Honda VTX1800C Reviews from United States of America

2002 Honda VTX1800C

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.1 / 10
Distance when acquired19700 miles
Most recent distance26500 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson XLCH Sportster

Summary:

Best I've ever owned

Faults:

Occasional oil seep from rear head gasket.

Stock seat uncomfortable.

General Comments:

Bought the bike with hypercharger, aftermarket pipes, power commander, and the owner said it was dyno-ed. It is seriously fast.

First bike in 19 years, and while a little top heavy, it handles great when moving.

Hold on when you twist the throttle, especially when you kick it down to 4th gear at 65mph.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2010

2006 Honda VTX1800C

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5250 miles

Summary:

It's a beast and then some

Faults:

Nothing, the bike is perfect, except front tire wore out at 4000 miles.

General Comments:

Motorcycle is a beast. A little too quiet for Daytona Bike week. Installed Vance & Hines pipes and now it's louder than a Harley. SWEET!!!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2009

2007 Honda VTX1800C

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance1015 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha 1300 VStar Tourer

Summary:

Sets the standards for looks, power, braking, and noise control for keeping peace with the neighbors

Faults:

Nothing!

General Comments:

Looks awesome and rides even better!

More power than imagined, even after hearing it was loaded.

Added some chrome, and it's a show on the go.

Looking forward to a longer ride (only 200 mile rides so far for distance without complaint).

Only modification I might consider is shocks if my wife comments after reading others' comments. No complaints as a rider; it handles great.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2009

2006 Honda VTX1800C

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance700 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki Kawasaki KZ500

Summary:

OUT flipping STANDING

Faults:

I have only one complaint with the bike right now; The rock screen over the radiator rattles so bad it buries the sound of the bike and that great engine. The heat shields are making more than their share of racket as well.

The stock seat gets downright uncomfortable on a long ride.

General Comments:

I love it. IT really is a GREAT CRUISER.

The moment you sit on it in the shop you feel the comfort in your seat position and the great balance.

Smooth very powerful acceleration. At 70 it's smooth.

And yet there is plenty more horses to let out.

This is not a very nimble bike, but you don't buy this bike for its cornering.

Cruising down country roads and pressing into a nice curve is right where you get to feel this bike at its best.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2009

2006 Honda VTX1800C

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.9 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance4553 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson Sportster XL 1200R

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Ground wire vibrated loose.

Seat uncomfortable, switched to Mustang.

General Comments:

Loads of power, sporty, rush to ride.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2008

2006 Honda VTX1800C

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda Shadow Sabre VT1100

Summary:

I can't get enough quality time with this bike, it's an obsession now!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this model, hell, nothing went wrong with my VT1100 Sabre either!

General Comments:

My dream bike.

Handles better than the previous bike.

Smoother throttle response.

Better braking for its weight.

Looks low, mean and clean.

Lines are smooth and sexy, like a hot chick laying on her side... nice. Way Nice!

I have nothing negative to put about this bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2008

2003 Honda VTX1800C

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance3200 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda 1100 Shadow Spirit

Summary:

Heaven on 2-wheels

Faults:

Not crazy about the brake pads... they probably just need a little adjusting. But the dealer tells me that brake pads are known for rubbing somewhat on the disk.

The stock seat was not comfortable on long rides.

General Comments:

I rode an 1100 Shadow Spirit previously, but after I rode the VTX1800C, it felt like a minibike. I live in DC and bought it in Chicago and rode it home.

The stock seat was marginally comfortable and I've since replaced it with a Corbin, but the overall ride was magnificent.

Gas mileage was OK. It's gotten better since running 98.

I love this bike. I'll never own a small bike again.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2008

15th Aug 2009, 15:24

I too went from an 1100 spirit to the 1800C. Went from a great bike to an outstanding bike.

Average review marks: 9.1 / 10, based on 7 reviews