1982 Honda C70 Passport

Summary:

Probably the most successful motorcycle ever made!

Faults:

Nothing. Have changed tires due to age and cracking, but just routine care is all that has been necessary.

Discovered the hard way that the battery acts as a voltage regulator for the headlight. Original headlights are over 75.00, but knock-offs from Malaysia can be had for under 20.00 delivered.

General Comments:

I looked that the "bike" very indignantly when my father bought it in 1982, but have gained a healthy respect for it since. He put 5,000 miles on it delivering meals-on-wheels to older citizens, and I have put another 5,000 on it since I had to give up larger bikes due to physical disability.

This thing just keeps running and running... starts immediately and is so easy to maintain. The fact that it gets over 100 mpg makes it quite attractive with current gas prices. I've turned down some nice offers to sell the bike -- it has sort of grown on me!

Parts are easy to come by online. I've replaced a muffler and a headlight and two tires in 8 years.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2008

26th Aug 2009, 22:12

Being 67 years old and finding 1981 C70 with less than 2000 miles on it for $200.00, I feel like a kid in a candy store. Awesome little bike, still learning how it works, all the forum comments have helped greatly, thank you all.

Phil.

20th Jan 2010, 17:54

Need some advice on the blinkers on my 82 Passport. What is the check process? The bulbs are good, taillight works, brake light works, (foot applied/hand applied). Headlamp doesn't work. Any suggestions?

1982 Honda C70 Passport

Summary:

Love it! And I wish Honda still imported C70's to U.S

Faults:

Electronic ignition part failed at 13K miles - not normal.

Main engine seal split 1/4" from having been stored for 12 years, necessitated replacement + top end rebuild (19K miles).

Clutch had to be replaced shortly after engine rebuild.

Suspension + neck & swing arm bearings worn, making handling a bit "mushy" after 30K+ miles - normal.

General Comments:

This and previous C70's have all been exceptionally reliable, start right up, rarely fail to get you there.

Easy to drive, comfortable for short errands and commutes.

Easy to carry cargo with front and rear racks.

Has plenty of power for level surfaces, not quite enough on long grades.

Easy to maintain and repair, no special skills needed for all but serious engine, etc. issues.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2008

1981 Honda C70 Passport

Summary:

Well done, I want five more like it

General Comments:

So far I had to replace rear tire because I could see air. I mounted a 3.00 tire and it handles better for it, however before I repaint I'll move the lower left inner fender outboard so the tire can have a truer tracking. The bike for me could use a 4 speed gear set. The auto clutch is fine and does well on those grocery store junket runs.

I weigh 200 lbs and it even surprises me for 4.4 cu inch motor. I think the only thing that can out handle this bike is a P-51 Mustang.

I average about 85 mpg, but if I let off the feed a little it would hit 100 easy.

As far as power goes, maybe a 88cc upgrade and 4 speed gear set, but that's all and new paint. From the beginning I soaked the gasoline tank in acid and filled it with rocks to loosen the rust, then hosed it all out.

Does anyone have the colour codes for Angel Blue?

Bravo Mr. Honda, good job.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2006

8th Jul 2008, 10:42

What is the shipping weight of a Honda C70 Passport???

1982 Honda C70 Passport

Summary:

Great scooter

Faults:

The only thing I have had problems with is the electric start button it no-longer works. If anyone has experienced a similar problem, I would be interested to hear how you fixed it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th July, 2006

26th Jan 2007, 10:50

First, make sure it in neutral.

Open chain cover at engine/trans block. Remove the green/red wire from the neutral safety switch (push the spring inward and pull out the wire). Connect this wire to good ground. Try to start it.

If it works, you have a bad safety SW. It is easy to replace, only one phillip screw to remove and pull the SW out, install new part in reverse order.

If it not start, open headlight and disconnect the yellow/red wire. Probe green/red (The one that you connect to ground) and yellow/red wires (the one come out from the push button, not the one that goes to the relay) while pushing starter button with Ohm meter. Reading 2 ohms or less is acceptable. If reading higher than 2 ohms, fix the start button by sand paper (need patient and skill to do this work because it hard to put it back together). If it still not working, you need to check out the starter relay and power supply.

Good luck. (make sure your battery is fully charged)

2nd Feb 2007, 00:06

Actually I would start with a fully charged battery, then go to the solenoid and switch. The battery is the most likely issue when a starter doesn't work. Sometimes you have just enough charge to kick it a few time and then the starter starts up.