1998 Honda GL1500C Valkyrie

Summary:

Best motorcycle ridden over 40 years

Faults:

No problems!

General Comments:

Muscle car fun on 2 wheels.

Extremely comfortable on long or short rides, even with 2-up riding.

Consistently gets 38 MPG.

Lots of aftermarket items available.

Smooth and reliable POWER!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2008

19th Jul 2009, 15:41

Yes agree with all you say... I have a yellow/black 1997 Valk.. just tops all bikes.

Andy, England.

17th Jun 2010, 06:49

I cannot stay off this bike!! It is awesome, other cruisers look like toys compared to this bike. The speed is incredible. It purrs at 115mph /185kph with more to spare. Easy to work on as well. I get complements every day on this bike.

Brian from Canada

1st Nov 2011, 13:37

I ride my 99 Valkyrie everyday. Almost 190 miles round trip from home to work, and I have yet to do anything other than oil changes (Shell 15w-40 Rotella-T) and new tires. On the weekends I usually ride about 400 miles. Simply the best bike.

1999 Honda GL1500C Valkyrie

Summary:

If you have never owned one, you are missing out

Faults:

Nothing. Not one thing. Got some dead bugs on it though.

General Comments:

No bike fits everyone the same, but for me this bike is just about perfect.

You can cruise and shift at low RPM's with no fear of stalling or lagging. You can shift at red line and suddenly you're on a sport bike.

The looks are awesome. Keep the chrome clean and it's blinding.

I have owned many bikes and borrowed many more from friends. Nothing compares to a Valkyrie. Makes Harleys seem punky.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th October, 2007

1998 Honda GL1500C Valkyrie

Summary:

Buy one!

Faults:

The carbs have to be synced, and there are six, so it is a little tricky.

General Comments:

Big and comfortable.

Good power, but not great.

Handles well for this type of bike.

Very reliable, and though it is eight years old, it still looks new.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2006

2001 Honda GL1500C Valkyrie

Summary:

Best cruising bike I can imagine, and the look is way cool

Faults:

Nada.

General Comments:

Heavy at slow speeds, but very flick-able at normal speeds, goes where you point it; handles bumps like a car.

The tank is fat, and you get a bit of hip cramping after a few hours.

People stop me and compliment me on the looks of all the chrome. I tell them it is straight out of the box, no enhancements, and they don't believe me.

Beetle Bags complete the look, and make it more functional.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2006

1998 Honda GL1500C Valkyrie

Summary:

This is the perfect motorcycle

Faults:

Nothing has ever gone wrong with this bike, ever.

OK, well, I did pick up a nail in the back tire, but, it never went flat and I fixed it. The GL1500C is possibly the most reliable motorcycle I have ever owned.

General Comments:

OK, acceleration. Wow, holy cow. It's real, real strong.

When I bought my bike it had been upgraded with a six into six cobra exhaust with rejetted carbs. On the dyno it showed 104 horsepower at the rear tire. It is frighteningly quick with more torque than my car. It runs with the $30-$40,000.00 custom choppers and never even gets winded.

When I bought the bike, used, it was also upgraded with a touring seat, a Honda line windshield, highway pegs, saddle bags, highway light bar and little nick-nacks here and there. So, this bike can smoke the bikes that cost five times more out of the parking lot and then go 700 miles, all in the same day. How great is that!

If I have a complaint, it would be that the Valkyrie gets bad gas mileage, for a motorcycle. I guess for space shuttle acceleration one must make sacrifices. What that means is that I must make a gas stop every two hours or so, and it's not optional.

The Valkyrie has big fat tires front and back. It also has big inverted forks and fat shocks. What all that means is that it will carve through the mountains like a pro. It does run out of ground clearance fairly quick, but, up to that point you can ride like Kenny Roberts.

I love the Honda Valkyrie F6. I love it. I have owned it for three years and it is still as good as the day I brought it home for the first time. For most of the year I leave the windshield off and just ride in the open wind. The Valkyrie just cruises wonderfully. Then, if I want to drive the five hours over to Gatlinburg or Knoxville, I just throw the windshield on and go for some lunch. Ten hour days are very possible on a Valkyrie. In fact, they are fun.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2005

26th Aug 2007, 17:24

I agree with all of it. A perfect cycle, but mine gets 35 mpg average; good for two hours, and no more. I have owned mine for 5 years.

12th Oct 2007, 21:53

Your poor mileage is from the re-jetted carbs. My bike gets 35 mph all day. My buddies gets 22 to 25 mph and has the same jet and pipes set up as you do. His has a little more top speed, about 5 mph. But he tends to short shift because the pipes are so loud. Go back to stock, rev it up, and get better mileage.

I was cruising with a friend who rides a FJR1300. It's a great bike, but after 325 miles he felt like stopping. I went another 300 miles and enjoyed the whole ride.

22nd Apr 2009, 10:19

I've owned mine for 9 years and wouldn't trade it for any other bike. I also own a Harley that I ripped down to the frame and customized myself about 15 years ago, that has been sitting unridden in my garage for 8 years for that very reason. It's a totally unique muscle bike, who cares about gas mileage? Hell, now it's even a collectible! Ride free and enjoy! Valkyries forever!

13th Oct 2010, 20:43

I have a 98 Tourer that I bought used 4 years ago. Has never given me any trouble, and is a joy to ride. Gets about 35 mpg cruising, maybe 30 around town. If you like to work on & rebuild bikes, don't buy this one! Get a Harley.

8th Nov 2011, 15:04

Spending the day on my 99 Valkyrie tourer is a blast. With 1,100 miles of coastline here in California to explore, mountains to ride up, and Death Valley to cross, this is the best way to do it all. And you look way cool while you are riding.

Ride free.