Honda XL600R Reviews from United States of America

1986 Honda XL600R

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CMX450

Summary:

I won't sell this until I am to old to be able to kick start it!

Faults:

Only real problem it ever gave me was the stator dying out of nowhere.

General Comments:

Massive pain in the butt to start until you learn the steps for your bike. Once you learn your bike, it's a one kicker.

When you are kick starting it, the big cylinder will occasionally kick back. That usually ends in some minor pain.

Tons of power. I've lifted the front tire off the ground many times on accident before.

It's awesome offroad, you can go just as fast offroad as you can on.

There's also a monster difference on mpg, depending on how much you twist the throttle; once that second carb opens up, it's tearing through gas, but you can't stop twisting because that second carb kicking in is just too much fun.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2010

1985 Honda XL600R

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired19196 miles
Most recent distance21887 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB700SC Nighthawk

Summary:

This is the most fun motorcycle I've ever owned!

Faults:

This motorcycle was purchased as a true "barn find". The original owner stated that he stopped riding it sometime in the 90's because it became harder and harder for him to start. I had a feeling that the fuel system was probably gumming up due to his infrequent riding.

I purchased it from him for $400 dollars. I performed a complete tune-up and set every adjustment to factory specs. Rebuilt both carbs using kits from Keyster Carbs. R&R'd the brakes and put a new battery in her. Total cost for repairs was approximately $225 dollars and total time working on her was about 50 hours.

The results were amazing. The Honda looks darn near new and starts and runs like a Honda should! I've ridden it @ 2700 miles since purchasing it and I have not had one issue with it. It is quite fast, very powerful and holds her own on California freeways! This motorcycle always puts a smile on my face!

General Comments:

If you always wanted to ride a dirt-bike on the street, go and buy yourself a Honda XL600!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2008

1986 Honda XL600R

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 5 / 10
Braking marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki EX500

Summary:

A bulletproof dual-sport, good for trails

Faults:

It was very hard starting when hot, needed about 10 kicks. Replaced the stator, now starts reliably in 2-3 kicks. $140 from rickystator.com.

General Comments:

Plenty of power for the street and trails.

I lowered the forks 1.5 inches in the clamp; now it is more stable at high speed on the street.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2007

1984 Honda XL600R

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 kilometres
Most recent distance26000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleHonda XL600R

Summary:

Every bike should handle riding over curbs and pedestrians this well

Faults:

Cams failed and ate through rocker arms due to the poor top-end lubrication common to these bikes.

Replaced the seat cover.

It was stolen and crashed.

General Comments:

I bored it, and now it does second gear wheelies.

Every bike should handle riding over curbs and pedestrians this well.

A must for getting over potholes successfully around Washington DC.

Wooden brakes, but they stop the bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2007

1983 Honda XL600R

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles

Summary:

A good old thumper

Faults:

Carburetor rebuilt.

Ignition coil replaced.

Oil leaks.

Fork seals leak.

General Comments:

Great big old thumper.

Starts first kick once you know the proper procedure.

Great low end torque, really hard to bog the engine down.

Carb is jetted really lean from the factory.

Bike is heavy so its off-road ability is limited; definitely not for a novice.

Overall good, but parts are not cheap.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2007

1984 Honda XL600R

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8200 miles
Most recent distance11600 miles
Previous motorcycleDucati 750 Sport

Summary:

I'll never sell it

Faults:

Seat cover replaced.

Tires, chains, and oil. That's it.

General Comments:

The best 500 dollars I've ever spent. I've ridden it 13 years on nothing but chains, tires, gas and oil.

Fast, comfortable, and dead reliable.

Nearly a quarter century old, and still starts first kick.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2007

20th Apr 2011, 15:26

OK, you rode it 13 years, but something like 3 000 miles... that's not much!

1984 Honda XL600R

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2001
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda ZR50

Summary:

The best "all-around" bike I ever owned

Faults:

Oil seepage on lower frame fittings and hoses.

Turn signal switch sometimes didn't work.

Minor fork seal leak.

General Comments:

As others have noted, this bike is deceptively quick for a single cylinder S.U.B. (Sport Utility Bike).

It's also comfortable enough for light touring. It does vibrate a little, but hey, it's a BIG single. I nicknamed mine "Trail Wing".

And as long a mountain road is VERY twisty, it'll give some sport bikes a run for their money.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2006

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 9 reviews