Honda VTX1300S Reviews from United States of America - Page 2 of 2

2006 Honda VTX1300S

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson Panhead

Summary:

A great riding, great looking, all around great value

Faults:

Front end wobble on deceleration. This was corrected with better neck bearings.

General Comments:

This bike is great value.

It has a great look.

It has an excellent rider position.

It has plenty of power, I'm a large guy and ride two-up most of the time.

There is a large selection of after market parts and accessories.

It ranks right up with the Harley at half the price.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2008

2005 Honda VTX1300S

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson FXDX Super Glide Sport

Summary:

Best in its category!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I looked at and rode everything out there from Aprilia to Victory, and the Honda VTX series bike, especially the Retro models, had what I was looking for. Power, torque, looks, styling, comfort and reliability.

The aftermarket parts market is unlimited and not over priced as bad as HD.

The bike itself has been flawless. 46 MPG with a 1300.

Everywhere I go folks comment on how nice it looks and sounds, and I picked it up used with 1000 miles for about $5000 US.

Best bike I've owned, and I have owned a lot of them!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2008

2004 Honda VTX1300S

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB750

Summary:

Great bike overall

Faults:

Nothing has ever gone wrong.

General Comments:

Super comfortable (once I got rid of the stock seat).

Reliable.

Smooth running.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2008

2003 Honda VTX1300S

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.9 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles

Summary:

I love the look and sound of this bike

Faults:

I have had zero problems with this bike, other than the fact that I keep spending money customizing it.

I have it looking exactly the way I want it for this year, but next winter I will probably make some tin changes with paint, and then I'll be done until next year LOL.

General Comments:

The original seat was uncomfortable after riding a few hundred miles, but I have corrected that, and now it rides and handles like a dream.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2008

2006 Honda VTX1300S

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance7100 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS650GL

Summary:

Outstanding value; compares favorably with Harley Road King for much less than half the price

Faults:

Nothing is lacking in the motorcycle.

General Comments:

This motorcycle boasts a low center of gravity, so it is very stable.

The engine pulls smoothly through the power curve, making for confidence-inspiring acceleration.

The handling is predictable.

The bike is forgiving of operator mistakes, though no rider should be complacent about safety.

This motorcycle accepts many popular modifications, including but not limited to throttle locks, special grips, clocks, saddlebags, electronic cruise control, security systems, backrests, engine guards, and windshields.

Dealer support is so-so.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2008

2005 Honda VTX1300S

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11400 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha XV700

Summary:

This is a very enjoyable ride, and a lot of fun

Faults:

It came with an annoying front end wobble at low speed.

The stock tires were lousy and wore out quickly.

The speedometer developed a rattle at about 600 miles.

The Chrome on the Engine covers bubbled by 3000 miles.

General Comments:

This motorcycle is very reliable, and the problems are cosmetic or minor and easily fixed.

There is a vast array of after market parts available from many manufacturers.

The riding position and comfort is greatly improved with four inch handlebar risers and a after market seat.

Progressive springs eliminated the front end dive that it had with the stock fork springs.

The price is right and it is great value.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2008

2005 Honda VTX1300S

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB350

Summary:

The VTX 1300 is a reliable, stylish, and powerful bike

Faults:

The starter switch stopped working after 3500 miles. I took it apart, cleaned it, and I have had no further problems with it.

My turn signals stopped working after 12000 miles. I have tried several fixes, but nothing has worked yet. Dealer contact will be required.

General Comments:

This motorcycle has been a real joy. It starts reliably, has great acceleration, and draws comments from other riders.

The retro look is very stylish. The bike is well-balanced and handles extremely well at both highway and city speeds.

The fact that the bike is carburated allows me the opportunity to tune my own bike. Many modifications are available for the VTX 1300.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2008

2005 Honda VTX1300S

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 5 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 3 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.9 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles

Summary:

Yeah, it's OK

Faults:

Not a thing.

General Comments:

Great bike overall. The stock seat leaves much to be desired, but easily remedied.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2008

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 10 reviews