Honda VF750F Interceptor Reviews from United States of America - Page 2 of 2

1983 Honda VF750F Interceptor

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired19500 miles
Most recent distance32500 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda VT750C Shadow Aero

Summary:

A great, fun, reliable bike to own and ride

Faults:

When purchased, I had to replace the fork seals, so I added progressives springs/shocks for enhanced performance.

The seat was worn with one small tear.

The chain and sprockets have been replaced.

The tires front and back have been replaced.

Right now I'm experiencing minor electrical problems. I think it's a fuse problem.

The windscreen is a windscreen in name only as it screens minimal wind.

Brake pads are to be replaced next week.

General Comments:

Being 6' 2" tall, I may be too tall for this bike, so it is a little uncomfortable for long rides.

I love the "outdated" performance of the bike. I'm 59 years of age and I don't need a sport bike with tons of power.

This bike's reliability is fantastic. I bought it in 2004, rode it for two years, gave it to my son, who stored it outside for three years and he gave it back to me.

After being exposed to the elements (with a small cover) it sustained some minor wear and tear, but is solid as a rock even after all these years.

The bike is quick enough for a 59 year old person such as myself.

What a hoot to ride!!!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2009

9th Nov 2009, 14:32

Hello, I happen to own a 1984 Honda FV700F Interceptor that I purchased in 1985. The motorcycle was not prepped and it was stored for years at a friend's house. When the gas prices went up, I started using it again. Unfortunately, the diaphragms in the carbs went bad and had to be replaced. Once replaced, and with a new battery, the bike started right up and runs just as good as when I stored it 5 years before. I agree that these bikes were made to be very reliable.

1985 Honda VF750F Interceptor

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance36500 miles

Summary:

Once all the modifications and updating were completed, the bike is quite enjoyable to own and ride

Faults:

Real poorly engineered camshaft oiling system. Had to go to home made modifications to get it right.

The entire valve train design was a engineering disaster. HONDA was really asleep at the switch on this one. Honda got it right in 1986.

Ignition switch went bad @ 36,000 Miles. Had to buy after market as HONDA no longer stocks the switch.

Front and rear spring and damping rates are way too soft. I had to go to after market for the right parts.

General Comments:

Due to its age the bike is no ball of fire. However, it has still plenty of power and is quite comfortable to ride long distances. Will still keep up with newer bikes.

Overall a very fun bike and very well mannered; not spooky to drive like newer more powerful bikes.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2006

1997 Honda VF750F Interceptor

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6200 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki VZ800 Marauder

Summary:

Sweet ride!

Faults:

Nothing. Never had a problem.

General Comments:

The VFR750 engine sounds so sweet. The V4 is amazing. Handling is pretty good. Maybe a little heavy for around town, but great on the highway.

All in all, it's amazing that a motorcycle as technically advanced as this was available so inexpensively new, and available inexpensively 2nd hand.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2006

1983 Honda VF750F Interceptor

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance16500 miles

Summary:

Great all purpose motorcycle

Faults:

Minor electrical - turn signal wiring harness short, return spring and mount for the starter button broke, seat cover was worn on purchase.

Right side fork seal seeping.

General Comments:

This bike is faster than most people think. For a 910 lb bike that's 23 years old, it can still keep up with some of the newer bikes on the market.

Parts are a bit expensive, but you don't have to change them too often.

Its only true downfall is the lack of available torque below 6500 rpm.

Very comfortable ride if the suspension is set soft, and will handle well if the suspension is set hard.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2006

29th Oct 2008, 13:55

My 1983 Honda Interceptor VF750F is having the same turn signal problems. What did you do exactly to fix it? Was it hard to replace the harness?

24th Oct 2013, 13:27

910 lb bike. Not sure about that one.

1984 Honda VF750F Interceptor

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GN400

Summary:

Seriously a great bike

Faults:

The rear sprocket had some laid over teeth, probably due to the old chain, but other than that, absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

This bike was great, it got a lot of attention and sounds awesome.

Wasn't too bad as far as comfort, but anything over an hour was pushing it, yet nothing a 5 minute stop didn't fix.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2006

1983 Honda VF750F Interceptor

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha 250

Summary:

Great fast bike for short trips

Faults:

Seat had been replaced at some point before I purchased this bike.

Needs a tune up, at 24,000 miles.. not sure if it was ever done before or not.

General Comments:

This is a VERY VERY fast motorcycle. I have had it up to max speed on the speedo (150mph) plus. Not so comfortable for long distance riding, but very fun to ride. Sounds very good.

The handling leaves something to be desired compared to my 250 Yamaha I had previously, however it's probably due to the weight difference between a 250 Yamaha and a 750 Interceptor.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2005

10th Sep 2007, 21:18

It only weighs 485lbs, not 910lbs. Curb weight, wet, is 536lbs. 910lbs is the max weight of bike, cargo, and rider.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 9 reviews