Yamaha Maxim 750 Reviews from United States of America

1982 Yamaha Maxim 750

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Most recent distance24500 miles

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

The bike has been service free and very reliable.

General Comments:

I wanted to get get back into riding after a long hiatus from the pleasures of riding a bike. I had some reservations about a 31 year old bike, but I I felt more comfortable with a bike from this era.

I saw the bike, liked the appearance, and was impressed with the horsepower, given its size, (750).

The bike started right up, handles very well, and will never annoy anyone with the noise level it exhibits.

The bike is almost stealth like with its power and low noise level.

While cruising it is very comfortable and responsive.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2012

10th Aug 2012, 20:42

I recently became the proud owner of the Yamaha XJ-750 Maxim. It is without a doubt one of the "old school" muscle bike cruisers of its era! It's more track proven stealthier warriors, the "Seca's", are a little bit more (how does one put it)... a little more radical in terms of speed, looks, and overall comfort.. The Maxim's and Seca's are tried and true "cousins", certainly not to be mistaken for each other! Both are very fun to ride, but I feel that now that I'm 50 years old, I don't need to be bringing up the front end of my Maxim like I did back in my earlier youth with a few of my Seca's! LOL!

And it's a shame to note that although Yamaha did a super job in the R/D aspect of both of these model lines, they didn't sell well... don't know why... seemed everybody wanted a V-Max, when they debuted back in the early eighties. I mean c'mon... V-4 POWER generated by sheer awesomeness that put Yamaha in the spotlight over such gems as the Kawasaki KZ-900, the Honda CB-900/1100 F models, and all of the Suzuki GS models, 750, 850, and 1000 bikes!

But back to our original "mid-weight" cruiser... this nimble little 750, for all of its good looks and power, is still the way to turn heads... and believe me, I have with this gem of a motorcycle. And as Yamaha once stated in their advertisement of the Maxim's... It was still the best way to "shorten a city block"... LOL!. Enjoy my friends, enjoy the wind!

As ever, Mikey :)

1982 Yamaha Maxim 750

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS750L

Summary:

Absolutely indestructible

Faults:

After nearly 100,000 miles, the nylon gears in the speedometer have worn out. Where the heck can I find replacements?

General Comments:

I bought this bike used 7 years ago with 18,000 miles. It now has over 98,000, and is running great!

Everything except the usual tires and brakes are stock.

I had to replace the alternator brushes just a couple months ago too.

No engine breakdowns and very little slippage on the stock clutch.

This bike is absolutely bullet proof! 30 years old and still holding up to my Iron Butt ride abuse. Amazing!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2012

1982 Yamaha Maxim 750

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles

Summary:

Awesome, comfortable, economical, reliable daily driver!

Faults:

Tank interior rusted and developed pinholes by 1990, replaced with aftermarket tank. (More as a result of NOT being ridden and being stored in a shed in hot humid Florida).

Neck bearing replaced at 29K (a result again of being stored for many years, not used, then put into use and having to travel over dirt, washboard roads.)

Fork seals replaced at 32K. (See above reasons)

Front brakes intermittently would lock up, which again turned out to be related to its years of storage (master cylinder cleaned, return orifice cleaned - problem solved).

Fuel petcock leaking at 33000.

General Comments:

Bike originally purchased by my Dad in '82, I inherited it when he passed on. Dad took it for a trip from Florida to Canada and back in '85, and drove it intermittently until his disability prevented him from riding. The bike was parked in a shed with 19000 miles on it, then pretty much forgotten. At one point it sat outside for a few weeks, for sale. Then back into storage. Dad passed away in '06 and I got the bike and put it back in service.

Had the carbs cleaned and reset, bought a new battery, changed the oil, put a new rear tire on it and have been driving it every day since! It's a great bike, smooth riding, responsive. Big enough to feel comfortable on the highway, yet nimble enough to handle well in town.

Tone of exhaust is mellow, not so loud your thoughts get drowned, or that you cannot hear surrounding traffic. But not so quiet that surrounding traffic cannot hear you.

Lights are large and conspicuous.

Adjustable handlebars allow the rider to fine tune the reach and throw to make a very comfortable driving experience.

The gauge panel and cluster are very modern, with an LCD read out that checks all systems of the bike - headlight, tail light, oil, fuel, side stand.

The bike has a switch on the side stand that prevents forward movement if the side stand is still down when put into gear; the bike will shut off.

All in all, it was a very advanced bike for 1982, and still seems to be a VERY reliable transport!

I get about 40 mpg with it.

I wish they still made these style of bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2009

20th May 2009, 21:47

Do you know what the fuel tank capacity for this bike is?

7th Oct 2009, 18:17

If I remember correctly (mine has been parked for about 6 years), fuel tank capacity is about 4.5-5 US Gallons.

17th Nov 2010, 19:57

I used to own a 1982 Yamaha 750 Maxim. It was an awesome bike, fast, comfortable to ride and looked great.

I wish they still made this style of bike too!

13th May 2012, 10:55

Great review of the bike by the way. I have owned a 650, and currently a 750, I have the same issues with the gas tank as well. And have been searching high and low for an aftermarket tank. Was there a website or dealer you could recommend?

14th Apr 2013, 15:17

Its tank has a capacity of 13 litres. Exactly. Just bought a 750 Maxim in bad condition. Wanna build it up again.

Greetings from Germany!

Joerg

1st Jun 2013, 15:35

Tanks now can have a bladder put in them. Just mud up the outside for cosmetics and just bladder the inside.

1982 Yamaha Maxim 750

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance41500 miles

Summary:

A lot of bang for the buck!

Faults:

I had a ignition box go out at 38,000 miles. Cheap fix.

Other than that, I've only had to replace wearable parts; tires, oil/filters, fluids etc...

General Comments:

I have enjoyed every mile I've put on this thing. It's reliable, handles well, performs well, love it!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2008

1982 Yamaha Maxim 750

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Previous motorcycleHonda CL350 Scrambler

Faults:

Actually nothing wrong with the bike yet. Just purchased (for a case of beer) a 1982 Yamaha 750 Maxim.

Removed the tank, put fuel into the carbs, new battery and she starts right up. Will change oil, filters, and brake pads this weekend.

Any ideas on other items to replace before I hits the road?

Ran smooth and easy, has 7,500 original miles and was garaged from 82 till 06, when it was moved to the driveway. New seat will be required.

General Comments:

I am having trouble finding info on the 750. Seems a lot of talk about the 650 Maxim, but little on the 750 Maxim? Any reasons??

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th April, 2008

12th Apr 2008, 23:29

I just got an Maxim XJ650J and checked the brake fluid all the way to the caliber. The condition was such that I would recommend any old bike buyer to check the brake fluid and change it even if it looks good. Mine looked like burned transmission fluid with solids in it. I got to spend some time to clean out all the deposits and gum from the piston and caliber itself. If not cleaned, it will start seizing the piston and dragging the brakes, and lead to replacement of the caliber.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 5 reviews