2005 Yamaha V-Star Silverado

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Amazing machine. Cannot believe how many miles I have put on this bike. Never had any major problems.

The only thing I had to replace was an O-ring around the oil filter, which I picked up at a local part store for a dollar.

This bike sits low, which makes it very comfortable around curves. Wouldn't recommend it for very long rides.

The seat is rock hard. I would definitely recommend this bike to any number of my friends.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2012

2005 Yamaha V-Star Silverado

Summary:

Not bad for the money

Faults:

The starter clutch seems to be and issue for this model. Yamaha makes a revised gear, which you must buy! 480 bucks! Should be a recall item.

General Comments:

Overall, the bike runs and rides great. Very comfortable on long rides.

Fuel economy could be better, 40-45mpg. My H-D always got 52mpg.

The oil filter is a real pain to change. Buy the external kit. More money, but well worth it.

Change the factory seat.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2011

2007 Yamaha V-Star Silverado

Summary:

Comfortable and nice

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

I've had my V Star 650 Silverado 2007 for four years, and still do not feel I have to purchase a larger bike. I am able to go 85 mph with a passenger, and see no reason why I would need to go any faster... especially on a cruiser. I guess if I was trying to outrun the police, and since I have no plans on doing so, it is great to have a bike with a larger look, but better gas mileage. I also have gone on trips longer the 500 miles, and it performed well.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2011

2007 Yamaha V-Star Silverado

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

All V-Star owners should read their owners manual to realize that "unleaded gasoline" is the preferred fuel, not 10% ethanol. Probably 99% of all motorized vehicles are fuel injected and will run on 10% ethanol fuel; anything with a carburetor - motorcycles (all), chainsaws, lawnmowers, etc. should use non-oxygenated fuel (not 10% ethanol unless with stabilizers) only! Fuel sits in carburetor bowls and gums in a very short time.

10% ethanol fuel has been around since the 80's (?), so motorcycles back before then never had this issue. Motorcycles have run beautifully for 100 years with carbs until 10% ethanol fuel came around, and they and your V-Star will also run great if you avoid running it - or get a fuel injected bike, just like the cars.

I have more than 11000 flawless miles on my V-Star, running it exclusively on unleaded non-oxygenated fuel, 10% ethanol fuel only when filling up on the road and getting stabilizers into it ASAP.

If your carbs are already gummed, get them squared away and stay away from 10% ethanol at all costs, and your bike should run trouble-free. Get smarter with the fuel you run and start to enjoy your motorcycle!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th April, 2010

2007 Yamaha V-Star Silverado

Summary:

Great bike for the price, you can't go wrong

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the bike; one thing you have to keep in mind is: stick to the scheduled maintenance. I have seen the results of skipping valve adjustments and carb synch, nothing really bad, just poor performance and not so good throttle response.

General Comments:

Mid size motorcycle, mid size power, full size fun.

If you want speed, buy a crotch rocket, if you want macho chrome Jonson extension, buy a chopper, keep it stock; all the mods, bells and whistles may end up costing you twice as much as the price of the bike, and the difference it makes is not much.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2009

2007 Yamaha V-Star Silverado

Summary:

I like it

Faults:

No mechanical issues to date.

General Comments:

I like the styling. This is my fourth Yamaha. Seats leave a lot to be desired, though.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2009

2005 Yamaha V-Star Silverado

Summary:

It's the best bike and the best value in the mid-weight cruiser market

Faults:

This bike has never been in for a repair or adjustment, other than the 2000 mile service recommended in the service manual. I've only changed the oil & filters as self-performed maintenance.

General Comments:

Excellent bike for runs up to 400-500 miles. Any longer runs and you'll want a Mustang or Corbin aftermarket seat.

I ride in city, rural, & mountainous terrain, and the bike performs very well in all areas: straights, sweepers, and downright hairy curves.

Acceleration is good, even at highway speeds.

Yes, it keeps up with the Harley's just fine. Just wring out the power and you'll keep accelerating. Since it has a rev limiter, you'll never blow the engine wringing out the last bit of pony-power.

Aftermarket parts a-plenty for this bad boy. You want to customize it? There are a lot of parts available for V-Stars to make them exceptionally unique.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2008