Honda CB600F Hornet Reviews from United Kingdom

2002 Honda CB600F Hornet

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles

Summary:

Simply brilliant all-rounder, great machine

Faults:

The only problem I've had with this bike is the cam chain tension adjuster broke. I fitted the new one myself no problem.

General Comments:

This is my first middleweight bike after passing my test. As said in a previous review, it's an ideal first big bike.

Reliability, handling, comfort, and confidence building are in my opinion second to none.

The power is enough for anyone, and still brings a smile to my face when the throttle is fully open.

I use this bike on the daily commute, and on weekends to the local meet; no complaints here, I love this bike, it's a great all-rounder.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2009

1998 Honda CB600F Hornet

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Distance when acquired16000 kilometres
Most recent distance17000 kilometres

Summary:

Good

Faults:

It's a imported Honda Hornet, it may be at fault?

At 7,000 revs it can cut out (no power) and then cuts back in after few seconds.

If riding slowly, ie not reving bike in high gear, it will go all day without any problems.

I have been told these bikes are restricted abroad, but I have full power on mine. I have gone up to 110 miles per hour...

I do allot of small journeys to work every day; 3 miles there and back... any suggestions?

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd February, 2007

2000 Honda CB600F Hornet

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance8500 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB600F Hornet

Summary:

Best all round bike I ever owned!

Faults:

Nothing at all... totally reliable.

General Comments:

Super bike, I turned it into a streetfighter from the day I got it.

Was quick enough for what I wanted, had some great times on that bike, kept up with R6's and a friend's 748 duke. As with all bikes like that though, long treks do take their toll on your shoulders because of the lack of wind protection.

It's a great all rounder too, and comfortable for a pillion. Unlike my XB9R, which was very small, this could cope 2's up or say 200 miles, and not be to uncomfortable.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2005

1997 Honda CB600F Hornet

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous motorcycleVespa ET4 125

Summary:

The perfect first big bike

Faults:

The bike will not tick over properly from a warm start. I have to hold the throttle open for a minute or so before it will idle without stalling. Service is due soon. Hopefully it will be sorted.

No other problems at all.

General Comments:

It has been 6 months and 3,000 miles on the Hornet since I passed my bike test. I took in all the advice and bought the Hornet as "my first big bike", and I definitely made the right choice.

It gives a very comfortable, upright riding position, with a low seat height, though I might say just a bit too small in overall dimensions for a 6-foot, 13-stone man.

The power, handling and brakes are all much more capable than me at the moment, but all is smooth, forgiving and confidence inspiring, and all I can do is continue to gain confidence on this bike.

Running costs are very good. Low insurance group, and fairly economical on fuel.

It comes highly recommended to anyone just starting out in biking, but I've heard of so many people who keep them for years.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2005

22nd Feb 2005, 04:09

I agree with you on this bike, it was my first 'big' bike after a year on a 125 learner bike and I don't plan to change it any time soon.

I had a similar idling problem to you and it was sorted out with a service.

It is a small bike physically, although I am 6 foot 3 and 15 stone, and I never feel over-sized on it.

I tend to ride with a passenger all the time, and she tells me the seat and low pegs, along with the big grab rail, makes for a good passenger experience.

I have had mine (2002 model) for about 2 years now and not a single thing has gone wrong, the reliability is astonishing. The only downside is the relative lack of mid-range torque, you need to drop a couple of gears to overtake and use all those glorious revs!

I cannot recommend this bike enough to anyone wanting to get into motorcycling. The running costs are tiny compared to any car, and the bike does everything you could really ask.

19th May 2005, 13:13

I just got this bike about a month ago. It is a great bike and I absolutely love it.

I kept up with a friend on his Duc 900 Monster and actually passed him at about 120 mph. Little did I know that the reason I passed him was because a turn was coming up that I didn't realize was there, and he was braking for it. I sped by, proceeded to lock up the brakes and slide, laid over and slid into some grassy area. The only thing wrong with the bike is it is leaking trans fluid from a bolt which got stripped and the mirror/tank needed to be replaced/painted. Oh yeah, the rear brake lever is all bent up. So, this bike is very reliable if you ask me.

15th Oct 2009, 18:47

I had one of these and hated it. It guzzled fuel like no tomorrow, major vibrations at high revs. Only good thing to say about it was that it had pretty quick acceleration.

This bike basically lacked character, it sounded like a sewing machine. Would not recommend it to anyone. Suzuki SV-650 is a much better option if looking for a bike in the 600 range.

1st Nov 2010, 15:09

Riding hornet for years now, it's one of the best all-rounders available. Frame's a bit soft for the track, but it wheelies for days & is super reliable... you can't lose.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 4 reviews