2007 Yamaha V-Star 650 Custom Reviews from United States of America

2007 Yamaha V-Star 650 Custom

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson Sportster XL 1200R

Summary:

Time to switch to another brand!

Faults:

Engine light keeps coming on. Not all the time, but when it does, it feels like it is running on one cylinder. Had it to two dealerships, and they do not know what is wrong. Going back to an American made bike.

General Comments:

Like the looks, and when it was new, the bike responded well on long trip to NC.

Now the problem with the engine light; the bike has been serviced on the schedule provided in the owner's manual.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th August, 2010

2007 Yamaha V-Star 650 Custom

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance300 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda Hawk

Summary:

Great bike for price. Looks very classic

General Comments:

Pros. Great look. Great for cruising.

Cons: A little under powered. Seat could be more comfortable.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2008

2007 Yamaha V-Star 650 Custom

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles

Summary:

This is a great starter bike; for cost, comfort and handling, maybe the only cruiser you'll need

Faults:

My odometer cable disconnected shortly after my first scheduled maintenance was performed by my selling dealer, which was repaired by them at no charge.

General Comments:

This was my first bike, and not knowing much about them, luckily, a friend was very helpful in my final choice.

I'm 58 years old, and this was a great choice for me as a starter bike, not something I felt I would grow out of right away, after getting some experience.

Aside from the odometer problem mentioned, I've not experienced any others. I feel most readers will see I've really gotten to enjoy the freedom and exhilarating feeling the rider gets as a bike enthusiast. The vast majority of my riding has been on rural routes wherever possible, cruising at speeds of 30 to 45mph. I just got back from my longest trip ever, Boston to Saratoga Springs, NY which I traveled via highways. The biggest problem with the 650 is seat comfort, many rest-stops are needed, having to stop every 30 to 50 miles for 15 to 20 minutes. Also, would be great if it had a sixth gear, though I was able to cruise at 65mph (posted speed), and accelerate to 75mph if passing, the bike tends to sound "whiny".

At this time I feel as if I might trade up for 800-1200cc, but the additional bike weight(s) is stopping me.

I'm quite comfortable handling the 550 pounds (approx) of the 650 V-Star.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th August, 2008

14th Apr 2010, 08:12

What did you do to make the seat more comfortable? I am having the same problem.

7th Oct 2011, 16:27

Replace it with a Mustang Vintage seat. That should solve your problems.

2007 Yamaha V-Star 650 Custom

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance200 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda VT500

Summary:

Great

General Comments:

Good value for the money spent.

Seat comfort is only good for about 75 miles.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2008

2007 Yamaha V-Star 650 Custom

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance3400 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha XS400 Special

General Comments:

I have owned this bike for about 7 months now, and never had a problem with it. I also have been riding it in below 30 degree weather, and never had a problem starting or stalling.

I think this bike has enough power for any beginner rider. I've had my bike up to about 91-93 mph, but that's pushing it.

Seems to be a great bike that will be reliable for many years.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2008

2007 Yamaha V-Star 650 Custom

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance85 miles

Summary:

Great beginner bike; just enough thrill

Faults:

Stalling in first gear from a start.

General Comments:

To be honest, the stalling problem is my fault. Being a 1st time rider, I have to take time to get the feel of the clutch. Driving a truck for a living I should know this. Each clutch has a different feel to it. Anyway, after solving my "brain problem" I realized that you have to really ease the clutch out for a smooth start.

That being said, I love this bike. Shifting is smooth and acceleration is great. Enough torque for the thrill factor, but not too much to get you in trouble.

I've read reviews that complain "Bike doesn't want to go above 60mph. I can understand this if you are a experienced rider, but for the beginner you shouldn't go that much above 65 anyway. By the way I had mine up to 70 on the highway with no problems.

One problem I have is the discomfort on long rides. I am a big guy 220lbs so a gel seat will fix that. All in all I feel this is the perfect bike for the beginner like me. Will I trade for a bigger one? Of course, but not until I have the mileage under my belt to justify it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2007

13th Aug 2008, 10:35

The comment was helpful, but one odd remark I have to point out.

I have a 2007 Virago, am a 165 pounder.

I can run as fast as 90 mph on this depending on wind direction & normally 85 mph no problem.

Virago maybe called V-Star 250 since it has a 250cc engine.

Can't understand how a V-Star 650 can barely go over 65mph no matter how heavy you are.

John Park, Fremont, CA.

12th Apr 2009, 09:06

You are correct sir. The 650 does go over 65 with no problem. As stated earlier when I first wrote the review I was a beginning rider. Now with 10,000 mile under my belt I can amend the first review. At around 7000 miles I discovered the "power band". having found that it reaches 65 and over with NO PROBLEM!

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 10 reviews