Honda FSC600 Silver Wing Reviews from United States of America - Page 2 of 2

2004 Honda FSC600 Silver Wing

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.9 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda BMW R1100 RT

Summary:

It is a great bike, handles well and is classy

Faults:

Continuous Variable Transmission (or CVT) rollers needed replacing at 8500 miles. They had worn flat spots on them. Also the drive belt was replaced at the same time.

General Comments:

Great bike, very comfortable for touring and daily commutes. It handles quickly, hard to high side, and accelerates to 60 really fast.

There is belt knock from the drive train above 60 miles an hour. There are visible wear marks where the belts slaps the upper and lower drive train housing. This results in faster belt wear and belt glazing, which causes some slippage on occasion.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2008

2003 Honda FSC600 Silver Wing

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired2800 miles
Most recent distance3400 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha V-Star Silverado

Summary:

Super

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I've been riding motorcycles for forty years. I've owned an assortment of different bikes. It was within the last year that I started having trouble shifting gears. At first I thought it was the bike, but soon learned that an old back injury was causing my left foot to go numb. I refused to give up riding, so I started to look for a bike that I could ride.

I purchased a used Silver wing with 2,800 miles on it a few months back and I couldn't be happier. This thing is an absolute thrill to ride. It has all the power you need to run with much larger bikes. Handling is as good as any bike I have owned. I ride every day and I don't have to worry about shifting gears any more. This bike is a keeper.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2008

2006 Honda FSC600 Silver Wing

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.9 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous motorcycleMoto Guzzi Breva V 750 IE

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

Nothing. This bike has been flawless.

General Comments:

This is a fantastic motorcycle/scooter.

The power-band is smooth right up to highway speeds.

Bike cruises effortlessly at 75-80 miles per hour.

Lots of reserve power for passing.

Very stable at high speeds.

The automatic CVT transmission shifts seamlessly.

It is a big bike, but handles well on street and highway.

The combined brakes with ABS are strong and powerful.

Mileage has been good. Average 50 mpg.

Lots of useful storage.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2008

2006 Honda FSC600 Silver Wing

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance300 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki Ninja ZX-10R

Summary:

A scooter with the characteristics of a motorcycle

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

I still own my Kawasaki ZX10R, so it's not a "previous" motorcycle.

I purchased the Honda FSC600 Silver Wing after research and consulting with current owners. I have nothing but good things to say about the Silver Wing. I have purposely taken it into tight slow speed turns, as well as high speed turns. I've tested its top speed, acceleration, hard braking, and put its storage to the limit. It rides well in every situation.

My plan is to use it as a daily commuter by highway for minimum 160 miles/day. I haven't moved yet, so I'm testing everything about it now. I'm very happy with my purchase!

The Silver Wing is the third motorcycle I've owned. It's fun, easily maneuverable, and has plenty of storage.

I full throttled it from stop, and it does not lift off the ground.

The stock seat is comfortable. The ride is smooth at slow and high speeds.

The fuel reserve is near one gallon, and I got 135 miles of hard riding from a tank before the reserve, I'm still good for another 40 miles after that.

You can rest your feet flat or at an angle. Plenty comfortable.

I've had more people stop and question me about this bike more than any other. I've known people to own as many as 5 Silver Wings. Personally, I love it and I'll buy another one.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th December, 2007

27th Sep 2009, 15:48

You've done an excellent job of identifying the FSC 600's virtues. I have owned mine since 2002, when Japan first began exporting them to the United States.

My first mechanized two wheeler was a Honda Elite CH80, which was a good bike to learn on. Very simple to operate and fun to ride, however not powerful enough to ride on major roadways. It's top speed was about 42mph, however, it was not a good idea to operate the bike at that speed for any length of time.

The CH 80 cruised nicely at about 35 mph.

I still own the Silverwing and would highly recommend it to someone who's grown tired of shifting gears on their motorcycle, or simply wants to move up from a scooter.

One caveat here: The Silverwing is a powerful motorcycle which is capable of more than 100mph, and must be taken very seriously. In the early days there were several posts on a Silverwing forum from riders who were small in stature, breaking bones when their FSC 600 got away from them.

It turned out to be more bike than they could handle.

Several bikers purchased FSC 600's for their wives thinking that they would be safe on the Silverwing, only to find that they got into trouble in a big hurry.

I am aware of a few people who were seriously injured when crashing their Silverwings into other vehicles. In fact, the 'Wing can be a handful in tight places like one's own driveway, when a bit too much throttle and insufficient grip on the handlebars can lead to taking a spill or crashing into a parked car.

Other than these caveats, the Silverwing has been a pleasure to own and operate, and has given this author a tremendous amount of enjoyment.

Highly recommended!

2003 Honda FSC600 Silver Wing

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance5800 miles

Summary:

Great lady's bike

Faults:

I have had no problems with this bike. Shortly after I bought it, I saw that there were 3 recalls, and I took it in and had it done in no time.

General Comments:

I bought this bike for my wife. It keeps up with the other bikes in our club with no problem. Good take off and smooth braking.

Even with 2 adults riding the bike looks top heavy, but it is not.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th July, 2007

2005 Honda FSC600 Silver Wing

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired92 miles
Most recent distance648 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS850

Summary:

Wouldn't trade it for anything

Faults:

Nothing wrong with it at this time. Still a new bike and breaking it in.

General Comments:

Silver Wing 600 is quick on the acceleration since it is an automatic transmission and shifting is not involved. Don't even feel it change gears at all.

Back rest could be higher for the driver. Sits too low on my back.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2006

22nd Aug 2009, 10:21

You don't feel it changing gears, because unlike a traditional gear box, it does not have any gears. A scooter changes "gears" by using a device called a variator.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews