Yamaha Road Star Silverado Reviews from United States of America

2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Previous motorcycleYamaha Road Star Silverado

Faults:

22000 miles, drive pulley and middle shaft both stripped. The pulley only fit less than halfway onto the shaft. I had to replace the middle shaft and pulley. YAMAHA installed a 2005 middle shaft in my bike. YAMAHA SAYS THEY NEVER HAD THAT PROBLEM - NOT TRUE.

Also the engine makes a knocking noise; it drives me crazy.

YAMAHA CO. SUCKS.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th June, 2012

8th Jul 2012, 17:31

I ride in a club where quite a few members ride the bike you have, and would have to agree with Yamaha. These riders have never had a drive train problem, and 2 of the riders are topping 100,000kms. I would say you had a faulty part to start with, or it was incorrectly installed.

2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11300 miles
Most recent distance11500 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda VT1100C2 Shadow ACE

Summary:

So far not impressed

Faults:

Cold nature to start and throttle response is terrible.

General Comments:

This scooter feels heavy to handle, and with the factory handle bars, very uncomfortable, I'm hoping that after replacing with swept back riser drag bars, it gets better.

The throttle response is poor. I was told after I jet the carburetor and replace the factory exhaust, it will change drastically. So far, I have to say I'm not impressed.

After buying new bars, jet kit and exhaust and labor, I'll have been better off buying something else, in short, factory equipment not good, after market necessities expensive.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2011

2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance15500 miles
Previous motorcycleKTM 450 SX

Summary:

A great cruising tourer for the budget minded

Faults:

Replaced the rear tire at 13,000 miles, installed a Metzler 880, great traction. The stock seat would give you monkey butt at 200 miles, got the Ultimate seat and have gone over 550 miles a day, no problem.

General Comments:

A great cruiser at 1700cc for around town or as a long haul traveler with tremendous torque for the hills. The ride is plush and seating is perfect for my size at 5'9", although the stock seat gets ugly at 200 miles, you'll replace it with many aftermarket seats like Mustang or Ultimate with backrests.

The bars are swept back to a nice seating position, very comfortable for long distance rides. I actually rotated them down a little to bring them back to a more comfortable seating position.

The stock Silverado bags are small in volume, so you'll need to purchase larger aftermarket bags to store more supplies and/or add a trunk for extra storage.

I've added a new fairing with GPS/radio/iPod, Isogrips by Kuryakyn and they're awesome, engine guard with highway pegs, floorboard covers and Ultimate seat with rider backrest.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2009

2007 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 1 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9800 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda VT1100C2 Shadow ACE

Summary:

Want to sell it, will never buy another Yamaha product

Faults:

At under 1000 miles the motorcycle developed extremely loud metal to metal noise, more. This makes the motorcycle very uncomfortable due to unrelenting excessive noise (and no mods to the exhaust).

At under 1000 miles the motorcycle developed extreme vibration at all RPM and all speeds including idle. This makes the motorcycle extremely uncomfortable to ride for even short distances of say over 10 miles.

General Comments:

Manufacturer's apparent position is that the motorcycle is naturally noisy, and if dealer can't 'fix' a problem it's not the manufacturers concern.

Apparent position is 'drive it till it breaks, then we'll see if the warranty applies'.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th June, 2009

4th Jan 2010, 23:33

You probably got what's known as a "knocker". A lot of these bikes making knocking noises. Mine sounded like a rod knock. Putting some synthetic oil in quieted it down quite a bit.

4th Apr 2010, 07:23

I have an 06 Road Star 1700cc Silverado midnight. I also have an ultra Harley. My 1700cc Yamaha performs and sounds similar to the Harley, so if the noise does not resolve with the synthetic oil (I use synthetic oil), get a lawyer and go after them. My Yamaha 1700 is a smooth easy ride and very comfortable. Something is wrong; you could go to another city with a reputable dealer; get them to help and back charge the dealer you purchased the bike from. Small claims court would handle that kind of charge.

19th Nov 2011, 11:54

I agree with comment about the noisy motor, but the dealer also told me it was normal. Got used to it. The bike drives fine. Above 60000 kms now. The bike still looks new.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 13 reviews