Honda CB700SC Nighthawk Reviews

1993 Honda CB700SC Nighthawk from United States of America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1200 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB750

Summary:

I need another one

Faults:

Never had a problem with my Hawk.

It was a great bike.

General Comments:

I used my title as a bond out of jail for my son.

He never went to court.

I lost my bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2009

1998 Honda CB700SC Nighthawk from United States of America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13600 miles
Most recent distance17900 miles

Summary:

Fun to ride

Faults:

Broken foot peg.

General Comments:

Good all around motorcycle, I like it!!!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2008

1985 Honda CB700SC Nighthawk from United States of America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.1 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CBR600F4i

Summary:

A bike worth buying

Faults:

The only thing really going wrong is the seat. It's beginning to crack.

One other thing is that the headlight on dim is not as bright as I would like.

General Comments:

The CB700SC is a great bike. The engine is very strong (not the fastest thing out there, but quick) and for being 700cc it gets great mileage! Around town I get 45, and on trips I get between 52 and 54. It has a nice sized tank so you aren't stopping all the time.

It is a good touring bike, good riding position and great seat. Overall an excellent motorcycle.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2008

1986 Honda CB700SC Nighthawk from United States of America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired8500 miles
Most recent distance23050 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB900F

Summary:

Terrific!

Faults:

Very few problems.

Goes through batteries quickly; they last about two years.

The starter needed a rebuild at 18,000 miles; it got very sluggish, the bike was hard to start with the starter like this.

General Comments:

The CB-700SC is a great bike. Fun to ride, nimble, with great brakes. Handling is good, IF the tires are fresh. When the tires get slightly worn, the bike begins to handle poorly.

It has excellent comfort with adjustable bars, good footpeg position, and a very comfortable seat.

With automatic adjusting valves and shaft drive, maintenance chores are easy - oil and filter changes, and general service is all that's required.

It's got great instruments, a fuel gauge, gear position indicator, taillight fault indicator, and a nice, large and attractive speedometer and tachometer.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2008

8th Jun 2010, 20:57

I bought my 86 Nighthawk S CB700SC in Feb 2009, it had been in storage since 1991. I cleaned the carbs changed all the fuel lines, new plugs, new battery, tires, oil and air filter. The bike had 2100K on it.

She runs great and averages around 45 mpg if I obey the speed limit; the mpg drops to about 37 mpg if I ride hard.

I've since put about 1300K on the bike with only a few problems. The petcock had to be rebuilt, I need to put new seals in the fork, and my starter has gone out, so the starter is currently in the local starter/alternator shop being rebuilt for $85.00.

I have noticed that when you shift from 1st to 2nd you need a good firm shift, and the battery needs to have water added about every 3 or 4 months.

All in all, this is a great, incredibly quick, smooth and fun bike. I sometimes think I would like a new ST1300, but then I go for a ride and realize just how much fun this little bike is.

1984 Honda CB700SC Nighthawk from United States of America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 5 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance26150 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha Virago 250

Summary:

Comfortable, dependable and fast

Faults:

The only problems have been very minor.

Replaced the hand grips and patched the seat.

Small oil leak from the left cylinder head.

General Comments:

This a great motorcycle considering its age. It is the most comfortable that I've ever ridden due to underfoot pegs, soft seat, and fully adjustable front/rear suspension and handlebars.

The shaft drive and self adjusting valves mean that very little maintenance is needed.

The instrument cluster is great; it has a fuel gauge and an LCD that shows you what gear you're in.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2007

19th Nov 2007, 08:40

I agree these are an excellent motorcycle (mine's a 1986 model)

18th May 2008, 09:14

Same for me here, I've got one of the 1984 ones. Looks as good now as the day it came off the assembly line.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 5 reviews