2007 Yamaha V-Star Silverado Reviews

2007 Yamaha V-Star Silverado from United States of America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.1 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5400 miles

Summary:

Comfortable and nice

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

I've had my V Star 650 Silverado 2007 for four years, and still do not feel I have to purchase a larger bike. I am able to go 85 mph with a passenger, and see no reason why I would need to go any faster... especially on a cruiser. I guess if I was trying to outrun the police, and since I have no plans on doing so, it is great to have a bike with a larger look, but better gas mileage. I also have gone on trips longer the 500 miles, and it performed well.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2011

2007 Yamaha V-Star Silverado from United States of America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

All V-Star owners should read their owners manual to realize that "unleaded gasoline" is the preferred fuel, not 10% ethanol. Probably 99% of all motorized vehicles are fuel injected and will run on 10% ethanol fuel; anything with a carburetor - motorcycles (all), chainsaws, lawnmowers, etc. should use non-oxygenated fuel (not 10% ethanol unless with stabilizers) only! Fuel sits in carburetor bowls and gums in a very short time.

10% ethanol fuel has been around since the 80's (?), so motorcycles back before then never had this issue. Motorcycles have run beautifully for 100 years with carbs until 10% ethanol fuel came around, and they and your V-Star will also run great if you avoid running it - or get a fuel injected bike, just like the cars.

I have more than 11000 flawless miles on my V-Star, running it exclusively on unleaded non-oxygenated fuel, 10% ethanol fuel only when filling up on the road and getting stabilizers into it ASAP.

If your carbs are already gummed, get them squared away and stay away from 10% ethanol at all costs, and your bike should run trouble-free. Get smarter with the fuel you run and start to enjoy your motorcycle!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th April, 2010

2007 Yamaha V-Star Silverado from United States of America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson XLH 1200S

Summary:

Great bike for the price, you can't go wrong

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the bike; one thing you have to keep in mind is: stick to the scheduled maintenance. I have seen the results of skipping valve adjustments and carb synch, nothing really bad, just poor performance and not so good throttle response.

General Comments:

Mid size motorcycle, mid size power, full size fun.

If you want speed, buy a crotch rocket, if you want macho chrome Jonson extension, buy a chopper, keep it stock; all the mods, bells and whistles may end up costing you twice as much as the price of the bike, and the difference it makes is not much.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2009

2007 Yamaha V-Star Silverado from United States of America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance9200 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha XS1100 Midnight Special

Summary:

I like it

Faults:

No mechanical issues to date.

General Comments:

I like the styling. This is my fourth Yamaha. Seats leave a lot to be desired, though.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2009

2007 Yamaha V-Star Silverado from United States of America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance750 miles

Summary:

Worth every penny

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Very nice bike for the price. Does feel like it could use a sixth gear at highway speeds. Find myself always looking for that sixth gear but overall very pleased with everything. Handles and rides very comfortable.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2008

2007 Yamaha V-Star Silverado from United States of America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda cb-450

Summary:

Move over, here we come

Faults:

Nothing so far.

I did not know at the time of purchase that v-twin motors were prone to vibrate slightly.

General Comments:

For what you get for the price, nothing else comes close.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2008

21st Jun 2008, 07:27

Bought my 2008 Silverado 650 just over a week ago - I've been riding my whole life (age 47) but this is my first bike in 8 years, and my very first V-Twin. It is no rocket, but does have a surprisingly ample amount of power to haul my 6'1" 300lb self around the back roads, and even rolls right up the hills in 5th gear at 35mph and up with no downshifting required.

110 miles later and I'm still getting used to it - we're not quite "one" with each other just yet, but every day's a little better than the last. My first two rides over 20 miles actually required a stop to get feeling back in my hands... gloves and less "newbie white knuckling" has helped that a bit.

Jury's obviously still out after only 1 week and less than 150 miles, but so far I feel that I bought the right machine. Will comment more after I get my first riding season in many years behind me.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 6 reviews