2005 Honda VTX1800 Reviews from United States of America

2005 Honda VTX1800

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2011
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

This is truly a beast, with power on demand. It's not for the faint of heart. It's a lot of bike. Well worth every penny.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2011

2005 Honda VTX1800

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2011
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 5 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson Sportster XLH 883

Summary:

Great bang for the buck, love this bike!

Faults:

Start switch corroded, had to clean contacts.

Shifter (heel/toe) started sticking. I had ridden a lot in the rain, so I disassembled & applied marine grease to the pivot points.

Right fork seal just started leaking. Drips down on my brake rotor, which transfers to the pads. Also drips on the wheel, which slings it everywhere if I forget to wipe it down first. Will replace fork springs, seals, & pads in a week or so. Time for all the pads anyway.

General Comments:

I was shopping for a new Harley & test drove the VTX. I remember saying "Oh my God, I gotta have this thing! 26K miles later, no regrets.

Took a 2.5K mile trip with no issues, except for that beautiful but evil stock seat. Replaced with a Mustang before next long trip. Worth every penny, shoulda done it sooner.

Handling is OK for a big bike, but I'll change the front fork springs when I tackle the fork seals.

After adding a Memphis Fats shield & lowers & bags, this is a great touring machine. Extremely comfy with the add-ons. Also added floorboards for the wife.

Did I mention it runs like Secretariat on NOS?

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2011

2005 Honda VTX1800

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2011
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki ZL900 Eliminator

Summary:

Great highway bike, a bit heavy around town

Faults:

The stock exhaust cracked at the weld of the muffler, but I had already ordered a Sideburner 2-into-1 anyway. Otherwise, no problems.

General Comments:

I've replaced the seat as it was dreadfully uncomfortable.

I've ridden it from Houston to Las Vegas at fairly high speeds. Fuel economy could be better, but I have a heavy throttle hand, so it's probably my fault!

Plenty of throttle! Best brakes I've ever ridden.

Driveline flex from the shaft drive and abrupt throttle response took a long time to get used to. I hardly notice now, I am a lot smoother at it than I used to be.

Could have used a sixth gear, but again, I ride the hell out of it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2011

17th Apr 2011, 06:19

Don't let ANYBODY tell you that the VTX1300 has the same engine performance than the VTX1800! They are telling you a lie and it's not true! Yes, the VTX1300 and VTX1800 uses the exact same frame, but NOT the same engine! It's a BIG night and day difference in engine power!

2005 Honda VTX1800

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles

Summary:

A great ride, once you get the niggling problems taken care of

Faults:

Flange bearing on rear tire.

Seat does not last comfort wise. Foam was breaking down after 2 years.

General Comments:

A very strong bike, with great balance for an 800 lb behemoth. Accelerates very well.

There are so many little things Honda could have done, like sealed bearings for the pivot points, and better seats, that one wonders what they were thinking? There is the rear flange bearing issue; the lack of good oil flow to the clutch; the weak clutch bolts (grade 5 steel, instead of 8... a cheap fix for an owner, but why would Honda do that from the start?). But once one gets the things done it needs, this is one awesome ride.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2010

2005 Honda VTX1800

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1100 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles

Summary:

Fantastic!

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

I was 64 years old when I purchased the 1800. I test drove it one block and just had to have it. Handling, torque, and power is what it is all about.

Due to health conditions, sadly, I had to sell mine.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2010

2005 Honda VTX1800

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.9 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5234 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda VTX1300C

Summary:

Freaking awesome

Faults:

Coolant leak between cylinders.

General Comments:

You don't realize just how fast this bike is until you pull away from another bike on the freeway.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2008

2005 Honda VTX1800

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda Shadow Sabre 1100

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Nothing wrong.

General Comments:

Plenty of power.

Great handling.

Looks sharp.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2007

17th Mar 2008, 20:03

I own an 05 1800 X and the bike is great. It has a great aftermarket and plenty of power, until you hammer it in 2nd gear and the head gasket blows. What's up with that Honda?

Thank god for warranties!

Average review marks: 8.8 / 10, based on 7 reviews