1986 Honda XL600R

Summary:

A bulletproof dual-sport, good for trails

Faults:

It was very hard starting when hot, needed about 10 kicks. Replaced the stator, now starts reliably in 2-3 kicks. $140 from rickystator.com.

General Comments:

Plenty of power for the street and trails.

I lowered the forks 1.5 inches in the clamp; now it is more stable at high speed on the street.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2007

1984 Honda XL600R

Summary:

Every bike should handle riding over curbs and pedestrians this well

Faults:

Cams failed and ate through rocker arms due to the poor top-end lubrication common to these bikes.

Replaced the seat cover.

It was stolen and crashed.

General Comments:

I bored it, and now it does second gear wheelies.

Every bike should handle riding over curbs and pedestrians this well.

A must for getting over potholes successfully around Washington DC.

Wooden brakes, but they stop the bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2007

1983 Honda XL600R

Summary:

A good old thumper

Faults:

Carburetor rebuilt.

Ignition coil replaced.

Oil leaks.

Fork seals leak.

General Comments:

Great big old thumper.

Starts first kick once you know the proper procedure.

Great low end torque, really hard to bog the engine down.

Carb is jetted really lean from the factory.

Bike is heavy so its off-road ability is limited; definitely not for a novice.

Overall good, but parts are not cheap.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2007

1984 Honda XL600R

Summary:

I'll never sell it

Faults:

Seat cover replaced.

Tires, chains, and oil. That's it.

General Comments:

The best 500 dollars I've ever spent. I've ridden it 13 years on nothing but chains, tires, gas and oil.

Fast, comfortable, and dead reliable.

Nearly a quarter century old, and still starts first kick.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2007

20th Apr 2011, 15:26

OK, you rode it 13 years, but something like 3 000 miles... that's not much!

1984 Honda XL600R

Summary:

The best "all-around" bike I ever owned

Faults:

Oil seepage on lower frame fittings and hoses.

Turn signal switch sometimes didn't work.

Minor fork seal leak.

General Comments:

As others have noted, this bike is deceptively quick for a single cylinder S.U.B. (Sport Utility Bike).

It's also comfortable enough for light touring. It does vibrate a little, but hey, it's a BIG single. I nicknamed mine "Trail Wing".

And as long a mountain road is VERY twisty, it'll give some sport bikes a run for their money.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2006

1985 Honda XL600R

Summary:

Great investment bike!!

Faults:

I am the original owner of this 1985 Honda XL600r, I purchased it in Denver Colorado in 1985.

I love this bike! Yes the stator went out in Fresno once, and the head still leaks oil, and if you don't ride this bike regularly, it can be hard to start after a month or two. With all that said, this bike is light, fast and still looks great, although I did get rid of that ugly blue on the seat and shock towers! Replaced it with Black! Now the bike is Orange & Black. looks like a big Jack-O-Lanturn!

I own a Harley FXRS also, and this Honda holds its own off the line againest my EVO 1400cc Harley, at least for a block or so! And that Honda is light & nimble. Nothing stops this XL600. Not stairs, not parking lots and no Mountain Trail here in Colorado. I'm about to move to Corpus Christi Texas, and I plan to ride this bike on the beaches of North Padre Island within the next 3 weeks. I love this old bike!

General Comments:

If you can find one for sale, buy it!

It's a classic thumper. I don't think you could lose money on the purchase of one of these bikes. They're going up in value. This is the 55 Chevy of classic Dual Purpose MotorCycles!

Be careful, they love to go airborne! And they eat up rear tires like nothing else I've ever driven. And I've driven a few scooters in my day!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2006

3rd Nov 2006, 12:55

These bikes due eat rear tires rather quickly. As well as chain & sprockets. Might be due to swing-arm bushings. They feel tight with the pressure from the pro-link pushing down on them. But disconnect the shock and you can feel some wiggle.

The fuel mixture is critical for ease of cold starts without popping and hot starts without flooding. The fuel screw is on the left side of the primary carb, there maybe a cap covering it. In for less fuel and out for more fuel. Reverse of a air screw. Get top rpm and turn out a bit more for good mixture.

These are great bikes and are getting hard to find.

1985 Honda XL600R

Summary:

Awesome power

Faults:

Air filter deteriorated with age.

General Comments:

Great overall. Will eat your lunch if you're not careful.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2005