Honda CB900F Reviews from United States of America

1982 Honda CB900F

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired21500 miles
Most recent distance24600 miles

Summary:

This is all the bike I need

Faults:

Alternator rotor replaced.

Rectifier brake fluid refreshed.

General Comments:

Loves the twisties. Handles lighter than its weight.

It's fairly comfortable on medium trips.

It's very quick.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2009

1982 Honda CB900F

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance34500 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB750

Summary:

Great bike all around... will never sell it

Faults:

Nothing. Just general upkeep.

General Comments:

A very reliable, fast and comfortable bike. Purchased the bike brand new in 85 for $1675 US.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2006

1981 Honda CB900F

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2800 miles
Most recent distance12300 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic

Summary:

Oldie but Goodie!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong in the last 19 years!

General Comments:

This is a fantastic bike, way ahead of its time. A real head-turner from people who know what it is. Still very fast.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2006

1st May 2006, 13:31

I agree with this review. I have recently purchased a 1983 Honda CB900F and I am very impressed with the bike. Even though it has done over 43000 miles, it handles like new and is very responsive.

25th May 2006, 13:23

Hello, I´m a very happy spanish owner of a CB900 Bol d´or F1 from 1981, that I bought last year. My question is: I have to change the front fork oil of my bike, and I don´t know the quantity, could someone help me with this, because in my country, this model wasn´t sold in official Honda motor shops.

Thanks for your attention, and sorry about my english.

1980 Honda CB900F

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha XS650

Summary:

It's a Honda, what else can I say?

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong is the fork seals.

General Comments:

It is a great bike.

Fun to ride.

It has lots of power.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2005

11th Oct 2005, 16:52

I've been riding this bike hard for six years. The review is 100% accurate (I just replaced the fork seals last week).

Also doesn't hurt to tune it up! It likes new plugs and a battery every couple of years.

6th Nov 2005, 16:46

I have owned 48 motorcycles, but I intend to keep my 81 900F forever. The most comfortable bike I have ever had, and plenty of pull for an old air cooled machine. Perhaps the best looking UJM around.

29th Dec 2006, 18:21

I have had my 81 900F since 1987, and do not ever plan to sell it. The most comfortable bike for long rides, and plenty of power for an older bike. I have owned over 30 motorcycles, and this one I am keeping.

1st Jul 2009, 16:52

Have owned my 82 CB900F for 11 years. Recently replace rotor on alternator and rectifier.. Replaced brake fluid and front fork seals.. now runs as new.. I love it.

4th Aug 2009, 05:00

I have long admired the 900F having owned a Nighthawk S since new in 1984. Today I'm pulling the trigger on a nice 900F! I can't wait to add it to my vintage collection, which also includes a 79 CBX. Now to find that elusive 1100F and I'll be done!

Average review marks: 9.1 / 10, based on 4 reviews