Honda C90 Cub Reviews from United Kingdom

1990 Honda C90 Cub

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 2 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 2 / 10
Handling marks 2 / 10
Braking marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles

Summary:

A remarkable machine

Faults:

It has had a battery, exhaust pip and a headlight bulb. I have changed the rear suspension bushes and it has had 2 chains and 1 sprocket set.

The seat is cracking and it is going rusty, but it gets used every day, no matter what the weather.

General Comments:

I love my little 90. It has been so reliable and cheap to run. It handles poorly, stops eventually and wouldn't pull your hat off. But it always starts and runs really well.

I use it to commute on everyday, come rain, shine or snow. I do do a bit of low speed touring on it, and have covered over 100 miles in a day on several occasions, albeit slowly, but hey, where's the fire!

It's been a good little bike and has earnt me 4 years of protected no claims. I just hope I've not been too late with the Wax Oil...

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2007

19th Mar 2007, 08:27

I have one of these fantastic machines, and find it enough for me. I am 76 years old, and it gets me down to get my pension, and shopping, and on the weekend I visit my ladyfriends, bookmaker, and of course the pub. I usually spend 6 quid a week on petrol, and it burns no oil. I am also very safe in the knowledge that I WILL NEVER EVER BE PULLED ON THIS BIKE!

20th Apr 2007, 11:27

- "I am 76 years old, and it gets me down to get my pension, and shopping... and on the weekend I visit my ladyfriends... I am also very safe in the knowledge that I WILL NEVER EVER BE PULLED ON THIS BIKE!" -

WOW! Wish I could match you NOW, with the plural 's' in ladyfriends, never mind when I'm 76!!!

(Are you sure it's a C90 you're 'pulling' them with?)

I bought a 2003 C90 and find the flashing roadside 40mph signs screaming back SLOW DOWN. So, I guess the later models are the ones to go for, if you want to get pulled over.

Just imagine the scene: "Why so glum"

"I got nicked for speeding on my C90 - again!"

"Hooligan! Time you traded down to a 50cc mate".

4th May 2007, 09:08

I have rode my bike back from Pub every day for 12 years day and night in all sorts of conditions and I never ever get pulled over!

15th May 2007, 13:01

Hello fellow biker's.. I have a BMW 1150 GS ADV and a Honda 90 1993 Cub. I use the works Honda every day going to work and general duties.

The works Honda puts a smile on my face. The wee bike is awesome. Flat out at 45 can't be bad.

This bike will go on forever. Long live the C90.

Gary Colwell

Northern Ireland

16th Jun 2008, 11:54

I picked up a C90 cub with 20,000 miles on it for £300, and am off to Italy on it in August. Can anyone advise on a low pass through the alps avoiding motorways, for obvious reasons. Thanks.

5th Jun 2010, 23:36

At the moment I never want to part with my C90. Yes I've had a big bike, but just no room on the road anymore. Stick to old faithful; just goes forever...

1991 Honda C90 Cub

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha T80 Townmate

Summary:

Excellent town tool, but very prone to theft

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. Only needed a replacement left front indicator. This was due to the bike falling over.

General Comments:

The engine has excellent spread of torque. This allows top gear to be used in a variety of traffic conditions.

The engine pulls very well with two up.

The brakes, despite being drums, are impressive.

The enclosed chain never seemed to stretch.

The twelve volt electrical system with the electric start was excellent.

Only down side to this bike, was the pathetic 3.5 liter fuel tank. This necessitated filling up every ninety miles or so (every three to four days for me).

The ride was smooth and performance was adequate to put some other scooters to shame.

This legendary step-thru with its admired reputation for reliability, robustness etc, is very prone to theft as I and several mates unfortunately found out.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2005

22nd Aug 2005, 09:55

I had a Honda 90 Back in the late 1980's. I completely thrashed it daily for over a year then I sold it on to a mate of mine. The engine blew up one week later.

25th Dec 2005, 12:36

..which just goes to prove how popular these things still are, due to reliabilty, durability and economy. My dad had the c70 version, regularly travelled 2 up carrying about 30 stone!

Still loads around in Vietnam and other parts of Asia as they simply go on forever. A superb machine.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 2 reviews