2012 Honda GL1800S Gold Wing Reviews from United States of America

2012 Honda GL1800S Gold Wing

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4200 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki Intruder LC1500

Summary:

Fantabulous

Faults:

I have had no mechanical issues with the motorcycle.

I did hit a wild turkey doing 72 on cruise, and it broke the rear speaker cover.

General Comments:

I find this motorcycle the most comfortable for long rides. It does not handle good at slow speeds. It is very top heavy, and I need to be careful when stopped at stoplights, or it will go over on you standing still.

In May, I rode 688 miles one day, and was not fatigued.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2013

2012 Honda GL1800S Gold Wing

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2923 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki Boulevard C90T

Summary:

The best bike I have ever owed (my 6th bike)

Faults:

Nothing! I love this bike. I am getting used to handling a bike with this much weight, but otherwise I think it's an excellent bike.

General Comments:

The bike handles well, even with a passenger on board.

The seat could be a little more comfortable, but it's not bad enough to complain about.

I think the manufacturer should include "fog lights" with the bike, rather than causing me to purchase them as an add on later.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2013

2012 Honda GL1800S Gold Wing

Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance13500 miles

Summary:

Even with its large size, still the best I've ever ridden

Faults:

I have not had one thing go wrong with this bike!

General Comments:

I have 50 years of riding time on my butt. I am police trained on Harleys, and as such I would never put down anyone for riding a Harley ("they are fun to ride"), but when it comes to riding from state to state and not just bar to bar, there is no question which bike I will jump on.

My favorite thing about this Goldwing is my wife loves to go with me. We have a trip in 3 weeks to Johnson city to ride the Southern Dozen.

The cold weather capability of this bike is one of its greatest points, I wear summer gloves and a light jacket in the middle of winter, with all the heated grips and seats, and hot air off the radiator and the newly shaped fairing. It's just great. No battery tender for me. Not a week goes by that I'm not on that bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2013

2012 Honda GL1800S Gold Wing

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda GL1800S Gold Wing

Summary:

The Rolls Royce of motorcycles

Faults:

Tire pressure sensors went inoperative.

Right side exhaust cover separated from tail pipe.

General Comments:

Handles extremely well in corners.

Acceleration is good in all gears.

Brakes straight, meaning it does not pull to either side when braking hard. Excellent mileage; approximately 40 miles to the gallon one up. When pulling a trailer, mileage only drops to between 35 and 38 miles per gallon.

Controls are easily reachable with either hand.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2013

2012 Honda GL1800S Gold Wing

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4125 miles
Previous motorcycleBMW K 1200LT SE

Summary:

For long rides, it is the best all-around motorcycle I've ever ridden or owned

Faults:

Nothing wrong yet.

General Comments:

My only minor complaints are:

- It could use a bit more cornering ground clearance

- Gas mileage is not the best (but it runs well on mid-grade!)

- Vent is not adequate for cooling the rider in hot weather

Otherwise, this bike is very comfortable, has tons of low and mid-range punch, ample cargo room, a great stereo and other amenities. For long rides, it is the best ride I've ever owned.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2013

2012 Honda GL1800S Gold Wing

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda GL1500 SE Gold Wing

Summary:

Fantastic!

Faults:

Brake light sticking in the on position from the brake pedal.

General Comments:

Great overall motorcycle... A great, last bike...

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2013

2012 Honda GL1800S Gold Wing

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda GL1800S Gold Wing

Summary:

Overall a good handling, comfortable bike

Faults:

Front tire wore out with a little over 11,000.

The foot peg rubber keeps coming off.

Heated hand grips shorted out.

On delivery the heated seats and grips were not plugged in.

General Comments:

The bike was comfortable to drive and ride.

Gets good fuel mileage; an average of 33 MPG.

Has good power.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2013

2012 Honda GL1800S Gold Wing

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.9 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance300 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda VTX1300C

Summary:

Fabulous

Faults:

Nothing so far, love the low cost upkeep. Wish the next model years come out with Bluetooth connections to the head sets.

General Comments:

Comfort; it's like riding the living room couch down the road, handling is superb. Will definitely buy another...

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2012

Average review marks: 9.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews