BRP Can-Am Spyder RTS Reviews

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RTS from United States of America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance5650 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS1100GK

Summary:

It's a fun and safe motorcycle to ride

Faults:

After filling up with gas and riding, it's hard to get the gas cap off. It stays locked; I have to tighten it a little, then loosen it.

When filling with gas, it's hard to get the tank full without dribbling gas in slowly.

General Comments:

I love the way the bike handles.

It's easy to get used to, even though I still lean like I'm on a two wheel cycle.

The cycle is safe to ride; it's one of the reasons I picked the cycle I did. The deer population in my area is quite high.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RTS from United States of America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.9 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance8700 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB750

Summary:

Fun, stable ride. It is a head turner

Faults:

Water pump gasket leak, went thru lot of oil, dealer/warranty covered it. Haven't rode it any distance yet to see if it is going to reoccur.

Plastic panel that encloses the oil reservoir blew off. Had to replace two of them at $312.00 each time! Needs to be secured better.

When traveling in Canada, a Can Am dealer told me that the warranty is void in Canada as I purchased the Can Am Spyder in the USA.

Averaged 27 MPG on my last 4,600 mile, three week road trip, always doing the speed limit on freeways with a 160 lb passenger. Was hoping for better.

General Comments:

Traveled thru rainstorms on the freeway at 65 mph and it handled beautiful.

Certainly attracts a lot of attention, even from non bikers of all ages who are curious. One 60 year old female non biker asked "is this a new kind of Mo Ped?" Offered a lot of curious people to take their pictures on it; most all accepted.

Speedo reads 200 mph, but I could only top 110 mph. It should have a 6th gear, which would increase the mileage.

Nice quiet ride, passenger was quite comfortable.

No after market cup holders.

Driver foot pads would be better than the pegs, but the 2013 has foot pads.

Right foot and leg does get hot from the engine heat coming out of the side panel.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RTS from United States of America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7493 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda GL1500 SE Gold Wing

Summary:

Our Spyder is totally awesome!

Faults:

Front storage compartment electronic opening switch quit working. Took it to the dealer, who discovered that the electrical plug for it had come loose. A very quick fix!

General Comments:

Our Spyder has so many features that are not found on other motorcycles, that help to take the stress out of riding during all four seasons. The semi-automatic shifting and the stability control sensors are just two of the many features that make this motorcycle such a great ride.

It also has rider and passenger heated grips, rider and passenger controls for the audio system, as well as an electronically controlled windshield, just to name a few of the goodies. These items are extras on most other motorcycles, but came as stock on our Spyder.

This motorcycle also doesn't seem to be affected by the gusts of wind from passing semi-trucks. It is truly one fantastic machine!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2013

2011 BRP Can-Am Spyder RTS from United States of America

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.9 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance14100 miles

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Had to replace seat twice due to stitching.

General Comments:

I love my Spyder. I just wish that they would do away with the small storage in front of the driver, and make the seat larger for the driver and passenger.

They should also put an LED light bar in the little recessed area in the trunk behind the passenger.

Looking forward to the improvements on the 2014 models.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RTS from United States of America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom

Summary:

I do like it a lot

Faults:

Dash cluster went defective at 300 miles and had to be replaced.

Glove box locked open at 700 miles.

Steering lock was not working at 800 miles.

General Comments:

I like the stability. However it's a little drifty at times when windy.

Make it easier to service; oil changes are way too expensive at $200.

Takes way too long to turn on and start. The electronics are a bit scary with this safety mode if you needed to start quickly.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th September, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RTS from United States of America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2400 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda Shadow Aero 750

Summary:

I love it!

Faults:

No problems at all.

General Comments:

This is a great option for short, petite women who want a higher cc bike without worrying about the weight of the bike.

Handles great in sun or rain.

It's a fun ride!

No complaints.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2013

2011 BRP Can-Am Spyder RTS from United States of America

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance350 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson FLHX Street Glide

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Oil leak when I first got it.

Brakes were spongy when applied; had to be bled several times.

Scheduled maintenance interval is too short and expensive when done at a dealer.

General Comments:

I'm extremely happy with this bike; one of the better investments I've made.

My wife enjoys riding with me and feels safer.

I'm over 60, this was my answer to continuing to riding and having what hairs I have left blowing in the wind.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RTS from United States of America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 4 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 4 / 10
Braking marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3400 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide

Faults:

Seat was not very comfortable; I replaced it with a custom Corbin.

I had a problem with the VSS sensor

You can't get the cover off for the radiator to refill. Seems to use antifreeze.

The bike handles poorly at high speeds. Especially in the wind.

It's very choppy on turns. You have to manhandle the handlebars to get it to turn.

If you do accelerate to quickly from a stand still to a turn, the front wheel comes off the ground and you can lose control very easily.

General Comments:

The Can Am is a nice bike. It's just not the quality of a Harley. And to make upgrades is way too over priced. Front running boards are over 1000.00 bucks. I was unable to locate any after market resources to change much of anything.

I enjoy riding this bike, but was originally going to get one for my wife and decided against it.

We love to travel, and I kept my Harley as well. Seems we travel more on that than the CanAm.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th September, 2013

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews