Yamaha XJ650 Maxim Reviews from Canada

1984 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 kilometres
Most recent distance41000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleSuzuki T500 Titan

Summary:

I really enjoy my 1984 XJ650 Maxim!

Faults:

No serious problems at all. A very dependable, low maintenance ride.

Valves on mine are a bit noisy, and a valve adjustment didn't seem to make much difference, but a half-can of Winn's Engine Tune-Up works great, quiets them right down.

General Comments:

I really enjoy this bike. It's not screaming fast, but very competent, and gives a nice rush of speed in the higher RPM range.

It corners very well with good tires, and it never gets scary.

Seat comfort is good to adequate. I'm quite ready for a stretch and to walk around about the same time I need to tank up again.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2008

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance46500 miles

Faults:

Nothing so far, have just bought bike a month ago.

General Comments:

This is my first bike, rides very nice.

When shifting it seems to be clunky. Would this be normal, is this how the shaft drive works, is it something you get use to or could something be wrong???

Any comments, anyone.

Glen.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2008

13th Sep 2008, 09:14

I bought my bike 3 weeks ago and find the first few gears are clunky when shifting also. Hoping it's normal. I have a 82 Maxim with 65000 k on it.

1980 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4800 kilometres
Most recent distance6700 kilometres

Summary:

Great!!

Faults:

I've had to replace the carb boots, front brake pads and exhaust.

General Comments:

This is my first bike. It looks and handles great, and is big enough for serious highway travel..

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2008

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles

Summary:

One fine machine!

Faults:

Very little, other than I have to change the battery every so often, and front fork seals every 4 -5 years.

General Comments:

I've had mine for 24 years, and still love to ride it (most days to work when the weather permits).

The folks at Yamaha did great work in designing and building this fine machine. It runs great and has never had a part failure, except for the odd battery.

The seat is less than ideal, especially for long rides, but I wouldn't trade my 650 for anything.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2007

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 5 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 kilometres
Most recent distance44000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable as heck

Faults:

Rebuilt carburators.

General Comments:

The bike treats me as well as I treat it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2007

1983 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2003
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous motorcycleTriumph Daytona

Summary:

A well-maintained used XJ has a high fun-cost ratio

Faults:

The Yamaha XJ series are generally very reliable (thanks in part to shaft drive and electronic ignition, as well as an excellent engine design).

Many of these are still rolling happily at 25+ years, long after lesser bikes have bit the dust. Common problems: corrosion in the fuse block (replace it with in-line fuses); corrosion in electrical connectors; weak coils (replace with Dynas). If the bike has been stored a while, disassembling and cleaning the carbs may be necessary, or at least a few good shots of SeaFoam.

General Comments:

There is an active owners' listserv, xj-owners, at micapeak.com of riders who fix their own and are very supportive, trading parts and advice, and even producing an inexpensive CD/DVD set full of technical info and tips.

I highly recommend these bikes for inexpensive touring and commuting, and they're still fast enough to blow off most Harleys and sports cars!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2007

1981 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006

Summary:

The bike has timeless beauty

Faults:

After 25 years, the seat needs some attention.

Not bad for our climate here in Vancouver Canada.

General Comments:

I love the looks of the 650 series from Yamaha.

I presently own a 2000 Harley Fat Boy Custom as my own ride, but purchased the 650 Maxim as a training bike for my son, and now for my bike crazy girlfriend.

My very first bike was a Yamaha 650 Special, and I bought it because of its Harley looks at the time, and have loved the bike ever since.

My only observation or complaint is that the seat height is too high.

Does anyone know how I can lower the bike for my girlfriend, by at least 2 inches?

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2006

14th Jul 2006, 11:29

The seat's too high? It's like 29.5 inches from the ground.

I'm only 5'7" and the seat height of my Maxim is fine.

Instead of lowering the height of the Maxim (and reducing the ground clearance to dangerous levels), why don't you find your girlfriend a Honda Rebel or Yamaha 250 Virago?

If she's that small, the Maxim may be too much bike for her anyway.

4th Oct 2006, 14:59

Hello there, email me at redfordranger2000@hotmail.com, and I will send you a pic from a guy from europe in what he did to his yamaha 650, solved the seat situation, the bike looks way cool...

Larry..

22nd Feb 2009, 07:14

You can lower the shocks buy turning them, and loosen the front forks.. by the tree bolts and pushing the forks up one inch.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 7 reviews