1982 Honda CB900C


All around great ride, she's a keeper


My RPM tach cable broke from wear.

Gas tank paint faded over the years.

Cam chain had to be adjusted.

General Comments:

The original seat was very uncomfortable, but it was an easy fix.

This motorcycle is a monster after 100 mph.

One day I decided to roll on the throttle to find out how fast it would go. I saw 145 mph on the speedo with throttle to spare - wow!

Handles very nice in town, or on highways.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2012

1982 Honda CB900C


Awesome and reliable


When purchased, oil was and still is leaking from valve cover gasket (?). Nothing major, just slightly annoying as it smells when the engine is hot.

At odometer reading of 74,900, the speedo cable had to be replaced as it snapped (M+L $52.00).

General Comments:

During my ownership nothing else needed to be replaced or repaired (total "yearly" cost of maintenance: $52.00) except of course routine oil change.

Oil consumption around 1L/1000km (it could be more the leak than actual burning).

Highway mileage varies from 5.6 to 7.1 L/100km (42 to 33 MPG).

Vehicle, despite its age and mileage, provides a total confidence on the highway, especially when passing others or "flying by" if demanded...

Engine is humming softly at around the legal speeds; no coughing when accelerating or decelerating.

The only inconvenience is that at low morning temperatures, the motorcycle needs to be warmed up for approx. 1 minute to avoid, almost guarantied, unpleasant engine dying.

Wish the seat had a back support for long distance travel (just to spoil the rider).

Other than that, a pure pleasure for the user.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2010

30th Aug 2011, 22:15

After adding some extra miles (current odometer reading is 89000 km), I can correct my fuel mileage. The best was 4.1 L/100km (57 mpg) driving at 88km/hr (55mph) for 2 weeks to work.

1st Aug 2012, 21:04

Final Notice.

Current mileage 94300. No repairs of any kind (except new rear tire) since last post. End of use.

Cam chains became noisy.

New chains and respective sprockets needed (apparently still available and reasonably priced), cam chain tensioners (2) needed (hard to get and unreasonably if available priced) + whatever is needed when engine is opened.

Labor: cost prohibitive.

Mechanic's advice: "Do not get too sentimental about it. Move on". Advice duly taken.

In retrospect, it was a great bike. Relaxes in the back yard.

"New" (86) Yamaha Venture is the replacement.

25th Dec 2014, 17:56


Bike sold.

New owner did a thorough paint job; not to my sense of style, but that's his bike now.

Fixed the noisy timing chain - the engine runs like the new one probably did.

Reupholstered the saddles.

Owner, with his wife, cleaned (heavy polishing) the chrome - amazing effect.

Now the owner uses it as his main transportation to work.

No problems reported.

1980 Honda CB900C


It's a classic keeper to the end!


Slight oil leak in the head gasket at 50,000.

Replaced the original seat at 30,000 with a Corbin.

Odometer driver gear failed at 54,000.

Replaced pipes with Jawa 4-4.

General Comments:

The bike continues to perform much better than I thought it would.

The original seat had to go - replaced it with a Corbin custom - at last comfort!

Rear suspension a wee bit soft with a passenger.

Pulls my trailer without difficulty.

Although top heavy, it is a pleasure to handle - just don't let it lean too far when stopped.

To date, I have received numerous offers to sell it - not likely.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2009

16th May 2009, 14:10

We have a 1980 Honda CB900 16,000 miles, excellent condition, what do you suggest we ask for it?

8th Oct 2012, 14:15

If there are no issues, (i.e.: rusty gas tank, dented gas tank, missing/cracked side covers, imperfect turn signals, etc) I wouldn't be afraid to ask $1,500 to $2,000 USD.

6th Jul 2014, 07:02

I would say 1500 to 1700 at least; possibly more depending on condition. Great bikes, low maintenance & good for many more miles.