1990 Honda CBR1000F Reviews

1990 Honda CBR1000F from United States of America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.9 / 10
Distance when acquired15900 miles
Most recent distance17150 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha YZ 850

Summary:

A Timeless Original

Faults:

Nothing... usual maintenance.

Changed the stock seat for a Corbin Custom Seat.

General Comments:

These are one great bike. Powerful, smooth and all there when you need it. Something else for a near 20 year old machine.

Super reliable and easy to work on. Can't say enough good things about this near classic machine.

The 1000 F just begs to be ridden hard, and is most enjoyed when doing just that.

Get about 45 mpg when cruising the HWY, and a lot less when burning up familiar twisting local routes here in York Southern Maine.

If you get a chance to snag one of these... Go for it! (usually between 2-3 k depending on miles and condition).

Mine has 2k... a steal, 100% condition, low miles.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2009

1990 Honda CBR1000F from United States of America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance53300 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki Concours

Summary:

Tremendous bike for the money!

Faults:

Nothing gone wrong as of this time. The CBR 1000F seems to be an incredible stable and well engineered bike.

General Comments:

Handles like a champ. Solid as a rock, even a speeding semi truck's wind turbulence doesn't present much of a threat.

The gas mileage could be a bit better, I was getting about 40mpg, riding on the highway at moderate speeds, not handling her hard.

The stock seat takes a little getting used to, so does the wind exposure. I'm spoiled in both aspects, coming from a Concours.

I suppose an adjustment/new windshield with a lip would lower the wind exposure. I'll have to look into that.

After riding her 240 miles in one shot at temps around 40F-45F, I can attest to the reliability of the bike itself, but for long (er) rides, I'd recommend to look at an aftermarket seat that provides a bit more comfort.

The seating position itself isn't all too bad, even for a 6'3" rider. (Think windshield for exposure again)

The CBR 1000F has an quite some power coming through all rpm's, especially considering that she's a 19 year old bike that still looks great from a design aspect.

Overall, the CBR 1000F is a bike that I would not recommend to an inexperienced rider. She may be forgiving to a certain extent, but the power and temptation to handle her like a street racer might be too easy to fall for, for a new rider.

As a bike for an experienced rider, who is looking for a powerful performance bike that can still carry you for hundreds of miles, leaving you wanting more, the CBR 1000F is a certain winner!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th March, 2009

1990 Honda CBR1000F from Australia

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleBMW K 100 LT

Summary:

Lots of miles, lots of fun, speeding fines and more to come!

Faults:

Weak camchain tensioner.

Sticking brake pistons.

General Comments:

I'd first seen the earlier '87-'88 models, and remember one that stopped for fuel in Newcastle (Australia). The thing that struck me was it idled so smooth. Later when the bodywork was revised, I had to have one.

I eventually bought one cash for $8200 - 05 Jan 2004. My very own CBR1000FL, '90. It was red all over with silver underside, gunmetal trim and white wheels. The acceleration was huge compared to the '96 ex-police BMW K100RT I still had (and still have). However, the idle was far from smooth. Tuning and balancing the carburettors was an act in itself, but helped. I discovered the previous owner (idiot) tried to gain more power by running it without an air cleaner, wearing out the carbies and engine in the process.

Time went on and I eventually had it painted black with blue fleck, retaining the silver underside. Wheels same as bodywork, but outer rims aluminium colour. The original white wheels were just too difficult to keep clean.

I eventually changed the carbies to '94 model, necessitating changing the airbox and intakes to '94 as well. This was a huge advance. 10% more power with fuel economy going from 15k's/l to 17+. The poor thing pings on 91 octane in hot weather as it always did, but fine on 95 without change in economy. 98 octane burns too slow and reduces my economy by heaps.

Handling is great with the right tyres. Feels a bit nose heavy, but running Avon Azaro 180/55/ZR17 rear and 120/70/ZR17 front at pressures 42 and 38 psi respectively works best. The older Dunlop K700 radial tyres were fantastic. They gave plenty of feel and drift/warning before letting go. Michelin were awful.

This machine requires at least 20 weight fork oil or it'll chew out the front tyre on the edges.

At one stage the cooling fan wore out its centre, and the fan blades were just rattling round the spindle. I removed the entire fan assembly. If the temp climbs a bit in hot traffic, I can just switch it off while I wait for the lights. I reckon that fan is, well, pointless. The system works.

The bodywork is still very modern. All enclosed, surprisingly large amount of protection from the elements in the leg department. In normal rain, 180k's/hr is required to stay relatively dry. Light rain 120 is OK.

Fair amount of weight on the hands and arms at normal speeds. Lots of air hits the helmet and travels down the chest. Made a spoiler for the windscreen to reduce this by a large extent.

With standard sprockets, acceleration is very good. Have since increased front sprocket by many teeth to reduce revs at speed. Improves economy and reduces wear too. Acceleration still excellent reducing left foot shuffle.

Passengers are easily catered for due to the wider than sport seat, providing they remain within 70kg.

Fuel splash in-tank when flip-flopping creates a minor stability hurdle, due to the tank being rather wide and squat. Built-in baffles would help.

Don't get me wrong, this bike has a traditional steel frame, and is around 20kg heavier than it could be, but still handles very well providing tyre pressures and damping are tuned. It's solely responsible for 99% of my speeding fines (99% remain unpaid and will always!). It feels more solid than heavy, but goes when you want. I've had it on the Phillip Island racetrack with 50 other bikes. The ZZR1100 would take me on the straights (prior to the change in carbies), but I'd catch him in the corners. A CBR600RR with slicks would melt his tyres, but I'd be hanging onto him (barely) without melting mine.

I plan to move to a fuel injected Blackbird sometime, with tears naturally. Honda called the CBR1000F a sport/tourer for a reason. It handles both very well, and still turns heads, if not surprises many. The CBR1000FL has taken me round its clock and continues to do so.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2007

14th Dec 2009, 07:04

All in the review is true, it's a great bike! It's heavy but comfortable with very little vibration.

Mine is a 1990 model with only 29,000 miles on the clock, and with full Givi 46 litre panniers and a passenger, it still returns about 45 MPG at nearly legal touring speeds.

On twisty roads at high speed, it could do with more powerful brakes, but if you read the road ahead, it doesn't cause any problems.

1990 Honda CBR1000F from United States of America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.9 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles

Summary:

Highly recommended!

Faults:

The gas tank leaks a bit if you fill it up all the way. The plastics are pretty much completely gone.

Bike is picky about what oil you put in her.

General Comments:

This bike is completely fun fast and underestimated. I can more than keep up with guys on more modern machinery. My bike is the classic beat up rat bike which runs 100% and has sticky tires on it. It's fun for people to look at you like why are you riding that? But when it gets twisty, all you see is them in your rear view!

I'm not really sure about the mileage - the cable broke at 65000 miles. The motor has never been opened up - this think is ultra reliable. It's only gone through tires, carb adjustments and oil. The clutch is original as well and I don't ride it gently! I wish it had a 6th gear!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2006

11th Jan 2007, 10:58

Well I don't know about your bike, but mine have all 6 gears :D.

21st Feb 2007, 08:53

I'm wondering what year yours is? I have ridden a few 1990's with only 5 gears.

13th May 2007, 12:23

Mine's good, and is a 1990 with 6 gears.

27th May 2007, 01:46

My bike sucks on corners. It's hard to turn, and RLs and GSXRs kill me... What are you people talking about?

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 4 reviews