Yamaha XV750 Virago Reviews from United States of America

1991 Yamaha XV750 Virago

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.9 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles

Summary:

One of the best motorcycles I ever owned

Faults:

The stator quit and had to be replaced. I did that myself.

The voltage regulator quit. I fixed that myself.

The ignition module started failing and I fixed that myself.

General Comments:

OK, let's get it straight, from seeing the things I had to fix and the marks I gave this motorcycle, you would think it was a bad motorcycle. Nothing could be farther from the truth. I loved the XV750, and it was one of the best motorcycles I have ever owned, period. It's really a toss up between the XV750 and the Suzuki 1400 Intruder as to my favorite motorcycle, so far.

During this time I was riding a whole bunch. That may have something to do with why I loved the Virago so much. I rode it everywhere I went. I even took a week off and hit the road alone on the Virago. It was an awesome time.

I had Cobra drag pipes, a Yamaha line small windshield, engine guards, highway pegs, saddle bags and saddle bag guards.

The Virago delivered good power for a 750 V-twin and sounded really good. The stock seat was comfortable for a while. Near the end of a long day, it became quite painful. I once pulled a 13 hour day in the saddle on that bike. It was pretty brutal.

The suspension was soft. You wouldn't want to try and run down a sport bike on the XV750 unless you have a death wish. But, for normal riding and touring it was great.

I really enjoyed the 750 Virago. I traded it for a 1200 Harley Sportster, and looking back can't say it was a good idea. Many times I wondered what I was thinking when I got rid of the Virago.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2012

1997 Yamaha XV750 Virago

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles

Summary:

I'll never trade this one, just ride it until there's nothing left of it

Faults:

Nothing -- only replaced battery, tires and spark plugs for routine maintenance.

General Comments:

Best riding motorcycle I've found. Great low center of gravity, quick acceleration and all day comfort.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2007

1997 Yamaha XV750 Virago

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles

Summary:

Most reliable bike ever, bulletproof

Faults:

At 25000 miles I had to put on brake pads.

Batteries seems to last quite long; only 1 replacement in 5 years.

Otherwise no issues.

General Comments:

The stock seat is very uncomfortable, sore numb butt after 20-30 minutes, replaced with Mustang seats and made a world of difference, can now ride for hours without problems.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2007

1989 Yamaha XV750 Virago

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired5434 miles
Most recent distance25630 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki LS 650 Savage

Summary:

Great motorcycle, very reliable

Faults:

Had trouble missing, running on one cylinder, fouling rear plug. After cleaning the carburetor twice, testing the coils, changing spark plugs dozens of times, it was the Plug Cap (yes the end of the rear spark plug wire). It wasn't allowing enough juice to the plug - a $4.50 item. No other problems.

General Comments:

The Virago handles beautifully. In the saddle after two hours, butt is hurting. Bought an Air hawk cushion - fits great and feels fine for many hour trip.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2007

28th May 2008, 09:53

Thanks for the cushion tip.

24th Apr 2011, 23:24

Thanks for the tip of the plug cap. My bike has the same problem, and I'm going to change the cap ASAP!!!

1996 Yamaha XV750 Virago

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 4 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous motorcycleTriumph Bonneville

Summary:

Absolutely reliable cruiser or tourer

Faults:

Wheels have some corrosion issues.

General Comments:

Handling is a bit truck like, but fine for cruising.

After market seat solved the comfort problem.

Original seat tends to push you into the tank.

Highway speeds are comfortably maintained.

Bulletproof.

Reliability is never a concern.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2006

1991 Yamaha XV750 Virago

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha XJ550

Summary:

The XV750 is a wonderful motorcycle

Faults:

The only thing that ever went wrong with my XV750 was the stator, which I diagnosed and repaired myself. Other than that it was a trouble free motorcycle. I should point out that the stator started showing symptoms before it ever left me stranded, cool.

The Virago seat was awful. On a short hop it was fine. For all day riding it was torture, pure torture.

General Comments:

Other than my current bike, this might have been the best bike I ever owned. I loved the XV750 Virago. My bike had the Cobra drag pipes and I thought it was awesome. Perhaps the longest trip I ever took (in terms of consecutive days on the road) was on the Virago. I have nothing but fond memories. Yes, the stock seat caused some moments of pain, but the experience was so good it far outweighed the sore butt.

If I had it to do over I would have preferred the XV1100 for interstate driving. The 750 seems like it's screaming at the higher ranges of interstate speed. However, both the 750 and the 1100 are exactly the same physical size. The power of the 750 is however, adequate for touring.

As part of my long trip I rode the entire Blue Ridge Parkway. The XV750 was the perfect mount for that trip. It was in it's element climbing and carving the curvy mountain roads. The Yamaha V-twin has a great power band and a nice exhaust note.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2005

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 6 reviews