Suzuki GS750L Reviews from United States of America

1979 Suzuki GS750L

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1997
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB550 Four

Summary:

Can count on it when cars have to go to the shop

Faults:

Tachometer shows 3-4000 rpm when running at any speed.

Electrical system seems weak with halogen headlight and 4 extra lights on tailbag.

General Comments:

Turn it on and go!!

Heavy, thirsty, reliable, triple disc brakes+,

points :-(

Ride all day without tiring.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2010

1980 Suzuki GS750L

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired9500 miles
Most recent distance10600 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha Radian 650

Summary:

Very good classic bike!

Faults:

I've had the bike for only a month, but this motorcycle is a real head turner. I've had zero problems with this classic, and it runs and starts like it's new.

General Comments:

A smooth ride for its age. Has the retro Vetter smaller aerodynamic fairing on it, and it sets the bike off completely.

Accelerates nice and really great off the line. Handles smoothly, and I believe I've found a very nice classic bike.

I would recommend this bike to any vintage motorcycle enthusiast. The Suzuki GS L is a winner!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2010

1981 Suzuki GS750L

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Most recent distance12000 miles

General Comments:

I have owned my 1981 Suzuki GS750L for a few years now. Just got my motorcycle license about 2 years ago, so the bike sat in the garage for quite a while, and when I got my license, I brought it to a mechanic who went through the carburetor for me.

Gear ratios seem to be really low; already shifting into 5th gear at about 35mph. So when you are cruising down the road at 55mph+, it seems to be cranking pretty hard.

I have tested it many times, and the bike only seems to get barely over 30mpg. What do other people get for mileage on theirs? Is there something wrong with mine that is causing it to get bad gas mileage? Planning on selling the bike to get something with better gas mileage if I cant find anyway to solve it drastically.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2008

22nd Feb 2010, 08:16

I have owned my GS 750LX since 1981, and it still looks and runs like new. I only get 35-45 mpg, but it runs real strong. I have a K&N air filter on it, and everything else is stock.

I will replace the shock seals (damaged from wheelies years ago), and have flushed the brake lines and put new pads on just last year.

I have a new seat cover being made and installed as we speak by Saddlemen seats. I could send pictures if requested, bike looks new.

I also changed the front sprocket to one tooth smaller years ago to get more rpm's, but have since put the stock one back on.

I also installed a Barnett clutch in 1983, still going strong.

The charging problem is a Stator, you can buy aftermarket ones with better wiring to prevent this from failing again, I figured this out after my second one failed.

Good luck, love this bike.

1980 Suzuki GS750L

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1980
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles

Summary:

Greatness embodied in steel

Faults:

I had electrical problems almost immediately. The battery would discharge while running, and the recharging mechanism didn't work correctly. I don't know specifics, but I had one part (generator?) replaced after a year, but the problems continued over the life of the bike. I suspect it may have been a complication of bad wiring to the the add-on fairing right after purchase. I went through a new battery nearly every year, and push-started the bike more often than not.

General Comments:

I loved this bike more than my own mother! It rode great, looked awesome and sounded baaaaaaaaaad!

It was a screamer off the line, and cruised comfortably and smoothly.

Except for the electrical problems, it was perfect.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th May, 2007

1980 Suzuki GS750L

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance14600 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS750L

Summary:

Rock solid bike and for the money it's a winner

Faults:

2 years of riding with no problems.

General Comments:

I had a 1979 GS750L, the same bike, but in performance the 79 was so much faster from A-Z.

Seat is like a board or firm, not enough give.

Fun bike for around town & 20-30 mile runs.

The 79 I had 20 years ago was my only bike I rode. This one I use as a spare & a loaner. At $650.00 I can't go wrong.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2005

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 5 reviews