Honda ST1300 Reviews from United States of America

2006 Honda ST1300

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2014
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired2600 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson Sportster XL 1200R

Summary:

Won me over from other brands I favored

Faults:

It keeps burning up tires, and they need to be replaced every 10K miles. Other than oil changes, tires are my biggest maintenance expense.

General Comments:

I've been riding motorcycles since 1973, and I was not immediately drawn to the ST1300. I thought it was ugly compared to the other sport tourers, but lurking in online forums, I found fewer complaints about the Honda versus other brands.

I bought a slightly used 2006 a bit reluctantly, but found something I've never had on any other bike. It took me a while to realize it, and when it finally dawned on me, I had a hard time believing it. What is it? I came to realize that when I'm riding the ST1300, I never think about which bike I'm going to buy next... other than another ST1300.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2014

2004 Honda ST1300

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2014
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance106263 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda ST1100

Summary:

Most reliable, best handling, great gas mileage bike ever

Faults:

Headlights burnt out in 2010.

Thermostat in 2012.

General Comments:

This has been the most reliable, most enjoyable, best handling motorcycle I've owned. I never put this many miles on anything before. It runs today as good as ever.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2014

23rd Apr 2014, 22:49

Purchased in 2004 new. Seasonal rider in the Seattle area. I continue to love the bike for power, comfort and reliability. Most of my riding is I-90 from Seattle to the Eastern Washington area, so I enjoy both the freeway (less traveled) and the countless farming roads that offer plenty of spirited opportunities with no worries of radar traps etc. I keep waiting for the next generation to come, but for now it still inspires me every spring through fall with new roads to explore. PS storage is great.

2004 Honda ST1300

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles

Summary:

It's been flawless, it's quick, fast, and very reliable, and I love riding it

Faults:

One of the headlights burnt out last year - 2008.

General Comments:

Comfy, quick, fast, reliable, still looking good.

Good MPG, I never put this many miles on any bike before.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2009

2004 Honda ST1300

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired42600 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda ST1100

Summary:

Awesome bike that would be near perfect if had a better seat and lost a little weight

Faults:

One of the low beam headlights burnt out in fall of 2008.

General Comments:

Very stable, fast, awesome gas mileage; an average of 48 mpg.

This is a sport touring bike, not a sport bike.

I replaced the air filter with a K&N, and replaced the exhaust with two brothers when it had 16k on the trip. Big improvement on power.

Still has the original battery, front tires wears out at 12-15 k, and the rear is around 9k.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2009

2004 Honda ST1300

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda VF750F Interceptor

Summary:

I'd purchase another in a heart beat

Faults:

I had the wiring harness pinched and cut after it was serviced, and had Helibars added.

General Comments:

I really love the ST1300's range.

I have not experienced the heat issue others have reported.

The bike handle so well at low speeds, it's hard to believe it weighs 630 lbs.

I find that the gauges can be hard to read when the sunlight is behind you, so thank God for analog tach and speedo.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2008

2006 Honda ST1300

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki 2006 Suzuki M109R

Summary:

Great handling, acceleration and brakes

Faults:

No, nada, nuthin.

General Comments:

Handles great, hangs surefooted in the twisties.

Great acceleration, hits triple digit speeds quick..

Brakes are excellent, the linked brakes just sit the bike down hard and smooth...

A mile muncher on the interstate... hard to keep it under 90...

A blast on twisties, loves to dive into curves and lunge out of them..

Adjustable windscreen is GREAT... can find a quiet spot no matter what the speed it is... body work keeps the rain off everything on you, except your boots..

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2008

2007 Honda ST1300

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Summary:

Great sport tourer, you will be in heaven if you like a toasty bum though..:)

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Positive:

Strong quick motor.

Some what decent fuel mpg in the low 40s.

Has a good ride seating position with risers for me.

The elec shield is what every bike should have.

Handles really well for being porky, first bike I actually feel comfortable scraping pegs on.

Engine is smooth, powerful and pleasant with Staintunes installed.

Negatives:

It's a heavy bike, but is manageable.

For me, it's tall... I am 5'5 I can barely flat-foot one foot with the other either hanging or on the right peg. With the seat in the lowest position, I find my legs to be cramped, with a peg lowering kit it is OK.

Sitting lower puts the gas tank pushing into some not-so-nice places on my body.

HEAT, HEAT, HEAT. The gas tank boils and gets so hot! The seat gets so uncomfortable, not so much because it sucks, but because the seat gets so hot it causes heat rashes when riding in warm weather for more than an hour.

I have wrapped the headers and have not had a chance to see if that helps.

I do find my right throttle hand getting numb and some very small vibration in the right handle bars.

Aside from that the bike could be the perfect bike. But I just can't get past the heat and I am possibly looking into selling her already. I just don't think one should spend so much money to dial a bike in after spending 13k to buy it..:)

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th August, 2008

7th Nov 2010, 01:31

I also own a ST1300. It's a 2006, and at first I thought I was the only person to have this problem, but there are people out there who do feel like you and me. BUT with the right riding gear and a firstlook gas tank cover, along with fairing deflectors, the problem is solved mostly.

Now to tell you about the high speed wobble these bikes have; you don't really notice it, but in certain wind conditions, the bike wobbles at higher speeds. Now not everybody says they've felt it, but a lot of people have, so the problem is there at times.

I'm not selling my bike, because I love it too much, so I just adjust to whatever problems come along, one at a time. This is a great bike.

8th Aug 2011, 14:20

Check your steering head bearings, they might be a little loose. This will cause a deceleration wobble at 45mph on most any bike, and stability issues at speed.

Average review marks: 8.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews