Ducati Monster M750 Reviews

1997 Ducati Monster M750 from Italy

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.1 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki KZ 1000 MK II

Summary:

A fun package truly with style and sophistication

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with it at all. The tank and bars was replaced free by the factory on a recall. Only time it's needed replacement items is from falling.

Runs so lean short trips won't even warm it up.

General Comments:

Great handling, plenty quick and super fun ride as long as you like the euro riding position.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2009

1997 Ducati Monster M750 from United States of America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance5500 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki KZ 750 B

Summary:

Not worth the money

Faults:

Engine mount cracked at about 2000 miles.

Voltage regulator came unplugged at about 4700 miles.

General Comments:

I loved the way the bike looked and handled.

Brakes were excellent.

It was ridiculously slow. Even piped and jetted I couldn't power it up in 1st gear.

You couldn't ride 50 miles without severe discomfort.

Worst of all, the electrical parts are prone to failure, wire connectors are faulty.

Lost lots on resale.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd March, 2005

6th Apr 2007, 04:39

I can't say anything bad about the monster.

I had a beautiful 99, 750 dark, with Leo Vince high pipes, handled like a dream, lots of power, very comfortable, 350 miles worth, sounded great. Then some shmuck backs into it and keeps on backing up, crushed it. I come out to find my bike laying on the street in a pool of gas. I was sick. The insurance company totaled the bike, they paid me $200 more than I paid for the bike 4 years earlier.

I took the check and bought a brand new S-4, whoa!! What a machine! But the 750 was lighter, more agile, so, I went and bought another 750. Now I have the 2 bikes, the 750 needed work, nothing major, I put a lot of carbon fiber parts on it, haven't got the exhaust done yet. Need to reseal the forks. And fix the brakes. But, very nice bikes, they hold their value, If it was a Honda, I would have gotten maybe half its value back.

1998 Ducati Monster M750 from United Kingdom

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Acceleration marks 5 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous motorcycleGilera Runner

Summary:

Buy something else

Faults:

Unidentified electrical faults.

Rear light failure.

General Comments:

I really wanted to love this. I'd pined after a Monster for years. Beautiful, noisy, naked... Finally found an immaculate silver 750 and snapped it up. Bought with heart not head.

It was cripplingly uncomfortable. I'm 6ft, so nothing freakish. Yet the crouched-over riding stance meant that half an hour on the thing was enough. It's a small bike - I knew that - but there's something evil about the shape it makes you adopt as you ride. If you are considering one, please ensure you go for an extended test ride. Unless you are a hobbit or a teeny girl - then you should be fine.

After my scooter, performance seemed pretty pleasing. But compared to anything sporty, the gears are short and the power disappointing. Get a M900 if you can. I drove the 600 before buying the 750. Oh dear. It barely moved.

Handling was lovely. Torque impressive too. The most fun on this silly toy was pootling through London in the sun in second and periodically cracking back the throttle to skim past cars.

After a month it stopped starting. The specialist garage - conveniently placed half a mile away - said there was nothing wrong and blamed the cold weather. New to bikes I took their advice and used a trickle charger. This seemed to help, but still it didn't start sometimes. Eventually the muppets realised it needed a new battery. But by that time, I'd grown to hate the Ducati. Sorry, I tried.

I have now left biking entirely and am ecstatic with my Jaguar XJR. It has leather seats, a roof and a ten CD stack in the boot. Friends can come with me and the likelihood of my next mode of transport being a wheelchair has decreased.

Finally, my mouth still waters when I hear a Monster grumble by. Funny, life. Buy one if you must - but only if you are short of stature and blind to the vastly preferable alternatives.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th November, 2004

19th Nov 2004, 14:26

Lovely as the Jaguar XJR is, if you consider it an suitable alternative to any big capacity bike then maybe you were wasting your time with bikes in the first place.

31st May 2005, 09:55

Don't give up.

Try something like a Honda CB600 Hornet.

I had one and it's a Honda so it won't go wrong.

10th Sep 2006, 13:44

Just bought a KTM Duke II. I'll follow up with some comments...

5th Oct 2006, 12:01

Now THAT'S more like it! KTM good.

30th Apr 2008, 12:12

I had one, And I was happy with it, however I was happier to get rid of it. Great bike overall, but fell far short of my expectations.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 3 reviews