1987 Honda GL1200 Aspencade

Summary:

Unbelievable

Faults:

Bought it as parts. Put it back together, and found bad wiring from the stator and primary fuse. That was it!

I am now 61 and a short guy; 5ft 7in tall. The bike is well balanced, and even with my short legs, I have no issues with stops.

Have owned and been on many bikes, but never a Wing. As it stands now... I will never be on any bike but a Wing!

The Aspencade has an on board air compressor for the air suspension system, and a handy valve attachment for an air hose to refill the tires... very nice feature if you have to plug a tire on the road!

As heavy as this bike is, it is really a sleeper at 1200cc, and with the overdrive, cruise control, nice radio with Jensen speakers, intercom and CB... It has it all. For a 1987 bike to perform this well and be this comfortable was a big surprise.

If you're a crotch rocket guy... well you just may be surprised... if you're a Harley guy... well just keep wearing the ear plugs and keep thinking you're macho!! Me, I am a convert to the Wing!

Went with the Shinko 230 tires. Great rubber for the money and V rated @ 149 mph.

General Comments:

Great wheels.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2012

1987 Honda GL1200 Aspencade

Faults:

I purchased my Gold Wing at 97000 miles. It now has 125000 on it, and it runs new!

Other than normal care; tires, oil and spark plugs, I haven't had a second of trouble.

The wife and I go everywhere we can! We are on the east coast, and plan on a trip to the Grand Canyon when weather permits!

This bike is a 1987 Honda Gold Wing, and I love riding it! Comfort is great. Smooth ride on the interstate, and 80 mph is just a breeze, and it handles great! I will never turn loose of it; the old girl is a part of the family.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th January, 2012

1984 Honda GL1200 Aspencade

Summary:

Love the ride for open highway running

Faults:

First thing was a rebuild on the front brake (R-side) caliper.

Second was a rebuild of the clutch cylinder..

Third was loss of stator and 3 yellow wire connectors. Did not go back to original stator, did what is called a poorboy conversion to a GM alternator.

Fourth was loss of a micro switch for the clutch (a safety switch to keep from starting without pulling in the clutch).

That is it... except for regular maintenance such as tires, oil changes.. and fluid changes. It is now running a little on the hot side, so may have a thermostat problem developing. Of course it has been an average of 102 every day, so that might have something to do with it.

Everything else is still pretty much in mint condition.

General Comments:

The longest continuous ride was a 3 week trip covering 6000 miles. Only problem was I picked up a nail in the rear tire, which I plugged until I got to a dealer to replace it.

Overall a great bike. Hate to get rid of it, but recently picked up a 98 GW1500A, and my wife says I don't need two wings plus the CB750k2. So the 84 is going on the block to sell.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2011

1986 Honda GL1200 Aspencade

Summary:

I think the GL1200 is a work of art

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

The computer controlled fuel injection is awesome. Out on the highway and you need to pass a truck; just roll on the throttle and the smooth power launches you to the century mark without a burp. I have a Yammy XS 1100 that can rock out, but not with the smoothness of this bike.

The handling is excellent once the bike starts to move. You would never think that a 750LB + bike could handle like this.

I had always wanted a GL1200. I like the looks of My 86 SEI with a smooth vanilla color and a bit darker accent and wineberry seats. After all these years the bike turns heads everywhere I go. I have 7 bikes, and I like this bike so much I am looking for another. I could just collect these from now on. Very dependable and great gas mileage.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2007

29th Feb 2008, 15:52

I have had various bikes in my life; CBR... Interceptor 1000.. 750 Yamaha.. Honda Nighthawk and so on. My bike of choice would be anything in a racer style.

I am going on fifty soon, and still love these style of bikes. However my wife would never let me put another one in the driveway because of the last drive she took with me a few years back.

Last year I bought a 1200 1986 Aspencade; to me it look like a living room couch with a picture window strap to it. NOT MY KIND OF BIKE... I was wrong, it drives fantastic; it has room for whatever I want to bring with us, and my wife for the first time feels comfortable and safe.

I can't believe the passing power it has in overdrive, and this power is smooth.

I can't believe I am saying this, but I am looking at buying a new 1800 Aspencade. Anyone know if they're as good as the oldies?

22nd Sep 2008, 22:20

Hello, I sometimes can't believe that I have had SEVEN Goldwings, 1-'82 Interstate,1-'83 Aspencade, 1-'83 Intestate, 1-'84 Interstate, 1-'86 Aspencade, 2-'87 Aspencades.

All are wonderful bikes, mileage ranges from 21K-130K. You can't tell them apart if they are in perfect working condition.

I had a brand new 2006 Concours and it couldn't hold a candle to the '86 Aspencade I now have; of course the Concours handles better in the mountains. 22 years old and I feel better on this old bike anyday!!

I've owned 3-V65 Sabres, 1-V65 Magna,1-V45 Magna, 1-550 Yamaha Seca, 1-650 Special Yamaha, and many dirt bikes of which I can't list here. This really is a piece of art and was intended to ride forever! JZ.

1987 Honda GL1200 Aspencade

Summary:

The best

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

It is powerful.

Easy to start.

Very comfortable.

Looks great.

This motorcycle is a bit much for "a new to the dream" rider, but for a rider with some experience, it is truly a great motorcycle. It is dependable, powerful, a very comfortable. It takes a little practice to feel really comfortable, on it, but it is a true work of art.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2006

1985 Honda GL1200 Aspencade

Summary:

These bikes still deliver a great ride after all these years. Great motorcycle value!

Faults:

I will need new tires next summer.

I will get new seals for the shocks next spring.

I may need the front brake looked at, as it has a bit of an uneven spot in the disc when the front brake is applied hard.

General Comments:

I really like this bike, but my wife is in love with it. Honest, she was down in the garage polishing it on her own!

This bike was well taken care of. It looks and drives great.

I have been taking this to work every day 50 miles RT. (rain or shine) for about two months.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2006