FXSTC Softail Custom

Summary:

Harley, fix the heat issue under warranty!

Faults:

Not pleased with the heat that comes off the motor. My right leg gets so hot it is not bearable! Contacted Harley, and they claim the excessive heat is not covered under warranty. This will prevent me from possible future Harley purchases! This is my third Harley I have owned.

General Comments:

I installed $1,500 worth of storage accessories. I love the storage room on this bike. The MPG is not what I expected, hoping for a little better.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2011

22nd Apr 2012, 21:23

I agree. I have a 2011 Ultra FLHTCU, and the heat is ridiculous. Constant pinging too. They said it's bad gas. Yeah, 93 octane.

They say it is normal, I do not agree. I may trade it in for a Gold Wing. This is my 5th new Harley. Sorry H.D.

2011 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUTG Tri Glide Ultra Classic

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance4300 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson FLSTC

Summary:

Not what I expected from HD for the price of $32,500

Faults:

Fuel adjustment - spent $600.00 for a performance change.

General Comments:

1) Miles per gallon is disappointing, 25mpg in town, and at 55 mph possibly 30mpg. The air filter was changed out to a K&N, $350.00. Purchased a super tuner, $350.00 and the download, a small change, but at 70mph you're lucky to make 140 miles. For $32,500 I would expect better from HD, since a two wheel Ultra gets 40-45 mpg.

2) Emergency brake - put a light on the fairing so it will alert those of us that your EB is locked. This is from driving off with it locked in place.

3) Rear brakes are disappointing, squeak, and the other HD Ultras have ABS; what happened HD?

4) Passenger floorboard for females needs improving, from a female passenger rider. Add pegs forward so your legs will be able to be stretched.

5) Handle bar could be made longer; even for a short armed person you feel closed in.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2011

2011 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUTG Tri Glide Ultra Classic

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance14870 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson Classic

Summary:

This motorcycle is disappointing

Faults:

Cruise control at 1,500 miles.

Coil at 11,200 miles.

Right rear brake caliper at 14,500 miles.

Seat started to wear at 3,000 miles.

General Comments:

The motorcycle has a great ride, and is a real treat to take on a trip. It has many performance problems.

1. The gas mileage is 30 around town and 33 on the highway, providing the air filter is clean and the spark plugs are not old.

2. The power and efficiency curves are roughly as follows.

A. Power curve is 55 to 75 mph; the higher the speed, the worse the performance.

b. Efficiency curve is 55 to 65 mph, and is dependent on heat, speed stability and throttle settings.

3. Both curves are affected by heat, and the engine appears to be constantly searching for air-fuel mixture. This constant searching also affects MPG.

4. All of these issues can be corrected with after market parts and tuning, but the cost associated is $2,000. With a sticker price of $32,500, having to spend the additional money to get the bike to operated as you would expect it should off the showroom floor is outrageous.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2011

29th Sep 2011, 11:35

I have a Triglide also, and I would like to know what the 2000.00 add ons were that made the bike a better bike?

7th Jul 2013, 09:06

We had our 2012 Tri Glide at the dealer yesterday about the heat on the right side, burning the wife's leg while she is riding (alone). Was told we could change the breather have the "cats" knocked out and reprogram the computer to lower the heat on that side. All for about 1200 dollars to fix a problem HD created along with Fed Gov EPA regulations. Have owned HDs for many years, including 3 at the moment. We wait for the bugs to be worked out of the trikes before buying one, but maybe it was too soon.

27th Sep 2013, 14:20

We have a 2013 Tri Glide.

I fell off ladder in August 2011. We normally put 28,000 to 35,000 miles a year on our Ultra 2008, then 2010. We thought the Tri Glide was the way to go.

So far this year we have put 6,500 miles on it, and probably will not put many more on this year.

At 409 miles, new rocker arms and push rods, front cylinder.

2,000 miles, broken down on I-65 south of Birmingham Al. No clutch, and very hard to steer at 25 mph on the interstate.

Not a good ride compared to the Ultras. Solid rear axle.

Hope to trade it to a new Ultra next year. And by the time you add a rear bumper luggage rack, and an easier clutch from the dealer, it's almost $40,000.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 6 reviews