Kawasaki GPZ500S Reviews

1988 Kawasaki GPZ500S from United Kingdom

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous motorcyclelifan LF125 - 30

Summary:

Great first proper bike

Faults:

No issues.

General Comments:

This is a great bike for the new out of the blocks full licence holder. It has great acceleration, and it gives out very positive vibes through the bends. If you're new to bigger bikes, I could not suggest a better buy.

I have picked up a really cheap one from eBay with some major scuffs etc, but everything that needs to be intact is.

The only drawback of this bike for me is the seat height, I am 6'1" tall and have to squeeze onto it, but I do fit!!!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2007

1989 Kawasaki GPZ500S from United Kingdom

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired440 miles
Most recent distance1047 miles

Summary:

Great fun

General Comments:

Great fun, great ride, ace performance.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2006

2004 Kawasaki GPZ500S from United Kingdom

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance2650 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda Varadero XL125V

Summary:

Great bike, very underrated

Faults:

Gearbox can be a little clunky, especially at lower speeds.

Fairing rattles quite a bit.

General Comments:

This is a great first bike after a 125. Low insurance, light, but quick enough to be fun.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2005

1988 Kawasaki GPZ500S from New Zealand

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired26380 kilometres
Most recent distance35760 kilometres
Previous motorcycleKawasaki GPZ900R

Summary:

Show me another 500 that can compete with these bikes, that costs anywhere near as little money!

Faults:

Up to the present mileage, there have been no problems whatsoever, apart from replacing consumables, for example tires.

General Comments:

This motorcycle is exceptional value for money, and with a good rider aboard, can acquit itself well in any conditions, providing it has been properly maintained.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2005

1988 Kawasaki GPZ500S from Republic of Ireland

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance60100 miles

Summary:

Wouldn't get another one

Faults:

The tappets became loose after a few days of buying it.

It was very noisy as it had a Laser Racing exhaust put on by the previous owner.

I only had it one week and it just died.

I went to the shop and when I came out it wouldn't start.

It needed a new starting motor and cam chain.

Nothing, but trouble.

General Comments:

It was a very fast bike and was easy to ride.

But the front brakes wore down fairly quick.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st January, 2005

3rd Jan 2005, 12:41

The age and mileage of this machine might have had some effect on its reliability.

12th Jan 2005, 08:00

Only had the bike one week? Looks like you got ripped off.

2nd Nov 2006, 02:55

If you buy a high mileage 500, don`t think you get a new bike. I had one and no problems.

5th Nov 2006, 16:23

The reason why most people end up with a bad Japanese machine, is because the bike has been either abused of neglected by previous owners. Japanese engineering is one of the highest standards in the world. I have always bought Japanese products and have had excellent results.

I have a Honda CG125, although not the best bike in the world, but has high mileage and starts every day without fuss. The reason being, is I service it regularly and ride it sensibly.

On the other hand, I have known people that have had a bike and needed a new engine within 10 000 miles. Reason being due to neglect and abuse.

There are people out there that just ride and totally overlook care and maintenance, and have poor or very little knowledge of motorbikes.

1990 Kawasaki GPZ500S from United Kingdom

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki suzuki

Summary:

Good learner bike, good all rounder

Faults:

Fork seals wore very quickly.

Clutch system in the starter broke, expensive repair.

Down pipes keep working loose on the manifold.

General Comments:

This is a great first big bike. Very forgiving for the unexperienced rider, yet powerful enough to put a smile on an experienced riders face.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2004

1997 Kawasaki GPZ500S from United Kingdom

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.1 / 10
Distance when acquired11500 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles

Summary:

Frugal, fun, reliable and stonking value!

Faults:

No faults.

General Comments:

Great bike. The eager parallel twin kicks out 60 bhp and has a lovely powerband from 7k right through to the red line. Returns an easy 55 mpg if you take it steady. The motor sounds lovely as well, with a nice deep growl under acceleration.

Handling is OK within its limitations. Suspension can get bouncy if you press on too much, but ridden up to eight tenths, its light weight and good balance make it a very easy bike to chuck about. There is nothing intimidating about this bike, but it's not so dull you can't enjoy yourself on it.

I liked the "baby GPZ-900R" looks, which to my mind are still fresh and a little bit different. The CB500 might be a better built machine, but the Kwak is more interesting to look at.

Mine was utterly reliable. It lived outside under a tarp in all weathers, and would fire up first go come snow, hard frost or damp. Always got me to work and always willing to play if I took the long route home. Easy to work on too - the valve clearances adjust with a locknut and screw, and the plastics come off quickly and easily, meaning even the 8k "major" services are feasible for the average DIY mechanic.

At 2/3 the price of an equivalent aged CB500, the little Kwak is stonking value and for novice riders or commuting, it will do pretty much anything the more expensive CB will do.

A great little workhorse cum weekend toy, and highly recommended.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2004

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 7 reviews