Honda XL600R Reviews from United Kingdom

1984 Honda XL600R

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles

Summary:

A beast of a trail bike, the biggest and last of the kickers before electric start

Faults:

The magneto coil had to be rewound because it failed at 10,000 miles and gave erratic starting and cut outs.

The clutch had to be renewed after 18,000 miles.

The cylinder head gasket blew and was replaced at 17,000 miles.

The front disk was worn out and replaced at 19,000 miles.

The front caliper pistons had to be overhauled at 19,000 miles / 24 years old at time.

New rear tyres every 5,000 miles, and front every 8,000 miles.

Needs a new seat cover as the original is perished.

General Comments:

The Honda 600cc big single is bullet proof and will never let you down. It doesn't even need a battery to get started, and once running all electrics work, except the indicators which need the battery.

It's great fun to ride with loads of low down torque to tug you up to speed in every gear with just a small twist on the throttle. It can be revved hard and punished without complaint. Or ridden slowly around town at low rpm. It does the lot.

On the motorway it will do 90mph if one is prone. But upright with those big bars and sit up and beg position, it's comfortable up to 75mph and no more. It is a trail bike after all!

She's a beast to start and one needs to learn the technique. Just the effort involved in kicking her over will bring you out in a sweat if you don't get it right first time. I always maintain that it will never get stolen because nobody can start the thing because either they are too weedy or they don't know her characteristics. This is a man's bike to start. The timid or very small out there, be aware she will hurt you and hurt you bad if you get it wrong. One needs to be the master when kicking this baby into life.

Once tamed, she is adorable.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2008

30th Aug 2008, 07:50

You couldn`t have explained the XL600R better my friend. I too have the hereditary XL600R shin bone syndrome. I have never been kicked so hard in my life, and to top it off, my knee hit the handlebars, so I was rolling around in agony.

I hadn't even got on it yet, but once you master starting it my eyes were opened, certainly a big boy's toy.

For the faint hearted of you, start by jumping on a bull and hanging on for your life. When you stop falling off, you're ready for the XL600R.

5th Sep 2008, 16:38

I agree the 1983 XR600R is the best of the beasts. I have had 4 XL350R's and a XR250R, and I will tell you a 1983 600R will take you to hell and back, so hang on, and yes once you get it going, it will take whatever you can throw at it...

5th Apr 2011, 23:48

I agree, it's nothing your average rider could start or let alone ride, I love this bike, and will not steer away from Honda anything for life!!!

15th Apr 2011, 19:05

Yes, the 1983 is dandy. Nothing beats the look & style of the 1985 XL600 for me!

29th Apr 2011, 18:57

XL600r is a great bike, pure power, not for a novice, love my XL6.

9th May 2011, 16:29

Just sold my 97 Pan & got me a 84 XL600R with 20k on the clock. The last guy had it for 20 years, SS front pipes & laser pro-duro can, which had been shortened by 5". He had another baffle plate welded in, which had choked the performance. Two hours later with the baffle plate removed, she is now breathing with a lovely deep bark, plug chop revealed a light tan colour, white with baffle in. I love this bike, and will be buried with it.

1986 Honda XL600R

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance58000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleSuzuki bandit

Summary:

A great old thumper with bags of fun and it's easy to maintain

Faults:

None since overhaul.

General Comments:

I bought this motorcycle in a neglected condition and made an overhaul. Main problems were worn out brakes and chassis bearings.

I found all the parts from factors with the exception of the brake disc, which I obtained from David Silver at a reasonable price, together with a rather expensive master cylinder.

Hey, this bike is 20 years old and considering the abuse it must have suffered, it's still going strong and is a hoot to ride. It just goes to show how well this machine was built, that Honda parts are still available for it, and yes they are a little expensive, but I don't think I will be needing many.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2006

21st Aug 2006, 01:48

Thanks for the review. I am looking to restore a bike myself. Any tips would be really useful.

ellttkt@aol.com

15th Nov 2006, 04:43

Hi, I bought a 600, which was imported from Italy. After a long time off bikes, I have found it a very good bike; not too fast as it gets a bit hairy over 70mph, and very good on petrol - I get 70mpg and my daughter loves it too.

Kev from Nottingham.

1984 Honda XL600R

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24900 miles
Most recent distance27500 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda cm 200t

Summary:

Good all rounder when running right

Faults:

Total engine rebuild on purchase of the bike.

Cam chain replaced after 500 miles.

Head gasket leaking.

New front brake caliper fitted.

Rear brake shoes replaced.

General Comments:

Good all rounder, with a comfy ride.

Parts are hard to locate and are expensive.

Needs regular services.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2006

1984 Honda XL600R

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 5 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24500 miles
Most recent distance25500 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CM200T

Summary:

Nice classic bike, but a bit pricey for parts

Faults:

Total engine rebuild on purchasing the machine.

New rear and front brakes.

New piston rings after 1000 miles.

General Comments:

Nice off road bike, but it's costing a fortune.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2005

27th Feb 2013, 22:52

I have owned a 1984 Honda XL600R from day one. Have had it for the last 28 years. Never had a problem, it is daily ride for me, and I keep it all original and in showroom condition. It's very powerful, fast and smooth in the street and off road. If you have one, make sure you look after this great bike.

All the best.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 4 reviews