Kawasaki KX250 Reviews from United States of America

1998 Kawasaki KX250

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide

Summary:

Monster on the loose. Unstoppable

Faults:

Rear sprocket bolts come loose. Need to keep an eye on them. Caused by all the torque the bike puts out on take off.

General Comments:

This is a bike to not be taken lightly. Very fast and dangerous if not an expert rider.

Very torquey; just wants to go and dig.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2010

1998 Kawasaki KX250

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.1 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha DT175

Summary:

One of the most fun bikes I've ever ridden

Faults:

When I had first gotten the bike, I rode it a couple weekends, and the right fork seal went out.

The bike also had a water pump seal going out, therefore I was getting water in my oil after a few runs of the bike.

O Rings on the expansion chamber were bad.

General Comments:

Great bike, very fast when you get into the pipe, and has great low end for a two stroke.

The seat starts to hurt after a few hours of riding, but, that's why you stand up.

The handling is great, very easy to throw around in the trails.

Jumping it feels weightless, lifts right up, and very easy to control while it's in the air.

Overall, it's a great bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2010

1997 Kawasaki KX250

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CR250

Summary:

I love it and will keep it forever

Faults:

Nothing at all, just normal maintenance.

General Comments:

I purchased this bike brand new, and to date have not had one problem. The clutch and top end are original. The only items that I have had to replace are the chain and sprockets, and the front fork seals and tires, that's it!

I have owned a lot of different motorcycles, and was not much of a Kawasaki fan until now. I loved my Hondas, but the dealer was bad, so I switched to Kawi. I run Yamalube R at 32:1 with the stock jetting and a twin air filter. The bike is stock.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2009

1998 Kawasaki KX250

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki KX250

Summary:

98 KX250 best all around desert/moto bike

Faults:

Nothing other than normal wear items ie: sprockets, rings, etc.

General Comments:

I have a 98 KX250 coming from a KX500, everything is better except for the top end, can hang with 4strk with my low grunt punch and beat them with my mid and top hit.

Best bike all around.

Expert desert racer.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2009

1999 Kawasaki KX250

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

Summary:

An excellent bike that I will never sell

Faults:

Nothing major, just basic and not so basic maintenance.

Brake pads, fork seals, pistons, tires, etc etc.

General Comments:

Great bike all around. They are high performance machines and need to be treated as such.

I have never owned a 2 stroke dirt bike with such good throttle response as this one. That is what sold me on this bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2005

15th Mar 2007, 18:25

My Kx 250 is not a good bike at all. Never have I had a bike with so many problems in my life. It seems like every time I ride, something new breaks.

I have replaced the transmission, which isn't cheap, and there's a lot more problems to list, so many that I can't even remember them.

29th Apr 2007, 17:11

I have a 99' kx250. I'm 14 years old, so it's a lil bit too much for me, but I'm 6'6 and it's the biggest I can get.

I haven't rode it much, but I plan on doing so. And when people say that they have so many problems, I haven't had one yet.

10th May 2007, 12:49

I own a 1999 (kx) 250 2 stroke and I love the thing.

I do mostly track riding, and the power always there.

I have not had any problems with this bike out of the ordinary. I rave the crap out of it, and the bike keeps going.

I am overall happy, and plan on keeping it.

14th Aug 2007, 22:16

I'm 13 years old, and I have a 1997 KX250 and love the quickness. It was my first bike, and has many after market parts such as Boyesen reeds, FMF fatty pipe, Procircuit KYB works kit front shocks, Procircuit rear, twin air intake, moose bars, IMS footpegs, and DP brake rotors. I've never ridden any other bike, but I ride trail.

I first had problems with the bike flooding, but then adjusted it because it was running too lean. I don't plan on getting rid of it, and I find it a good trailbike for wiping around turns, with instant throttle response for logs etc.

2nd Mar 2013, 06:25

The 07 KX250's are sluggish down low and wouldn't be that great for riding over logs or any enduro. They are more mid-top end. The steering on the 07 is also one of the worst to come out for the KX250's, so cornering or wiping corners would not be great either; that's coming from someone who owns one.

2nd Mar 2013, 06:27

I have a 2006 KX250. It's great and good for hitting 90ft doubles and T-tops. Nice and smooth delivery of the powerband.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 5 reviews