2008 Suzuki V-Strom DL650 from United States of America

Summary:

Usable, generous, problem-free, and exciting

General Comments:

The Suzuki V-Strom is the motorcycle for those who actually like to ride motorcycles rather than just keep them in the garage. Many claim that the bike is not sexy and not exciting enough. I would somewhat agree with the former, but definitely not with the latter. The motor is bulletproof and powerful enough for anything that any sane person would like to do. It does well on the highway (especially with an exchanged 16 T front sprocket) and has ample pulling power from low RPM. While the fairing may not be sexy, it is absolutely useful and well thought out. The V-Strom is a long-term love affair.

There are ample aftermarket options that anyone can use to customize and personalize the bike. Add a set of panniers (The Givi line offers excellent options) and your possibilities broaden from day rides and overnights to year long expeditions. I've found the bike no worse on fire and rougher dirt roads here in Colorado than any other street-oriented bike, but this one can be trail ready with a few of the before mentioned options, especially a skid plate. Anything that the V-Strom cannot do, and you are probably looking at dirt-oriented bikes such as the KLR or motocross.

If you want a motorcycle that is usable, generous, problem-free, and will serve you for many years, I can highly recommend the V-Strom.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2015

2007 Suzuki V-Strom DL650 from Australia

Summary:

An honest, reliable commuter and tourer that is often, sadly, underrated

Faults:

Very fine coolant leak from radiator/hose join at high speed. Not uncommon, apparently; simply needs re-tightening. This cured it.

Other than that, no faults or defects.

General Comments:

Extremely pleasant all-rounder with surprisingly good handling.

Power is more than adequate to the bike's purpose and design... even two-up with panniers and top box loaded.

Ergonomics I find particularly good; especially bars/pegs/backside triangle. Unlike others, I don't find the seat any worse than most. The position saves a lot of weight being dropped onto my wrists, which is a blessing.

I added a bashplate, taller screen, engine guards and headlight protector. The bike was then taken across the Nullarbor from Perth to Melbourne and shipped to Tasmania for a fortnight's touring, before riding back. It performed flawlessly.

If I have a criticism, it's just that the bike (and exhaust note) lack a little... "character" -- it just gets up and does things; no fuss, no protest. Gotta love that.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2010

27th May 2014, 16:05

Hi. My email is: bwardley@telus.net. I have the answer to your 'exhaust note' problem. It costs nothing but an hour's labour and gets you a bit more power. Drop me an email and I'll dig out the details. Cheers, Bob.

2008 Suzuki V-Strom DL650 from United States of America

Summary:

This is a great second bike after the first one that you learn to ride on. You won't be disappointed

Faults:

Replaced factory seat with Gel seat... works better, not great, but better.

Replaced windscreen with Givi unit and with some tweaking, it works better than the stock shield, again, not perfect but better.

No parts failures unrelated to normal wear. Just replaced brake pads, chain and sprockets. Pads still had about 1/3 to 1/2 left, chain was shot, starting to kink up.

General Comments:

Great fuel economy. Between 55 and 60 mpg most of the time at speeds less than 65 mph. Over 65 it gets worse quickly.

Great power anywhere above 4000 rpm.

Good handling especially with Works rear shock and stiffer spring. It can keep up with faster bikes in the twisties.

This is a great motorcycle to do everything with. Reasonable in cost, reasonably cheap to own. Performs well in many kinds of usage.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2009

2007 Suzuki V-Strom DL650 from Canada

Summary:

Nice powertrain ruined by a poor design

General Comments:

Seat is brutal, but nothing compared to the typhoon the poorly designed fairing and useless windscreen produce. Ruins any enjoyment riding over 50 mph compared to real bikes.

Shouldn't have to rebuild half the bike to make it ride able. Take the shield off and it's a decent bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2008

11th Aug 2009, 21:18

Spending 100$ on either a Givi windscreen, or a MadStad bracket will fix this issue.

I prefer the MadStad bracket, as it's adjustable, and can be configured to deflect air, or to direct it at the rider. One's great for highway, and cold days. The other is fantastic for slower riding on hot days.

Yes, the stock windshield stinks, but, well, the same is true for a number of bikes (K75s, XJ600s, etc, etc).

26th Jan 2010, 01:27

Having ridden for over 40 years, many types and makes of bikes, year round, I would like to state that the Wee Strom is the best all rounder that you can buy today. Very good value for the money. ABS is great and that v twin engine is a gem.

Seats are subjective and my butt likes this one, the screen is fixed using the Madstad bracket. I love the fuel economy and it is super simple to service.

The look grow on you as you appreciate the design. The injection is spot on cold or hot, the exhaust could do with more character but will not offend the neighbors.

Gravel roads, sand and snow don't seem to bother it, I added a front fork brace, skid pan, crash bars, handgrip protectors and centre stand for convenience.

13th Mar 2010, 16:01

Agree with a previous poster, add a Madstad and problem is easily solved.

18th Jun 2010, 04:14

Mine was ridden by my wife and I with a big pack plus tank-bag 1100 km in one glorious day of riding. Most of it secondary sealed road, but including some high country gravel surfaces. We arrived in better shape than ever before after such a long ride. The bike was totally unflustered and regularly gets over 400km to a tank of gas laden as above. At 10,000 km the tyres look to have 3,000 km left in them. This is a superb all roads bike.

2004 Suzuki V-Strom DL650 from United States of America

Summary:

Great, practical motorcycle

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

My first upright bike and I love it. Handles great and I can ride for hours at a time. Does not beat me to death.

Great torque. Zero to sixty time does not compare to my YZF600R, but the comfort is worth the trade off. Hardly no vibration.

Passenger ergonomics are good. Adjustable wind screen cuts down on buffeting; very quiet while riding at 70 mph.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2008

2007 Suzuki V-Strom DL650 from United States of America

Summary:

This is a great all-purpose bike

Faults:

Nothing, so far.

General Comments:

Highway buffeting is a bit of a problem, but with the windshield raised it is not too bad. The bike is bigger and heavier than I expected for a 650 adventure-tourer, but this is good for highway riding.

The bike is much faster than I expected. It is quite easy to ride and very easy at speed. The seat and riding position are very comfortable.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2007

2005 Suzuki V-Strom DL650 from Canada

Summary:

Adventure Tourer on a budget if set up properly

Faults:

Starter relay blew in early August; my dealer replaced it with a relay from a floor model bike.

General Comments:

Coming from cruisers, this is easily the quickest motorcycle I have yet to own. It's not the fastest motorcycle out there, but in the right hands, the DL650 will embarrass many sport bikes in the twisties.

In stock trim I have found the DL650 to be a comfortable bike to ride. It has an upright seating position, which helps to keep the weight off of your hands and spine. Stock seats are usually the first thing many riders replace, but I have managed a couple days with over 700 miles in the saddle. The adjustable windshield works well for me, while some complain about buffeting.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2005