1981 Honda CB900C from United States of America

Summary:

Nothing else can keep up

Faults:

It is cold-blooded, a hard starter, but if run frequently it starts easily.

General Comments:

There is nothing like this bike, nothing. The acceleration is incredible, whether in the lower range or high. I will spend whatever it takes to keep this classic on the road.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2009

6th May 2014, 04:16

I picked one up for 200 dollars! And man is it fast. Wow.

It's cold blooded, but when you get it warmed up, look out!!!

The only thing that I have found is the brakes seem to stick a little as the motorcycle gets warmed up. If anyone has had this happen to them, if you could let me know how you overcame it, I would be in your debt.

Thanks.

1980 Honda CB900C from Canada

Summary:

It's a classic keeper to the end!

Faults:

Slight oil leak in the head gasket at 50,000.

Replaced the original seat at 30,000 with a Corbin.

Odometer driver gear failed at 54,000.

Replaced pipes with Jawa 4-4.

General Comments:

The bike continues to perform much better than I thought it would.

The original seat had to go - replaced it with a Corbin custom - at last comfort!

Rear suspension a wee bit soft with a passenger.

Pulls my trailer without difficulty.

Although top heavy, it is a pleasure to handle - just don't let it lean too far when stopped.

To date, I have received numerous offers to sell it - not likely.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2009

16th May 2009, 14:10

We have a 1980 Honda CB900 16,000 miles, excellent condition, what do you suggest we ask for it?

8th Oct 2012, 14:15

If there are no issues, (i.e.: rusty gas tank, dented gas tank, missing/cracked side covers, imperfect turn signals, etc) I wouldn't be afraid to ask $1,500 to $2,000 USD.

6th Jul 2014, 07:02

I would say 1500 to 1700 at least; possibly more depending on condition. Great bikes, low maintenance & good for many more miles.

1981 Honda CB900C from United States of America

Summary:

Superb

Faults:

Leaky valve cover gasket at 18,000 miles.

General Comments:

Best bike I ever owned, as regards looks, power, comfort, reliability, low maintenance.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2009

1981 Honda CB900C from United States of America

Summary:

A very fun and enjoyable machine

Faults:

Front brake calipers seize up during off season.

The dual range shifter is stiff. Hard to use.

The front master cylinder is brittle and leaks.

General Comments:

I bought this bike from an "older" co- worker. He gave me a price I could not refuse.

The bike was in non-running condition when I bought it. It had six years of dust, dirt, and rust built up on it. The first thing I did was, I bought a new battery and spark plugs. Also, a fresh gallon of gas.

The bike finally started. Ran just like a bike would after sitting so long. The carburetors leaked. The bike sounded weak.

So, I bought a gallon of carburetor cleaner. Pulled the carburetors off the bike and headed to my dad's house. Dad and I spent the better part of the day cleaning them.

In the end, it was worth every penny. The bike runs great. We also spent days on end cleaning the bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2009

1st Mar 2009, 10:45

In 59 years, I've had a bunch of bikes, Harley's, (four), James, Zundapp, Triumph, Honda's, (three) ---- bought my CB900C new in 1981, still have it. It's still in almost new condition. Nothing I've ridden comes close to it in reliability, looks, power, and low maintenance.

A note to the guys who stated their bikes were hard to start after sitting for some time. They probably aren't aware that one of the carbs has an accelerator pump. It's only necessary to twist the throttle handle a few times and then crank the engine with only a small amount of throttle and varoom.

The only things replaced on my bike in 28 years are tires, batteries, plugs, oil filters, and one valve cover gasket. I don't beat on a bike real hard, but when I do kick it in the tail, it's still a rush, and it still smokes the rear tire easily.

Best bike I ever owned, and at my age, my last one.