Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 from United States of America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5800 miles

Summary:

This bike is the King Kong of bang for the buck

Faults:

Since brand new, I had problems with my VN750 fouling out plugs, stalling, and refusing to start.

General Comments:

Those first few years were not the happy motorcycling experience that I had hoped for. Despite numerous trips to the dealer where I purchased the bike, the trouble persisted. Then I found a mechanic who actually took the time to diagnose the problem. It had a bad stator. The symptoms are the same as having a weak battery. In fact, my bike would eat a battery, feel better for a while and then go back to the same sad state. Since the stator has been replaced it has been absolutely reliable and fun. I love this bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2008

7th Aug 2008, 17:08

My friend bought a 2001 Vulcan 750 and it was a POS nightmare from the start!.. Would not idle the same after it was killed and restarted.. constant tinkering with the carbs.. Kept eating up valve chain tensioners... Springs inside always broke... had to replace every 3500 miles or so! Always crankcase noise until it warmed up for 15-20 minutes.. was afraid to sit on it and ride till it warmed up.. was afraid of a piston-ectomy!! OUCH!! I am a bike mechanic.. and all I can say is... Totally ruined us both on a Kawasaki Product!

NEVER AGAIN!

- Matthew Wrightman.

2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 from United States of America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance5800 miles

Summary:

Great first motorcycle, and I would recommend it to 1st time riders

Faults:

I have, on occasion, had problems starting the bike. I have found that this is a problem with the battery. Once I replaced it with a Die Hard Gold the problem is gone. Still, when it is cold outside the bike takes a bit to get it started.

The bike shows rust very easy, as well on the bolts and some of the chrome. Chrome polish will take it off, just wash and keep the bike in a garage and it will be fine.

The storage box on the back of the seat wears out quickly and breaks very easy. Good luck finding a replacement.

After market parts are very hard to find for the bike.

General Comments:

Overall, this was, and is, a great first bike. It is very easy to care for and a joy to ride.

I love the shock adjustments, just a quick click to soften or firm up if you have an additional rider. No chain to lube or tighten is nice as well.

I have purchased a new Mustang seat, engine guards, luggage rack, a windshield and saddle bags for my bike. I ride it with friends, and it is a great cruising bike. I get quite a few comments about the old cruiser bike look. I like that myself.

The bike is quite for the most part, so if you like it loud I suggest you buy new pipes. I have seen a few after market ones for the 750.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2008

1997 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 from United States of America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40127 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki Ninja 250

Summary:

Manufactured for over 20 years straight, enough said

Faults:

Gas filter clogged annually.

Speedometer cable broke at 15,000.

Timing jumped at 40,000 due to inadequately hardened crank shaft timing sprocket (integrated) causing 2 bent valves, 2 broken valves, 3 shattered rocker arms, and of course the bad crank shaft.

Rusted everywhere: exhaust, instruments, gas tank, etc.

General Comments:

I left it out in the weather for 4 years (sun, rain, and snow) and it started on the first hit every time.

The seat was wide and comfortable.

The bike accelerated so fast it threw me off the first time I rode it.

An owner must keep the chrome polished, the gauges oiled, and the gas tank treated, otherwise they will rust in just a few years.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2007

9th Jan 2008, 18:01

I am 48 years old, this is my 8th bike and the easiest to own. I just change oil every year; that is it!

I also love the fact that with me and the wife on, we can still blow away any Harley that feels the need to take us on. It's just a fun bike.

2nd Dec 2008, 08:31

Guys, greetings from Varna/Bulgaria. I'm a 53 year old biker who doesn't ride only when there's snow outside. And even then I make a circle or two inside the garage.

I don't remember exactly how many bikes I have changed since I started at 16. They are my passion and life, and every free second I have I either ride or work on them.

Presently have 2 Kawas - one Vulcan 1500 - a great bike - when you ride it you feel like a king.

The second one - a Vulcan 750 I imported from the states this Summer. It's a real killer with its 66hp and has a great rumble that makes the dogs barking and turns on all car alarms along the way. Can tell you that the USA 750 version has nothing to do with the European one with its sorry 50hp. And if you ask about the 1500 / also USA model / just remember that in the summer races it easily overtakes the Harleys and any others.

1988 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 from United States of America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1995
Acceleration marks 5 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles

Summary:

Good and really comfortable, but had trouble starting

Faults:

The motorcycle was a dream to ride.

Most comfortable seat on a motorcycle I have ever owned.

Once it was started ran like a dream.

Very comfortable handle bar grips.

Throw some highway pegs of it and you have got yourself a good time.

General Comments:

Good motorcycle, but the carbs would clog, and even after they were cleaned, they still did not seem right.

Road well on highway, but because of the gearing the RPMs ran a little high.

Had some problems starting, but it was an old bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2006

2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 from United States of America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4035 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki ZG1200 Voyager XII

Summary:

Great bike

Faults:

Nothing, it has been 100% reliable.

General Comments:

The bike is a perfect weekend cruiser, great handling.

The seat could be more comfortable - needs to be a little more firm.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2006

2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 from United States of America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Previous motorcycleYamaha XV750 Virago

Summary:

A good motorcycle, not great

Faults:

It is a nice looking bike, but too much of it will rust too quickly. I mean some of it could have been prevented in the manufacturing process.

General Comments:

It is a good motorcycle. Runs good, had some fun on it.

After having a Midnight Virago, Yamaha 650, BSA Lightning 650, and a Honda 450, I would have to say I like Yamaha's best. If it was me doing it all over again, I would either get a Yamaha Virago again, or a Suzuki Intruder. On top of Yamaha's intensive high marks, they're also cheaper than Kawasaki's.

Thank you.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th February, 2006

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 10 reviews