Suzuki VX800 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1990 Suzuki VX800 from Canada

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.9 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 kilometres
Most recent distance64000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleYamaha Maxim 400

Summary:

Get on, hold on, and scream like bloody hell!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my beauty! I do have a slight piston slap, nothing that a cylinder bore won't cure.. mmmmm more power!!

General Comments:

I absolutely love my bike.

I do find it a little uncomfortable, but that is because I am short in the trunk of my body and I lean forward to reach the handle bars.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2008

1990 Suzuki VX800 from United States of America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.1 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance42300 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki DS 80

Summary:

Rare, American designed, naked sport tour-esk bike that runs forever, if you take care of it

Faults:

I really have no complaints, it's a great bike!

General Comments:

Designed in California by Suzuki America. This bike looks spectacular. It is quite a unique bike, it was only made available in the States for four years (90-93) and across the pond for eight (90-97) I believe.

I recently got a F-16 windscreen and a Corbin seat for it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2008

1990 Suzuki VX800 from United States of America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3400 miles
Most recent distance26450 miles

Summary:

Fantastic bike for the money, a little on the heavy side though

Faults:

The only real issue that I have with the bike is that the gas valve needs to be turned off when the bike is sitting for any period of time. There is no vacuum valve to retard the flow of fuel when the bike sits. Therefore, I would wind up with fuel in the crankcase requiring me to change the oil and filter prior to riding. Aside from this minor problem, the bike is a flawless machine and very reliable for me.

General Comments:

Seat sucks!

Great all day ride with plenty of power through the gears.

Generally a great and fun bike to own.

It's always ready to go when I am!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2008

26th May 2011, 08:57

After reading the review about fuel in the crankcase because the fuel switch was in on position, really helped me a lot. This being my first bike, I don't really know a lot about turning the switch on and off, but I have been trying to get it started for two weeks, and couldn't figure out what the problem was. Thanks for the heads up... saved a ton of money!

1993 Suzuki VX800 from United States of America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4600 miles
Most recent distance6200 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson FXDX Super Glide Sport

Summary:

Great all-around bike with style and performance

Faults:

This bike has had nothing go wrong. Owned one for several years in the late '90's... put 10,000 miles on it without any expense but oil/gas/filters. They are bullet-proof and fun.

General Comments:

Handles really well for all of us that are not flat out racers.

Quick for an 800...roll-on at 40-80 mph like an 1100.

Great bang for the buck and you're riding something that is unique.

Shaft drive is great without the torque shift I had on my BMW 1150. Actually, I feel the VX800 is a better overall bike.

Have had lots of bikes... Suzuki GSX1100G, 1200 Bandit, a few 883's and several Big Twin Harley's, a 650 Triumph Thunderbird, 500 Matchless, Honda Pacific Coast and several old Honda Scramblers... this is my favorite all-around bike.

Now if the Bandit 1200 had shaft drive that'd be my all-time favorite. Super at everything... but I hate the chain maintenance.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2008

1993 Suzuki VX800 from United States of America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.9 / 10
Distance when acquired3900 miles
Most recent distance20100 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki 450 ST

Summary:

Fast and reliable

Faults:

Original seat tore shortly after purchase. Replaced with an aftermarket seat.

General Comments:

Very fast for a stock bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th February, 2008

1993 Suzuki VX800 from United States of America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired8500 miles
Most recent distance17500 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson 1200R

Summary:

The VX800 is a true all around bike

Faults:

When I got the bike @ 8,500 miles, the rear brake rotor was badly grooved and the shocks were trash. Both tires were completely worn out.

General Comments:

The bike has been really fun to ride after I changed the front springs and rear shocks to Progressive pieces.

The brakes could use another disc up front, and also better calipers. Modified Yamaha R6 calipers will work.

The torque developed from only 800cc is amazing (I do wish that it had 6 speeds; the U.S. version is geared too low) with no need to down shift in most situations.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2007

1990 Suzuki VX800 from United States of America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance9100 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha Yamaha Radian 500

Summary:

Best bike, wish it weighed less

Faults:

Front fork seals went out @ 8700 miles. It is 17 years old, so what do you expect? Bought seals online from the UK for 8.75 including shipping.

General Comments:

This bike is great; I can see why it has a following in Europe.

It is a bit heavy for my liking, but it drives like no other. It has been used mostly to get me back and forth to work, but it is a great weekend rider for the wife and me.

This is a bike for the person who wants 3 or 4 bikes in their garage, and will ride it on the weekend every once and a while, 150 miles to go have lunch with a buddy.

Very few people know what it is when they see it, and you really have to be a bike nut to enjoy it the most. There is nothing out on the market that is anywhere close to similiar to this bike. A collector would really enjoy this.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2007

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 13 reviews