Suzuki VZ800 Marauder Reviews from United States of America

1997 Suzuki VZ800 Marauder

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance37500 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS550E

Summary:

I must love it to spend that kind of money to fix it

Faults:

Gearing was wrong: replaced front and back sprockets:

Chain wear seemed excessive: a chain per year.

Safety switch on the kickstand was an issue from the beginning.

General Comments:

Have driven this bike everywhere. From Michigan to Florida twice, and Kentucky and Tennessee. It isn't a comfortable bike for long hauls, but is VERY reliable.

It is WAY too expensive to do serious motor work. I seized the motor, and have spent $3,000 to rebuild it.

For mechanics it is an odd motor. 38mm crank and having to match hone the case bearings.

BUT, I couldn't have found a better quality and looking bike for the price to repair it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2012

2003 Suzuki VZ800 Marauder

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Distance when acquired11500 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki VZ800 Marauder

Summary:

Good handling bike if you have good tires and make sure the neck bolt is tight below the handle bars

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with it yet... been a good bike. I have 2 Honda's in the garage.. older bikes, but are good ones.

General Comments:

This Suzuki Marauder is a cool bike, I like it a lot, & have gotten a lot of positive comments on the looks and sound...

The only complaint I have is at higher RPMs near (65 mph), the motor seems to over work! And over rev.. due to the poor design of the gearing by Suzuki. So I guess I am going to change the front sprocket & rear sprocket... Also change to a high dollar chain.. o-ring. I am going up to a 16 tooth on the front, & down to a 47 tooth on the rear to see my results on the top end.. I hope this fixes my problem..?!!!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd August, 2011

2nd Sep 2011, 14:49

Just curious if the sprocket changes fixed the high rev/over-rev problem you've described?

27th Jul 2013, 04:22

Hello! How does it work with the 16 tooth sprocket on the front and 47 on the rear?

19th Mar 2014, 23:34

Hi, I'm interested in how your sprocket change went? You stated you were going to change the front to 16 & the rear to 47. How did this work? OK or NOT at 60mph / 100km/h?

2009 Suzuki VZ800 Marauder

Year of manufacture2009
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance4300 miles
Previous motorcycleDerbi 250

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Aside from the seat and the small capacity of the gas tank, it is the perfect bike as far as I'm concerned. Will try the 1600 next.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2009

2001 Suzuki VZ800 Marauder

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance16400 miles
Previous motorcycleTriumph 1200 Sportster Custom

Summary:

A unique looking ride that comes alive with a few aftermarket changes

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Bought for my wife. Handsome bike. Possibly a bit too much chrome, but it does offset the blue color well.

Bike has some excellent aftermarket mods; Vance & Hines pipes, rejet of carbs, head polish and aftermarket air cleaner and a Corbin seat.

I do have to say that this bike is not blinding fast, but will run with my '06 1200 sporty and actually pulls harder in the higher rpms. Performance really surprised some of my HD faithful buddies. It is a unique looking, quick ride. Very low maintenance.

I like riding it to work better than my sporty. More agile in traffic, and the Corbin seat is mucho comforto, even on longer rides. Heck, thinking of offing the sporty to buy a new M 50. Suzuki is on to something here.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2008

2001 Suzuki VZ800 Marauder

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GZ250

Summary:

A true joy to own and ride

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A fun and easy bike to ride.

The stock seat needs to be replaced with an after market or Suzuki gel seat if it can still be found for long rides.

I have owned this bike for seven years now, and it is solid as a rock to this day. My wife and I ride this bike around 2000 miles every year, and we have had some great times with it.

In seven years of ownership I have had no issues with it, start it and ride. The only maintenance that has been performed is routine oil, tires, chain lube, and batteries.

This bike only weighs 450 pounds dry, so power to weight is very good. The light weight and low seat makes handling good and easy on beginning riders.

I would change the front sprocket from the stock 15 tooth to a 16 or 17 tooth. You can do this for cheap, and still retain the stock chain and back sprocket. The results on the road is a small loss of starting power, but the 805cc mill is far less busy at 65 to 75 miles per hour.

Bottom line, I may own another bike, but I will keep this bike until me or it dies.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2008

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 7 reviews