Yamaha V-Star Silverado Reviews from United States of America

2005 Yamaha V-Star Silverado

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2012
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance48650 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda VT750C Shadow Aero

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Amazing machine. Cannot believe how many miles I have put on this bike. Never had any major problems.

The only thing I had to replace was an O-ring around the oil filter, which I picked up at a local part store for a dollar.

This bike sits low, which makes it very comfortable around curves. Wouldn't recommend it for very long rides.

The seat is rock hard. I would definitely recommend this bike to any number of my friends.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2012

2005 Yamaha V-Star Silverado

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4200 miles
Most recent distance8200 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson Sportster XL 1200R

Summary:

Not bad for the money

Faults:

The starter clutch seems to be and issue for this model. Yamaha makes a revised gear, which you must buy! 480 bucks! Should be a recall item.

General Comments:

Overall, the bike runs and rides great. Very comfortable on long rides.

Fuel economy could be better, 40-45mpg. My H-D always got 52mpg.

The oil filter is a real pain to change. Buy the external kit. More money, but well worth it.

Change the factory seat.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2011

2007 Yamaha V-Star Silverado

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.1 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5400 miles

Summary:

Comfortable and nice

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

I've had my V Star 650 Silverado 2007 for four years, and still do not feel I have to purchase a larger bike. I am able to go 85 mph with a passenger, and see no reason why I would need to go any faster... especially on a cruiser. I guess if I was trying to outrun the police, and since I have no plans on doing so, it is great to have a bike with a larger look, but better gas mileage. I also have gone on trips longer the 500 miles, and it performed well.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2011

2007 Yamaha V-Star Silverado

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

All V-Star owners should read their owners manual to realize that "unleaded gasoline" is the preferred fuel, not 10% ethanol. Probably 99% of all motorized vehicles are fuel injected and will run on 10% ethanol fuel; anything with a carburetor - motorcycles (all), chainsaws, lawnmowers, etc. should use non-oxygenated fuel (not 10% ethanol unless with stabilizers) only! Fuel sits in carburetor bowls and gums in a very short time.

10% ethanol fuel has been around since the 80's (?), so motorcycles back before then never had this issue. Motorcycles have run beautifully for 100 years with carbs until 10% ethanol fuel came around, and they and your V-Star will also run great if you avoid running it - or get a fuel injected bike, just like the cars.

I have more than 11000 flawless miles on my V-Star, running it exclusively on unleaded non-oxygenated fuel, 10% ethanol fuel only when filling up on the road and getting stabilizers into it ASAP.

If your carbs are already gummed, get them squared away and stay away from 10% ethanol at all costs, and your bike should run trouble-free. Get smarter with the fuel you run and start to enjoy your motorcycle!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th April, 2010

2007 Yamaha V-Star Silverado

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson XLH 1200S

Summary:

Great bike for the price, you can't go wrong

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the bike; one thing you have to keep in mind is: stick to the scheduled maintenance. I have seen the results of skipping valve adjustments and carb synch, nothing really bad, just poor performance and not so good throttle response.

General Comments:

Mid size motorcycle, mid size power, full size fun.

If you want speed, buy a crotch rocket, if you want macho chrome Jonson extension, buy a chopper, keep it stock; all the mods, bells and whistles may end up costing you twice as much as the price of the bike, and the difference it makes is not much.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2009

2007 Yamaha V-Star Silverado

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance9200 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha XS1100 Midnight Special

Summary:

I like it

Faults:

No mechanical issues to date.

General Comments:

I like the styling. This is my fourth Yamaha. Seats leave a lot to be desired, though.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2009

2005 Yamaha V-Star Silverado

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance8400 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki LS 650 Savage

Summary:

It's the best bike and the best value in the mid-weight cruiser market

Faults:

This bike has never been in for a repair or adjustment, other than the 2000 mile service recommended in the service manual. I've only changed the oil & filters as self-performed maintenance.

General Comments:

Excellent bike for runs up to 400-500 miles. Any longer runs and you'll want a Mustang or Corbin aftermarket seat.

I ride in city, rural, & mountainous terrain, and the bike performs very well in all areas: straights, sweepers, and downright hairy curves.

Acceleration is good, even at highway speeds.

Yes, it keeps up with the Harley's just fine. Just wring out the power and you'll keep accelerating. Since it has a rev limiter, you'll never blow the engine wringing out the last bit of pony-power.

Aftermarket parts a-plenty for this bad boy. You want to customize it? There are a lot of parts available for V-Stars to make them exceptionally unique.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2008

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 15 reviews