Yamaha V Max Reviews from United States of America

2004 Yamaha V Max

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.1 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB550 Four

Summary:

Bad ass!

Faults:

Nothing.

Replaced a rear tire at 3000 miles.

General Comments:

The Vmax is scary fast!

After 5 years, I'm still excited to ride it!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2009

1993 Yamaha V Max

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance17800 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley Davidson Ultra Classic

Summary:

Great muscle bike with cruiser looks

Faults:

So far, nothing.

General Comments:

Motorcycle is unbelievable in straight line acceleration.

When v-boost comes on-line, you are seriously heading down the road and it pulls like no other bike I have ever owned.

Seat is not very comfortable compared to my Ultra Classic, but then hey, my HD is a totally different kind of bike.

This bike is my daily rider for sheer fun about town. Harley reserved for when the wife wants to come along on long rides.

While seriously capable of those 125 and above speeds, it does get a little squirlie above 115 or so, which is as fast as my spinchter muscle dared to push it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd July, 2008

2005 Yamaha V Max

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance5100 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha V Max

Summary:

A True Legend

Faults:

Back brakes froze up, and required me to get a new caliper and back brakes.

Front brakes make a noise.

New battery needed.

General Comments:

Seat gets uncomfortable after a little more than half hour of riding.

Everything on my bike is stock and I love it that way.

I rarely hit v boost, and when I do it is just for a second or so, because it is just nuts when you enter it. You really do feel like you are time warping back when you hit it.

I mainly use it as a boulevard cruiser.

Most people don't know what the bike is, and need to ask because you just don't see many on the road.

I don't care if it's not popular, I love it. I owned one before in 2000 and had to sell it because of money problems, and I always regretted it, and had to buy another new one. I called every dealer in Vegas and I found only one dealer with a new one in stock. When I sat on it, I knew it would be mine again. Four years later, I love it as much as ever.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2008

1989 Yamaha V Max

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson Fatboy

Summary:

Should not be your first or even second bike!

Faults:

When I bought it, it needed a battery and fork seals. Everything else was cosmetic.

General Comments:

If it wasn't so well known, it would be a sleeper as it's MUCH faster than it looks! You always have the feeling the bike is trying to rid itself of you, when you crack it open and let out that V-boost rage.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2007

1991 Yamaha V Max

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2007
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson Sportster XLHC 1000

Summary:

Powerful as heck without the loud noise

Faults:

WOW!! The V-Max is a "hellafide Beats." I sold my '96 Sportster Sport. I wanted something with the same power without all the noise. I bought the '91 V-Max. Dude, when the V-Boost kicked in it was like a dream.

General Comments:

Buy a V-Max!! I bought a used one and I am extremely pleased. It has fading on the plastic vent covers, hell I'll just buy new ones.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th June, 2007

1993 Yamaha V Max

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS550E

Summary:

Ferrari F1 fast cruiser bike with a 60's muscle car sound

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the motorcycle. I bought this bike from my friend who laid it down on the right side after pulling wheelies. Yes, you can do wheelies with this cruiser bike. I would never try it though. I just replaced the air scoops, brake lever and handlebars. Most of all the parts I bought, I got on Ebay very reasonably priced.

It is a very reliable bike. 1200 cc. Just have some nicks in my gas tank cover.

General Comments:

1993 Yamaha Vmax.

1200 cc

Shaft drive is bulletproof

Liquid cooled with electric fan

About 120 rear wheel hp (RHP)

It's a CULT CLASSIC bike.

Everyone knows a V-max when they see it go down the road. The air scoops give it away. The air scoops are made of aluminum - they can be stripped of paint, then highly polished, or even chromed! You can't do that on today's plastic crouch rockets.

Very customizable. Many make specialized parts for this bike. Many parts can be found on eBay.

The ONLY bike out there that sounds like a sixties muscle car with Flowmasters (that is if you change away from the stock exhaust).

The sound is what really bought me. When I bought mine from my friend, he had a Harley Davidson slipon pipes on it. Sounded extremely tough. I since then put on a Hindle exhaust system. Sounds just as good, but a little bassy-ier. Harley riders always glance at me trying to figure out what it is that passed them, or when they hear it.

They've been making this bike for over 25 years and are still making it!!! That says something... Believe me, you have to HEAR this bike - it will pull you in.

The acceleration is flat out amazing. Point it straight and twist, and it's like a Ferrai, but faster.

An R1 (Yamaha) is a faster bike at 1000cc, BUT I will always beat an R1 rider who is inexperienced. That means he can't keep his front tire down and I just crank it. The V-max is much heavier than the R1, and is very comfortable to ride.

It's not a beginners bike, but it is easy to ride. You don't always have to gun it. But you know you will anyways.

Some people put a supercharger on theirs as well (crazy). My Yamaha mechanic did that to his.

All in all - a great bike. A CULT classic. Passengers love it as well.

Vroom.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2006

11th Mar 2007, 18:51

I just got my VMAX (1999) and the scoops have what I believe are spots of oxidation or clearcost defects. I want to "strip them and polish them. Any ideas on what to use to do both and bring them to a chrome finish shine?

1991 Yamaha V Max

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2005
Handling marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles

Faults:

I was having a ongoing problem with the battery staying charged. I actually "bumped started" the bike several times. The starter bendix went out, and I had to replace the starter. Cleaned all the cable connectors. I bought a "Battery Tender" in 2002, that I keep plugged in all the time, and this seems to work well.

It is the most cold blooded, hard to start when cold, bike I have ever had. I have to keep it choked for several miles, or it coughs and sputters. I've only owned Honda before this bike.

General Comments:

I've had this bike since 1991 and still love the acceleration. I do not ride it hard and am only on my third set of tires.

As far as changing the bike, I have had it lowered so I can touch the ground flat footed. The Corbin seat is much more comfortable, but it makes it hard to fill the tank.

Slash cut pipes give it a more cruiser look and sound.

Just added a Yamaha sissy bar to help the dear wife to stay on.

This bike has been very satisfying for me. After all of these years this bike still amazes me. It is still fun to ride, it gets a lot of attention, and is still well thought of in motorcycle publications.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2005

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews