Kawasaki KX250 Reviews

1998 Kawasaki KX250 from United States of America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide

Summary:

Monster on the loose. Unstoppable

Faults:

Rear sprocket bolts come loose. Need to keep an eye on them. Caused by all the torque the bike puts out on take off.

General Comments:

This is a bike to not be taken lightly. Very fast and dangerous if not an expert rider.

Very torquey; just wants to go and dig.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2010

1998 Kawasaki KX250 from United States of America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.1 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha DT175

Summary:

One of the most fun bikes I've ever ridden

Faults:

When I had first gotten the bike, I rode it a couple weekends, and the right fork seal went out.

The bike also had a water pump seal going out, therefore I was getting water in my oil after a few runs of the bike.

O Rings on the expansion chamber were bad.

General Comments:

Great bike, very fast when you get into the pipe, and has great low end for a two stroke.

The seat starts to hurt after a few hours of riding, but, that's why you stand up.

The handling is great, very easy to throw around in the trails.

Jumping it feels weightless, lifts right up, and very easy to control while it's in the air.

Overall, it's a great bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2010

1997 Kawasaki KX250 from United States of America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CR250

Summary:

I love it and will keep it forever

Faults:

Nothing at all, just normal maintenance.

General Comments:

I purchased this bike brand new, and to date have not had one problem. The clutch and top end are original. The only items that I have had to replace are the chain and sprockets, and the front fork seals and tires, that's it!

I have owned a lot of different motorcycles, and was not much of a Kawasaki fan until now. I loved my Hondas, but the dealer was bad, so I switched to Kawi. I run Yamalube R at 32:1 with the stock jetting and a twin air filter. The bike is stock.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2009

1998 Kawasaki KX250 from United States of America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki KX250

Summary:

98 KX250 best all around desert/moto bike

Faults:

Nothing other than normal wear items ie: sprockets, rings, etc.

General Comments:

I have a 98 KX250 coming from a KX500, everything is better except for the top end, can hang with 4strk with my low grunt punch and beat them with my mid and top hit.

Best bike all around.

Expert desert racer.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2009

2007 Kawasaki KX250 from United Kingdom

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.9 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance200 miles

Summary:

A really good sought after bike

Faults:

My throttle cable snapped second time out.

My kickstart gears started to wear until I replaced them.

General Comments:

I think these bikes are fantastic and really worth the money.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th May, 2008

1997 Kawasaki KX250 from Australia

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Previous motorcycleYamaha XT600

Summary:

It's a fun, exhilarating ride, every time

Faults:

The rear shock absorber blew out in 2006 after doing a 12M jump.

The kick starter bolt keeps coming loose, even with a longer bolt, thread glue & heavy spring washer.

The exhaust seals at barrel don't seal for more than 2 rides.

The rear inner tube punctures when pressure is dropped below 16PSI, even with a heavy duty tube.

General Comments:

This bike has been a wheel spinning, wheel standing power house from day 1.

Mine has a performance muffler, reeds, piston, & it leaves all standard 250's behind.

It does have a bad habit of stripping tyre tread, even on a hard terrain tyre, in 4 hours of riding time.

These bikes handle well & when set up properly for the rider, & are very reliable when maintained correctly.

Bolts will loosen with age as vibrations increase, but the use of thread glue on threads stops this.

It's a good cross country bike too, when gear ratio is lowered, & handles the extra load of a higher ratio (47 tooth rear), for open track, but does delay power band characteristic.

They are a well engineered bike & they are a pleasure to work on.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2008

1999 Kawasaki KX250 from United States of America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

Summary:

An excellent bike that I will never sell

Faults:

Nothing major, just basic and not so basic maintenance.

Brake pads, fork seals, pistons, tires, etc etc.

General Comments:

Great bike all around. They are high performance machines and need to be treated as such.

I have never owned a 2 stroke dirt bike with such good throttle response as this one. That is what sold me on this bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2005

15th Mar 2007, 18:25

My Kx 250 is not a good bike at all. Never have I had a bike with so many problems in my life. It seems like every time I ride, something new breaks.

I have replaced the transmission, which isn't cheap, and there's a lot more problems to list, so many that I can't even remember them.

29th Apr 2007, 17:11

I have a 99' kx250. I'm 14 years old, so it's a lil bit too much for me, but I'm 6'6 and it's the biggest I can get.

I haven't rode it much, but I plan on doing so. And when people say that they have so many problems, I haven't had one yet.

10th May 2007, 12:49

I own a 1999 (kx) 250 2 stroke and I love the thing.

I do mostly track riding, and the power always there.

I have not had any problems with this bike out of the ordinary. I rave the crap out of it, and the bike keeps going.

I am overall happy, and plan on keeping it.

14th Aug 2007, 22:16

I'm 13 years old, and I have a 1997 KX250 and love the quickness. It was my first bike, and has many after market parts such as Boyesen reeds, FMF fatty pipe, Procircuit KYB works kit front shocks, Procircuit rear, twin air intake, moose bars, IMS footpegs, and DP brake rotors. I've never ridden any other bike, but I ride trail.

I first had problems with the bike flooding, but then adjusted it because it was running too lean. I don't plan on getting rid of it, and I find it a good trailbike for wiping around turns, with instant throttle response for logs etc.

2nd Mar 2013, 06:25

The 07 KX250's are sluggish down low and wouldn't be that great for riding over logs or any enduro. They are more mid-top end. The steering on the 07 is also one of the worst to come out for the KX250's, so cornering or wiping corners would not be great either; that's coming from someone who owns one.

2nd Mar 2013, 06:27

I have a 2006 KX250. It's great and good for hitting 90ft doubles and T-tops. Nice and smooth delivery of the powerband.

1998 Kawasaki KX250 from Canada

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleHonda CR125

Summary:

A very fast MX racer with low quality

Faults:

Fork seals blew in the first 3 months.

I had to replace them every 2 - 3 months after as well.

I rebuilt the motor after 2 seasons and discovered that the cylinder was worn out. I later saw in a mag that the KX 250 was infamous for bad cylinders. Replacement cost was $550, plus the cost of the piston, rings, gaskets, etc.

General Comments:

I purchased this motocross bike brand new and loved everything about it. The power, layout, and handling were all excellent.

After two seasons on it, with only four or five races run, I decided to rebuild the motor as a preventative measure. I discover that the cylinder walls had worn out, which I later learned is common with this year of KX 250's. The dealers would not warranty this.

Worst brakes in the class.

My dealer was however very helpful with setup, and regular maintenance.

My last Honda CR 125 lasted for 4 years with nothing major going wrong with it. I worked on this bike to keep it running all the time.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th January, 2005

21st Feb 2005, 00:21

Motocross bikes, such as your KX250, are higher maintenance than say a 4 stroke trail bike such as an XR250. It is not uncommon for 2 stroke motocross riders to have to do the top end twice in a year, depending on how hard and often they ride.

The cylinders can be re-plated at Eric Gorr. If you check your top end before it self destructs, there will be less damage and cost to do the top end. I believe it is unrealistic to expect a motocross bike top end to last longer than a year if it is being ridden hard or raced.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews